Requesting legal annual leave

This page was last modified on 08-10-2014

Annual paid leave, also called "annual recreational leave," is a right granted to all employees having worked for the same employer for three continuous months.

Annual leave totals 25 business days per year, regardless of the employee's age. However, collective agreements or individual agreements between an employer and an employee may provide for an increase in the number of days of annual leave. As long as they satisfy certain conditions, disabled war veterans, victims of work-related accidents, and disabled employees are entitled to an additional 6 business days per year of leave.

Who is concerned

Any employee, including apprentices, whatever their working schedule (part time, full time, etc.) or type of contract (fixed-term or permanent), has the right to paid annual leave.

Note that disabled warveterans, victims of work-related accidents and disabled employees are entitled to an additional 6 working days a year, provided they have worked full time over the whole year. On the other hand, workers redeployed (internally or externally) following a decision by the Joint Committee on Redeployment are not entitled to that additional leave.

How to proceed

Scope of application of annual leave

In general, the legal duration of annual leave is 25 business days per year. A collective agreement or an individual agreement between the employer and the employee may include additional days of leave for the employee.

Days of paid leave count towards the duration of the work week.

Eligibility

In principle, employees may take paid leave only after three continuous months of service with the same employer.

This three-month requirement applies both to employees on fixed-term employment contracts and those on permanent employment contracts. However, it does not apply to temporary agency workers.

During the first year of employment, paid leave accrues at a rate of one-twelfth per full month of work. Only those fractions of a month exceeding 15 days are deemed a full month's work.

In principle, from 1 January onwards, employees may take all of the leave due them for the year in question. However, there is an exception for recently hired employees: their right to take leave begins only after they have worked for 3 continuous months for the same employer, unless their employment is terminated.

Deferring leave

In general, employees must take their annual leave in full during the year in question. However, any remaining annual leave may be deferred until 31 March of the following year if theemployee was not able to take leave due to the company's operational needs.

After this deadline, employees lose their accrued leave, unless:

  • if the employee has been unable to use their leave due to the employer's operational needs, or if the employer refuses to allow the leave for other justified reasons;
  • if the employee has not been able to schedule their leave due to illness;
  • if the employer and employee have entered into a specific agreement allowing employee to take the leave during the following year.

There are specific provisions allowing an employee to request a deferment of the proportional leave due for the first year of employment until the following year.

If the employer specifically indicates on the salary slip the amount of leave that can be deferred from one year to another, the deferral of the amount of leave indicated is automatically accepted from year to year for an unlimited period of time.

If a public holiday coincides with a day on which the employee should not have worked in any event, the employee may make up that day of leave on another working day within the following three months.

Setting the date of annual leave

Except in certain sectors (e.g. HORECA, agriculture/horticulture) or for certain categories of worker (e.g. apprentices), employees can set the dates of their leave however they wish, taking account of:

  • the needs of the business;
  • the reasonable wishes of other employees (e.g.: in certain businesses, priority is given to employees with children).

The employer may alter employees' leave dates only for exceptional reasons related to the proper functioning of the business.

The employer may not impose individual leave dates without the employee's approval, nor force them to take unpaid leave.

The employer has the right to refuse leave if the employee has unjustified absences amounting to over 10% of the normal work schedule over the part of the year which has already elapsed.

Calculation of leave and allowance

  • part-time employee: in case of part-time activity, the leave due is calculated pro rata on the basis of the number of hours worked weekly;
  • employee on maternity leave: the employee's right to annual leave is not suspended during her maternity leave;
  • employee on parental leave:
    • during the period of full-time parental leave, the employee's leave entitlement is suspended;
    • during the period of part-time parental leave, the employee's leave entitlement is calculated pro rata on the basis of the number of hours worked weekly.

Leave allowance

Employees receive pay during their leave. In calculating the amount of the allowance to be paid to the employee while on leave, employers must take overtime hours and other compensation into account. On the other hand, non-regular payments such as bonuses and performance-based pay are not taken into account.

For each day of leave, employees are entitled to an allowance equal to their average gross daily salary over the three months immediately preceding the leave. For employees whose salaries are subject to significant variation (for example, where their salary varies depending on turnover), the allowance due during leave is calculated based on the 12 months preceding the leave.

Average daily salary is calculated by dividing gross monthly salary, including fringe benefits, by 173. If a salary increase is granted during the 3 months (or 12 months, as the case may be) preceding the leave, or even during the leave itself, the employer must take the increase into account in calculating the leave allowance.

Legal requirements

Leave Register

The employer must keep a record of the days of leave taken and to be taken by each employee. This information may be kept either on paper or in electronic form.

Prohibitions

On penalty of losing the leave allowance, the employee may not perform any paid work while on leave since leave is granted to employees for the purpose of protecting their health.

The employee may not give up the leave which he is entitled to, even in return for compensatory pay, except if the working relationship is terminated.

Legal general holidays

If the business closes for an annual leave period, or if the employer decides to set a period of collective holiday, the latter must be set by mutual consent with the majority of employees or staff representatives, and they must be notified of it within the first quarter of the year in question.

If the duration of the collective leave is greater than the duration of the individual leave to which the employee is entitled, the difference is counted in full as annual paid leave.

Annual leave and trial periods

A newly hired employee is eligible for leave after three months of continuous service in the company. If the employee takes leave during their trial period, the trial period is extended by the number of days of leave taken, up to a maximum of a one month extension of the trial period.

Annual leave and illness

If workers fall ill during their period of leave, sick days recognised as such by a doctor's certificate are not considered leave days, provided the certificate is given to the employer within 3 days if the worker is in Luxembourg, or as soon as possible if they are abroad.

The leave must then be re-set by mutual agreement between the employer and the employee.

At the end of the year, leave that has not been taken due to an inability to work that lasts for all or part of the year, and remains ongoing at year end and/or beyond 31 March of the following year, is deferred for so long as the employee is unable to take leave due to the illness.

Legal holiday and end of the working relationship

Annual leave does not protect an employee from dismissal. An employer may dismiss an employee who is on leave but must comply with applicable laws regarding prior notice and the remaining days of leave to be taken.

If the employee's contract is terminated during the year, one-twelfth of the employee's annual leave will be granted for each month in which the employee worked more than 15 calendar days.

If the employee has not taken all of their accrued leave before their departure from the company, the employer must pay an allowance corresponding to the leave not taken at the time of departure.

If after termination of the employment contract a new contract is entered into between the same employer and the same employee within 3 months following the termination, this interruption will not be considered a termination of the employment contract. As a result, the employee will not lose their leave.

Where the employee has been on medical leave for all or part of the year, and for that reason has not been able to use their annual paid leave before the end of the year, they are entitled to an allowance in compensation for leave not taken at the time of the end of the employment relationship.

Medical appointments

In principle, the law does not provide for special hours or days of leave in order to attend medical appointments during working hours.

However, in practice an employee may attend a medical appointment during working hours by requesting and receiving prior authorization from their employer.

Permission to leave work to vote

Employees may obtain permission from their employers to exercise their civic rights and duties – in particular, to vote in municipal, legislative, and European Union elections.

Time off to vote may not be counted against the employee's paid leave.

Demander un congé légal annuel

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 08-10-2014

Le congé légal annuel, également appelé "congé annuel de recréation", est un droit accordé à tout salarié ayant travaillé pendant 3 mois sans interruption auprès du même employeur.

La durée du congé annuel est fixée à 25 jours ouvrables par année, indépendamment de l’âge du salarié. Cependant, une convention collective ou un accord individuel entre employeur et salarié peuvent entraîner une augmentation du nombre de jours des congés légaux. Sous réserve de remplir certaines conditions, les invalides de guerre, les accidentés du travail et les salariés handicapés ont droit à un congé supplémentaire de 6 jours ouvrables par an.

Personnes concernées

Tout salarié, apprenti inclus, quel que soit son horaire de travail (temps partiel, temps complet, etc.) ou son type de contrat (à durée déterminée ou indéterminée).

Il est à noter que les invalides de guerre, accidentés du travail et salariés handicapés ont droit à un congé supplémentaire de 6 jours ouvrables par an à condition d'avoir travaillé à temps plein et pendant toute l'année. En revanche, les salariés reclassés (en interne ou en externe) suite à une décision de la Commission mixte de reclassement n'ont pas droit à ce congé supplémentaire.

Modalités pratiques

Conditions d’application du congé légal

Dans le cadre d’un régime général, la durée légale du congé annuel est fixée à 25 jours ouvrables par année. Une convention collective ou un accord individuel entre employeur et salarié peuvent prévoir des jours de congé supplémentaires pour le salarié.

Les jours de congé payés comptent pour la durée du travail hebdomadaire.

Conditions d’obtention

En principe, le salarié ne peut prendre son congé qu’après 3 mois de travail ininterrompu auprès d’un même employeur.

Ce délai de 3 mois est valable aussi bien pour un salarié titulaire d’un contrat à durée indéterminée que pour une personne travaillant sous un contrat à durée déterminée. En revanche, il ne s’applique pas au travailleur intérimaire.

Le congé de la première année est dû à raison d’un douzième par mois de travail entier. En revanche, ne sont considérées comme mois de travail entier que les fractions de mois de travail dépassant 15 jours.

En principe, le salarié est en droit de prendre à partir du 1er janvier l’intégralité du congé qui lui est dû pour l’année en question. Une exception concerne toutefois les salariés récemment embauchés : leur droit au congé ne commence qu’après 3 mois de travail ininterrompu auprès du même employeur, sauf en cas de cessation du travail.

Report de congé

Le salarié doit prendre son congé entièrement durant l’année en cours. Il lui est néanmoins possible de reporter son congé restant jusqu’au 31 mars de l’année suivante s’il ne peut l’obtenir avant pour des raisons d’organisation (de la société).

Passé ce délai, les congés sont perdus pour le salarié sauf :

  • si le salarié n’a pas pu prendre son congé pour des besoins de service de l’employeur ou si son congé est refusé par l’employeur pour d’autres raisons justifiées par ce dernier ;
  • si le salarié n'a pas eu la possibilité d'exercer son droit pour cause de maladie ;
  • s’il existe un accord particulier entre l’employeur et le salarié autorisant le report du congé sur toute l’année suivante.

Des dispositions particulières existent, permettant au salarié qui en fait la demande de faire reporter le congé proportionnel dû au titre de sa première année de service à l'année suivante.

Lorsque l'employeur indique sur les fiches de salaire le report des heures de congés non prises d'une année à l'autre, le report est alors présumé comme illimité.

Si un jour férié légal coïncide avec un jour où le salarié n’aurait de toute manière pas dû travailler, ce dernier peut le récupérer sur un jour en principe travaillé, dans un délai de 3 mois.

Fixation de la date du congé légal

Sauf pour certains secteurs d’activité (exemple : HORECA, agriculture/horticulture) ou pour certaines catégories de salariés (exemple : apprenti), le salarié peut fixer ses jours de congés selon sa convenance, tout en tenant compte :

  • des besoins de l’entreprise ;
  • des désirs justifiés des autres salariés (exemple : priorité accordée aux personnes ayant des enfants à charge, dans certaines entreprises).

L’employeur ne peut modifier la date des congés des salariés que pour des raisons exceptionnelles relatives à la bonne marche de la société.

L'employeur ne peut pas imposer de dates de congé individuel sans l'accord du salarié, ni lui imposer de prendre un congé sans solde.

L’employeur a le droit de refuser le congé si le salarié présente des absences injustifiées supérieures à 10 % du temps de travail normalement effectué pendant la partie de l'année déjà écoulée.

Calcul du congé et indemnités

  • salarié travaillant à temps partiel : en cas d’activité à temps partiel, les congés dus sont calculés au prorata de la durée hebdomadaire de travail ;
  • salarié en congé de maternité : le droit au congé annuel de la salariée n'est pas suspendu pendant son congé de maternité ;
  • salarié en congé parental:
    • pendant la période du congé parental à plein temps, le droit au congé du salarié est suspendu ;
    • pendant la période du congé parental à temps partiel, le droit au congé du salarié est calculé au prorata de la durée hebdomadaire de travail.

Indemnité relative au congé payé

Pendant son congé, le salarié est rémunéré. Dans le calcul de l’indemnité à payer au salarié pendant son congé, l’employeur doit prendre en compte les heures supplémentaires et les accessoires de salaire. En revanche, les rémunérations non périodiques, telles que les gratifications et primes de bilan, ne doivent pas être prises en compte.

Pour chaque jour de congé, le salarié a droit à une indemnité égale au salaire journalier moyen brut des 3 mois précédant immédiatement le congé pris. Pour les salariés dont le salaire est sujet à des variations prononcées (par exemple, lorsque le salaire varie en fonction du chiffre d’affaires), c’est la moyenne des 12 mois précédents qui sert de base au calcul de l’indemnité de congé.

Le salaire journalier moyen est établi en divisant le salaire mensuel brut, y compris les accessoires de salaire, par 173. Si, pendant les 3 mois (ou 12 mois, selon le cas) qui précèdent le congé, ou même pendant le congé lui-même, des majorations de salaire interviennent, l’employeur doit les prendre en compte pour le calcul de l’indemnité de congé.

Obligations légales

Registre des congés

L’employeur doit garder trace des jours de congé pris et à prendre par chaque salarié. Ces données peuvent être conservées sous forme papier ou informatique.

Interdictions

Le salarié ne pourra exécuter de travail rémunéré pendant la durée du congé, sous peine d’être privé de l’indemnité de congé, étant donné que le congé est attribué au salarié dans un but de protection de sa santé.

Le salarié ne peut pas abandonner le congé auquel il a droit, même contre une indemnisation compensatrice, sauf si la relation de travail se termine.

Congés légaux collectifs

Si l’entreprise ferme pour un congé annuel ou si l’employeur décide de fixer une période de congés collectifs, celle-ci doit être fixée d'un commun accord avec la majorité des employés ou des représentants du personnel et leur être notifiée dans le courant du 1er trimestre de l’année de référence.

Si la durée du congé collectif est supérieure à la durée du congé individuel auquel a droit le salarié, la différence lui est intégralement comptée comme congé légal.

Congé légal et période d’essai

Le salarié nouvellement arrivé dans une entreprise peut prétendre à un congé après 3 mois prestés sans interruption dans la société. Si le salarié prend des congés pendant sa période d’essai, celle-ci est prolongée d’autant de jours que de congés pris dans la limite d’un mois de prolongation maximale de la période d’essai.

Congé légal et maladie

Si le salarié tombe malade pendant son congé, les journées de maladie reconnues comme telles par un certificat de maladie ne sont pas considérées comme des jours de congé, à condition de fournir à l’employeur le certificat de maladie sous 3 jours si le salarié est au Luxembourg, ou dans les meilleurs délais si ce dernier est à l’étranger.

Le congé doit alors être refixé d’un commun accord entre l’employeur et le salarié.

A la fin de l’année, le congé non pris, du fait d'une incapacité de travail qui se prolonge durant tout ou partie de l'année et qui perdure encore à l'expiration de cette année et/ou au-delà du 31 mars de l'année suivante, est reporté tant que le salarié est dans l'impossibilité de prendre son congé du fait de sa maladie.

Congé légal et fin de la relation de travail

La période de congé ne représente pas une protection pour le salarié en cas de licenciement. L’employeur peut licencier un collaborateur qui est en congé, il doit cependant respecter la législation en vigueur en matière de préavis et de congés restant à prendre.

Si le contrat du salarié se termine en milieu d’année, un 12e de son congé annuel lui sera accordé pour chaque mois de travail dépassant 15 jours de calendrier.

Si le salarié ne bénéficie pas de la totalité de son congé lorsqu’il quitte l’entreprise, l’employeur doit lui verser une indemnité correspondante au congé non encore pris au moment de son départ.

Si, après la résiliation du contrat de travail, un nouveau contrat est conclu entre le même employeur et le même salarié dans les 3 mois qui suivent la résiliation, cette interruption n'est pas à considérer comme cessation du contrat de travail. En conséquence, le salarié ne perd pas son droit au congé.

Lorsque le salarié a été en congé de maladie durant tout ou partie de l'année, raison pour laquelle il n'a pas pu exercer son droit au congé annuel payé avant la fin de l'année, il a droit à une indemnité compensatoire de congé non pris lors de la fin de la relation de travail.

Visites chez le médecin

En principe, la loi n’accorde pas d’heures ou de jours de congé spécial pour consulter un médecin pendant les heures de travail.

Cependant la pratique admet qu’un salarié puisse se rendre à une visite médicale pendant les heures de travail s’il a demandé au préalable l’autorisation de son employeur et que ce dernier est d’accord.

Dispense de travail pour aller voter

Le salarié peut obtenir une dispense de travail auprès de son employeur pour exercer ses droits et devoirs civiques, notamment pour aller voter aux élections communales, législatives et européennes.

Ces dispenses de travail ne peuvent pas être imputées sur les jours de congé du salarié.