Communes (communal administrations)

This page was last modified on 31-05-2017

Luxembourg is not divided into provinces or territorial departments. The commune is its smallest administrative entity and its sole application of the principle of territorial decentralisation. The commune manages its assets and interests, under the control of the central government. This control, known as administrative supervision (tutelle administrative), is exercised by the Ministry of Home Affairs. The commune exerts its authority through the communal council, the board of the mayor and aldermen (communal board) or through the mayor alone.

The internal operation and structure depend on the size of each commune. Each commune has an administrative service, the central administration office. It consists of a secretary, and, depending on the size of the commune, it may have various departments (education department, population office, finance department, etc.). In smaller communes, the secretary covers all the administrative roles.

In general, the communal secretary is directly responsible for keeping the register of births, marriages and deaths, and for providing extracts of this register (birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, etc.).

The population office (or the citizens office - office des citoyens) is mainly responsible for:

  • the issue of identity documents (this task is usually in the hands of the population office - bureau de la population);
  • keeping the population register (departure and arrival declarations in case of a change of address);
  • organising censuses, such as the population census;
  • drawing up electoral lists.

Some communes have a technical service, which is responsible for road maintenance and, where necessary, the building of new roads, pipes, green areas, communal buildings, public areas, cemeteries and sports facilities, etc.

Contact the communal administration

List of all communes.

Communes (administrations communales)

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 19-04-2016

L’Etat luxembourgeois ne comportant ni provinces ni départements, la commune est la plus petite division administrative du Luxembourg. Elle est la seule application du principe de la décentralisation territoriale. Elle gère son patrimoine et ses intérêts par l'intermédiaire de représentants locaux, sous le contrôle du pouvoir central. Ce contrôle, appelé tutelle administrative, est exercé par le ministère de l’Intérieur. Le pouvoir communal est exercé par le conseil communal, sinon par le collège des bourgmestres et échevins ou le bourgmestre seul.

Le fonctionnement et la structure internes dépendent de la taille de chaque commune. Chaque commune dispose d’un service administratif qui fait office d’administration centrale. Il comprend au minimum un secrétariat, voire différents départements en fonction de l’importance de la commune (département scolaire, bureau de la population département des finances, etc.). Dans les communes de taille modeste, le secrétariat regroupe toutes les fonctions administratives.

Généralement, le secrétariat communal prend en charge directement la tenue du registre de l’état civil et la remise d’extraits de ce registre (acte de naissance, acte de décès, acte de mariage, etc.).

Le bureau de la population / d’enregistrement (ou office des citoyens) assure notamment :

  • l’établissement des papiers d’identité (généralement du ressort du bureau de la population) ;
  • l’inscription au registre de la population (déclaration de départ et d’arrivée en cas de changement d’adresse) ;
  • l’organisation des recensements, dont les recensements de la population ;
  • l’établissement des listes électorales.

Certaines communes disposent d’un service technique, qui assure l’entretien des rues et le cas échéant la construction de nouvelles rues, canalisation, réseau des conduites d’eau, espaces verts, bâtiments communaux, places publiques, cimetière, installations sportives, etc.

Contactez l'administration de votre commune

Consultez la liste des communes.