Registration for social security for self-employed persons

This page was last modified on 27-04-2016

In Luxembourg, the social security system is based on several independent public organisations, which insure against occupational risks and organise the insured persons in socio-professional groups.

The social protection system covers the risk of sickness, maternity, disability, death, old-age, occupational accidents and travel. In addition, insured persons enjoy other benefits such as family allowances and unemployment benefits.

Self-employed persons are required to affiliate with the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) which handles the data, registration of affiliations and collection of contributions for the different insurance funds. The CCSS acts as the point of contact for insured persons.

They can voluntarily join the employers’ mutual insurance scheme (Mutualité des employeurs) created within the framework of the statut unique (single statute) to meet any financial costs resulting from a loss of income due to sickness.

Under certain conditions, family members may also benefit from this health insurance as co-insured persons.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

* May be submitted via MyGuichet

Who is concerned

The following self-employed persons must be affiliated with the social security:

  • persons who carry out a professional activity on their own account (in their personal name), which falls within the competence of:
    • the Chamber of Trades (skilled craftsmen) (Chambre des Métiers);
    • the Chamber of Commerce (traders and manufacturers) (Chambre de Commerce) or;
    • the Chamber of Agriculture (farmers) (Chambre d'agriculture);
  • self-employed intellectual workers, who can be divided into:

Managers of companies with a commercial, trade, agricultural or intellectual objective are considered to be self-employed persons (holding the business permit) if they are:

  • partners of a partnership (société en nom collectif - SENC), a limited partnership (société en commandite simple - SECS) or a limited liability company (société à responsabilité limitée - SARL) holding more than 25 % of the company shares;
  • members of the board of directors to whom the day-to-day management is delegated in the case of public companies (société anonyme - SA), partnerships limited by shares (société en commandite par actions - SECA) or cooperative companies (société coopérative - SC).

Each of these persons can, if they so desire, join the employers' mutual insurance scheme (Mutualité des employeurs) on a voluntary basis.

Unpaid business activities exercised as a main or accessory activity and where the business income does not exceed 1/3 of the annual minimum social wage, do not have to affiliate with the social security. These persons may nevertheless register for social security insurance upon request provided they are resident in Luxembourg.

Preliminary steps

Non-EU nationals that wish to work as self-employed persons and to reside in Luxembourg must first apply for a residence permit for a self-employed person.

Natural persons wishing to carry out a self-employed activity subject to a business permit must first request a business permit. They can register for social security at the time they collect their business permit at the CCSS.

How to proceed

Registering as a self-employed person

Self-employed workers affiliate directly by sending a declaration form for self-employed persons to the CCSS. In order to do this and if the business permit application was submitted online, applicants may use the pre-filled form which is automatically generated in the business eSpace.

Persons treated as self-employed workers (managing partner holding more than 25 % of the company shares or managing director) must use the declaration form for salaried workers and not the declaration form for self-employed persons, even though they have self-employed status.

Persons affiliated as self-employed persons can concurrently hold the position of company manager and salaried worker in the same company.

In addition to registering with the CCSS, a non-resident self-employed person must also register with the health insurance fund of his country of residence.

A self-employed person (working under his own name or as a salaried worker) must personally ensure the payment of his social security contributions (both the employee's and the employer's share) in proportion to his gross professional income before tax.

Adapting the contribution base to forecast income

The social security contributions of self-employed persons are provisionally determined on the basis of:

  • either the last known net taxable income;
  • or, for a newly insured person, the social minimum wage for unskilled workers.

However, if the insured person can justify a different income, he may submit a request for adjustment of the taxable base at any time by declaring his forecast income for the coming year.

The CCSS sends out a letter every year which states the income that will be used for the calculation of the level of contributions and also reminds the insured person that they can request the adjustment of their contribution base where appropriate.

When the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (Administration des contributions directes - ACD) establishes the net income for the financial year in question, the corresponding social security contributions are recalculated to establish the final tax statement.

Ancillary activities

If the self-employed person carries out the activity as an ancillary activity, i.e. in addition to another main activity, the social contributions for the ancillary activity are calculated based on 1/3 of the social minimum wage.

However, where the self-employed worker declares professional income below 1/3 of the social minimum wage, he may request an exemption for insignificant income in order to be released from health, accident and pension insurance contributions.

Occasional activities

If the self-employed person carries out an activity on an occasional and irregular basis for a predetermined period of time not exceeding 3 months per year, he may request an exemption for occasional activity in order to be released from health and pension insurance contributions.

Accident insurance contributions remain mandatory.

The occasional activity must be the only activity carried out by the self-employed person.

The contribution exemption does not apply to occasional but regular activities (e.g.: each Saturday for a period not exceeding 3 months in total per year).

Voluntary membership to the employers' mutual insurance scheme

Self-employed persons and members of their family registered as assisting family member can join the employers' mutual insurance scheme (Mutualité des employeurs) voluntarily in order to meet any financial costs resulting from a loss of income in the event of sickness.

For self-employed persons already affiliated to social security, a voluntary application for self-employed persons for affiliation to the employers' mutual insurance scheme must be presented before 1 January of a given year and the insurance provides cover as from this date.

In the case of a first affiliation or new affiliation after an interruption of at least 12 months, membership of the mutual insurance scheme will become effective upon affiliation to the CCSS as a self-employed person.

The insured person can end the voluntary insurance on written request and it will automatically cease in the case of non-payment of contributions on two successive due dates.

Affiliation of co-insured persons

Family members who depend on the self-employed worker benefit from health insurance as coinsured persons on condition that they are not personally registered.

The conditions of coregistration vary depending whether the person is resident or non-resident.

Where there are several main insured persons (e.g.: a family with children where both parents work), co-insured persons are covered by the oldest main insured person.

Who to contact

125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxembourg
Phone (+352) 40141-1
Fax (+352) 40 44 81

Opening hours
08.00 - 16.00
125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxembourg
Phone (+352) 40141-1
Fax (+352) 2757 4343

Anmeldung als Selbstständiger

Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 14-03-2016

Das luxemburgische Sozialversicherungssystem beruht auf mehreren unabhängigen öffentlichen Trägern, welche die berufsbedingten Risiken absichern und die Versicherten je nach sozialer oder beruflicher Zugehörigkeit zusammenschließen.

Das System der sozialen Absicherung deckt die mit Krankheit, Mutterschaft, Erwerbsunfähigkeit, Alter und Arbeits- und Wegeunfällen verbundenen Risiken ab. Zudem können die Versicherten in den Genuss sonstiger Leistungen, wie z. B. Kindergeld und Arbeitslosengeld, gelangen.

Selbstständige müssen sich bei der Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS), welche für die Bearbeitung der Daten, die Eintragung der Anmeldungen und die Einnahme der Beiträge für die einzelnen Kassen zuständig ist, anmelden. Die CCSS ist der Ansprechpartner dieser Versicherten.

Zudem können sie über die CCSS freiwillig der Zusatzversicherung der Arbeitgeber (Mutualité des employeurs) beitreten, um im Bedarfsfall krankheitsbedingte Einkommensverluste auszugleichen.

Ihre Familienangehörigen können unter gewissen Voraussetzungen als Mitversicherte in den Genuss des Krankenversicherungsschutzes gelangen.

Formulare / Online-Dienste

Erledigen Sie Ihren Vorgang:

* Kann online via MyGuichet eingereicht werden

Zielgruppe

Folgende Personen müssen sich als Selbstständige bei der Sozialversicherung anmelden:

Selbstständigen gleichgesetzt sind Geschäftsführer von Gesellschaften kaufmännischer, handwerklicher, landwirtschaftlicher oder intellektueller Art (auf deren Namen die Niederlassungsgenehmigung lautet), die:

Diese Personen können ebenfalls, wenn sie möchten, der Zusatzversicherung der Arbeitgeber (Mutualité des employeurs) beitreten.

Selbstständige Haupt- oder Nebentätigkeiten, bei denen die erzielten beruflichen Einkünfte jährlich nicht mehr als 1/3 des sozialen Mindestlohns übersteigen, sind von der Anmeldung bei der Sozialversicherung befreit. Diese Personen können sich jedoch freiwillig versichern, sofern sie in Luxemburg wohnhaft sind.

Im Vorfeld zu erledigende Schritte

Drittstaatsangehörige, die in Luxemburg als Selbstständige arbeiten und leben wollen, müssen im Vorfeld einen Aufenthaltstitel für Selbstständige beantragen.

Natürliche Personen, die eine selbstständige Tätigkeit ausüben möchten, die einer Niederlassungsgenehmigung bedarf, müssen im Besitz dieser Genehmigung sein. Sie können sich zur Sozialversicherung bei der CCSS anmelden, sobald sie die Niederlassungsgenehmigung erhalten haben.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Anmeldung als Selbstständiger

Um sich für die Sozialversicherung anzumelden, müssen Selbstständige eine Anmeldung für Selbstständige bei der Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen einreichen. Wenn sie ihre Niederlassungsgenehmigung online beantragt haben, können sie hierzu das automatisch erstellte und vorausgefüllte Formular in ihrem beruflichen Bereich verwenden.

Selbstständigen gleichgestellte Personen (Gesellschafter-Geschäftsführer, die mehr als 25 % der Gesellschaftsanteile halten, oder geschäftsführende Verwaltungsratsmitglieder) müssen sich trotz ihres Selbstständigenstatus anhand des Formulars zur Anmeldung als Arbeitnehmer und nicht anhand des Formulars für Selbstständige anmelden.

Personen, die als Selbstständige angemeldet sind, können sehr wohl die Funktion des Geschäftsführers und die eines Arbeitnehmers einer Gesellschaft kumulieren.

Nichtgebietsansässige Selbstständige müssen neben ihrer Anmeldung bei der CCSS zudem bei der Krankenkasse ihres Wohnsitzlandes angemeldet sein.

Der Selbstständige oder der einem Selbständigen gleichgestellte Arbeitnehmer muss die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge, die anhand des beruflichen Bruttoeinkommens vor Steuern bemessen werden, selbst zahlen (Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgeberanteil).

Anpassung der Beitragsbemessungsgrenze an das voraussichtliche Einkommen

Die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge der Selbstständigen werden vorläufig wie folgt berechnet:

  • entweder auf Basis des letzten bekannten bekannten zu versteuernden Nettoeinkommens;
  • oder bei einem Neuversicherten auf Basis des sozialen Mindestlohns (salaire social minimum) für nicht qualifizierte Arbeitnehmer.

Der Versicherte kann jederzeit, wenn er ein anderes Einkommen nachweist, eine Anpassung seiner Bemessungsgrenze beantragen, indem er sein voraussichtliches Einkommen für das Beitragsjahr meldet.

Die CCSS schickt jedes Jahr ein Schreiben mit der Auskunft über das für die Berechnung der Beiträge berücksichtigte Einkommen samt einer Aufforderung, die Bemessungsgrenze gegebenenfalls anpassen zu lassen.

Bei der Bestimmung des Nettoeinkommens für das besagte Geschäftsjahr durch die Steuerverwaltung (Administration des contributions directes) werden die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge neu berechnet, um den endgültigen Steuerbescheid auszustellen.

Nebenbeschäftigung

Wenn der Selbstständige seiner Tätigkeit als Nebenbeschäftigung nachgeht, d. h. neben einer anderen Haupttätigkeit, werden die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge auf der Grundlage von 1/3 des sozialen Mindestlohns berechnet.

Meldet der Selbstständige jedoch ein geringeres Einkommen als 1/3 des sozialen Mindestlohns an, kann er eine Befreiung wegen unbedeutendem Einkommen beantragen, um von der Zahlung der Kranken-, Unfall- und Rentenversicherungsbeiträge befreit zu werden.

Gelegentliche Tätigkeit

Geht der Selbstständige seiner Tätigkeit auf gelegentliche und nicht gewöhnliche Art während einer im Voraus auf weniger als 3 Monate pro Jahr festgelegten Dauer nach, kann er eine Befreiung wegen gelegentlicher Tätigkeit beantragen, um von der Zahlung der Kranken- und Rentenversicherungsbeiträge befreit zu werden.

Er muss jedoch Unfallversicherungsbeiträge zahlen.

Bei der gelegentlichen Tätigkeit muss es sich um die einzige berufliche Tätigkeit dieser Person handeln.

Diese Befreiung gilt nicht für gelegentliche und gewöhnliche Tätigkeiten (Bsp.: jeden Samstag, was insgesamt weniger als 3 Monate pro Jahr ausmacht).

Freiwillige Mitgliedschaft bei der Zusatzversicherung der Arbeitgeber

Selbstständige und ihre als mitarbeitende Ehe-/Lebenspartner angemeldeten Familienangehörigen können freiwillig der Zusatzversicherung der Arbeitgeber beitreten, um im Krankheitsfall finanzielle Belastungen abzudecken, die sich aus dem damit einhergehenden Einkommensverlust ergeben können.

Selbstständige, die bereits bei der Sozialversicherung angemeldet sind, müssen den Antrag auf freiwilligen Beitritt von Selbstständigen bei der Zusatzversicherung der Arbeitgeber vor dem 1. Januar des betreffenden Jahres einreichen, und die Versicherung gilt ab diesem Datum.

Im Falle einer Erstanmeldung oder einer neuen Anmeldung nach einer Unterbrechung von mindestens 12 Monaten gilt die Anmeldung bei der Zusatzversicherung ab Beginn der Mitgliedschaft als Selbstständiger bei der Sozialversicherung.

Die freiwillige Versicherung endet auf schriftliche Erklärung des Versicherten oder von Rechts wegen im Falle der Nichtzahlung der Beiträge an 2 aufeinanderfolgenden Fälligkeitsterminen.

Versicherungsschutz der Mitversicherten

Die unterhaltspflichtigen Familienangehörigen des Selbstständigen gelangen als Mitversicherte in den Genuss der Krankenversicherung, sofern sie nicht selbst versichert sind.

Für gebietsansässige und nicht gebietsansässige Versicherte gelten verschiedene Modalitäten für die Mitversicherung.

Im Falle von mehreren Hauptversicherten (Beispiel: ein Paar mit Kindern, bei dem beide Elternteile arbeiten) fallen die Mitversicherten unter den Versicherungsschutz des ältesten Hauptversicherten.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxemburg
Luxemburg
Tel: (+352) 40141-1
Fax: (+352) 40 44 81

Öffnungszeiten
von 08.00 bis 16.00 Uhr
125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxemburg
Luxemburg
Tel: (+352) 40141-1
Fax: (+352) 2757 4343