Inspectorate of Labour and Mines

Inspection du travail et des mines

This page was last modified on 04-12-2015

The Inspectorate of Labour and Mines (Inspection du travail et des mines) is dedicated to overseeing:

  • working relationship and conditions;
  • health and safety of workers at work.

The Inspectorate of Labour and Mines is mainly responsible for:

  • ensuring that legal, regulatory, administrative and contractual provisions related to working conditions and the protection of workers in their professional environment are applied (provisions related to the duration of work, wages, safety, hygiene and well-being, as well as the employment of children and adolescents, equality between men and women, protection against sexual harrassment in the working environment, and other related matters);

  • providing information and technical advice to employers and workers on how to comply with legal, regulatory, administrative and contractual provisions in the most efficient way;

  • notifying the Government of any deficiencies or abuses which are not specifically covered by existing legal, regulatory or administrative provisions;

  • ensuring mining legislation is applied;

  • helping draw up the conditions to authorise premises classified as dangerous, insalubrious or problematic, in the framework of the laws and regulations in force, and controlling the application thereof;

  • guaranteeing the application of the legislation related to the protection of workers against ionising radiation, as well as the surveillance of premises where workers are exposed to the risk of irradiation.

The Inspectorate of Labour and Mines is responsible for preventing and solving conflicts in the workplace which are not under the responsibility of the National Conciliation Service (Office national de conciliation, ONC).

The labour inspectorate system applies, without exception, to all employers, businesses or establishments employing paid staff subject to legal, regulatory, administrative or contractual provisions related to working conditions and the protection of workers in the working environment, the sole exception being public-sector workers.

Inspectorate of Labour and Mines
3, rue des Primeurs
L-2361 Strassen
Luxembourg

Postal box
BP 27, L-2010
Phone: (+352) 247 76100
Fax: (+352) 247 96100
from Monday to Friday from 8.30 to 12.00 and 13.30 to 16.30

Inspection du travail et des mines

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 04-12-2015

L'Inspection du travail et des mines a une mission d'inspection :

  • de la relation et des conditions de travail ;
  • de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs au travail.

L'Inspection du travail et des mines est chargée notamment :

  • d'assurer l'application des dispositions légales, réglementaires, administratives et conventionnelles relatives aux conditions du travail et à la protection des travailleurs salariés dans l'exercice de leur profession (dispositions relatives à la durée du travail, aux salaires, à la sécurité, à l'hygiène et au bien-être, à l'emploi des enfants et des adolescents, à l'égalité de traitement entre femmes et hommes, à la protection contre le harcèlement sexuel à l'occasion des relations de travail, et d'autres matières connexes) ;

  • de fournir des informations et des conseils techniques aux employeurs et aux travailleurs sur les moyens les plus efficaces d'observer les dispositions légales, réglementaires, administratives et conventionnelles ;

  • de porter à l'attention du Gouvernement les déficiences ou les abus qui ne sont pas spécifiquement couverts par les dispositions légales, réglementaires et administratives existantes ;

  • d'assurer l'application de la législation minière ;

  • d'intervenir dans l'établissement des conditions d'autorisation des établissements classés comme dangereux, insalubres ou incommodes, dans le cadre des lois et règlements en vigueur et d'en contrôler l'application ;

  • d'assurer l'application de la législation relative à la protection des travailleurs contre les radiations ionisantes ainsi que la surveillance des établissements où des travailleurs sont exposés au risque d'irradiation.

L'Inspection du travail et des mines est chargée de la prévention et de l'aplanissement de tous les conflits du travail qui ne sont pas de la compétence de l'Office national de conciliation (ONC).

Le système d'inspection du travail s'applique à tout employeur, entreprise ou établissement occupant des travailleurs dans toutes les activités rémunérées sans exception, soumises aux dispositions légales, réglementaires, administratives ou conventionnelles ayant trait aux conditions du travail et à la protection des travailleurs dans l'exercice de leur profession, à la seule exception des fonctionnaires publics.

Inspection du travail et des mines
3, rue des Primeurs
L-2361 Strassen
Luxembourg

Adresse Postale
BP 27, L-2010
Tél. : (+352) 247 76100
Fax : (+352) 247-96100
du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 12h00 et de 13h30 à 16h30