Indirect Tax Authority

This page was last modified on 04-01-2018

The Luxembourg Land Registration and Estates Department (Administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines - AED) is one of the 3 tax authorities in Luxembourg, along with the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (Administration des contributions directes - ACD) and the Customs and Excise Agency (Administration des douanes et accises). All fees, taxes and duties related to the legal circulation of goods in particular fall under its responsibility and constitute the main part of indirect taxation.

The AED's online telephone directory allows you to contact any of its departments directly.


The roles of the AED mainly concern the control and recovery of:

The AED is also responsible for the inscription of last wills and testaments.


The Indirect Tax Authority consists of a management team and different departments (taxation departments).


Management deals with all cases that are not settled by the tax departments, such as general affairs, appeals, the preparation of legislation for the attention of the government, the drafting of circulars, etc. It also oversees the inspection and fraud prevention services.

VAT department on the AED website

The VAT department has 12 offices whose main task is to oversee and collect value added tax (VAT).

This tax on turnover is levied on final consumption. The standard VAT rate is 17 %. In some cases, however, citizens can benefit from a reduced VAT rate. In order to encourage the construction of dwellings, and under certain circumstances, housing VAT (TVA Logement) may be refunded or applied straight away at a rate of 3 %, instead of the standard rate of 17 %. Applications must be made to Bureau d'imposition XII – Service Agrément.

Registration and receipts department

This department groups the different registration offices. It collects taxes, duties and levies based on the legal circulation of goods and concerns, in particular:

  • documentation and transfers between living persons. This tax, referred to as the registration fee includes, in particular, fees to be paid when purchasing property, as well as the tax credit granted once the notarial deed documenting the purchase of a personal residence has been drafted. Depending on what has been requested, interested parties must contact one of the competent registration offices in their local region;
  • inheritances and transfers upon death. These inheritance taxes (charged on the value of the estate of a deceased Luxembourg resident) and transfer tax (due, in the event of the death of a non-resident, on the value of property located in the Grand Duchy belonging to the deceased) are estate taxes which come into force following a death;
  • tax stamp contributions and the management of stores selling stamps (dimension stamps (timbres de dimension), adhesive stamps, passports, hunting and fishing licences, ID cards for foreign nationals, and chancellery duties).

Mortgage conservation offices

The AED has several mortgage conservation offices which carry out the formalities involved in registering mortgages and consolidating property transfers as well as collecting mortgage tax.

State domain offices

The AED also has several offices that are responsible for managing the State's property.

Indirect Tax Authority
1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 Luxembourg

Postal box
B.P. 31 L-2010
Phone: (+352) 247 80800
Fax: (+352) 247 90400
Double click to activate

Administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 12-12-2017

L’Administration de l’enregistrement et des domaines (AED) forme l’une des 3 administrations fiscales du Grand-Duché, au même titre que l’Administration des contributions directes (ACD) et que l’Administration des douanes et accises. Tous les droits, impôts et taxes concernant notamment la circulation juridique des biens, relèvent de sa compétence et constituent la partie essentielle de la fiscalité dite indirecte.

L'AED dispose d’un annuaire téléphonique en ligne, permettant de contacter directement un service.

Attributions

Les attributions fiscales de l’AED concernent principalement le contrôle et recouvrement :

L’AED a également pour attribution, l’inscription des dispositions de dernière volonté.

Organisation

L’Administration de l’enregistrement et des domaines est composée de la direction et de différents services (qui sont des services d’imposition).

Service de direction

La direction traite de l’ensemble des affaires qui ne sont pas réglées par les services d’imposition, telles que les affaires générales, les recours gracieux, la préparation des textes législatifs à l’attention du gouvernement, la rédaction de circulaires, etc. Elle supervise également les services d'inspection et de lutte contre la fraude.

Service d’imposition de la TVA

Le service d’imposition compte différents bureaux, qui ont pour mission principale le contrôle et le recouvrement de la de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée (TVA).

Cet impôt sur le chiffre d'affaires grève la consommation finale, dont le taux normal est de 17 %. Dans certains cas cependant, le citoyen peut bénéficier d’une baisse de ce taux. Afin de stimuler la construction de logements, la TVA Logement rend possible sous certaines conditions le remboursement ou l’application directe du taux de 3 % au lieu des 17 % habituels, et dont la demande est à déposer au Bureau d'imposition XII – Service Agrément.

Service d’enregistrement et de recettes

Ce service compte différents bureaux d’enregistrement. Il perçoit les impôts, droits et taxes assis sur la circulation juridique des biens et frappant notamment :

  • les actes et mutations entre personnes vivantes. Cet impôt appelé "droit d’enregistrement" inclut notamment les droits à payer lors de l’achat d’un bien immobilier, ainsi que l’octroi du crédit d’impôt, qui a lieu après établissement de l’acte notarié documentant l’acquisition d’une habitation personnelle. En fonction de sa requête, l’intéressé doit contacter un des bureaux d’enregistrement compétents en la matière dans sa région ;
  • les successions et mutations par décès. Ces droits de succession (perçus sur la valeur de tout ce qui est recueilli dans la succession d’un habitant du Grand-Duché) et de mutation (dus en cas de décès d’un non-résident sur la valeur des immeubles situés au Grand-Duché appartenant au défunt) sont des impôts sur les transmissions qui entrent en compte suite à un décès ;
  • la contribution du timbre fiscal et la gestion du magasin du timbre (timbres de dimension, timbres mobiles, passeports, permis de chasse et de pêche, cartes d’identité pour étrangers, droits de chancellerie).

Les bureaux de la conservation des hypothèques

L’AED comporte plusieurs bureaux de conservation des hypothèques, qui exécutent les formalités relevant de la conservation des hypothèques et de la consolidation des mutations des propriétés immobilières ainsi que de la perception du droit d’hypothèque.

Service du domaine de l'Etat

L'AED comporte également plusieurs bureaux qui ont la charge de la gestion du domaine de l’Etat.


Administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines
1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

Adresse Postale
B.P. 31 L-2010
Tél. : (+352) 247 80800
Fax : (+352) 247 90400
Double click pour activer
Bus