Terminating a rental lease as a tenant / owner

This page was last modified on 24-04-2017

Several possible scenarios exist:

  • Assignment of a lease
    A lease is said to be assigned when one of the parties to the lease agreement—the tenant or the landlord—transfers their rights under the lease agreement to a third party. In practice, lease assignments mainly occur in situations where a tenant who does not wish to continue the lease proposes a new tenant to the landlord to replace them as the party contracting with the latter.
    The scenario also covers the case in which a building that is leased by an owner (landlord) is sold.
    In this case, the lease is assigned automatically since the new owner is bound by a residential lease.
  • Termination of a lease
    Leases are terminated:
    • either by mutual consent;
    • or unilaterally, at the initiative of one of the parties, either in or out of court;
    • or after legal proceedings.

Who is concerned

These procedures apply to all holders of residential leases, except the following:

  • commercial leases;
  • administrative leases;
  • industrial leases;
  • leases for artisanal use or for the exercise of a liberal profession;
  • secondary residences;
  • premises that are separate from a main dwelling (such as a garage not attached to a house);
  • hotel rooms;
  • shelters for temporary accommodation of foreigners for the purpose of their reception and integration in Luxembourg;
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings in special accommodation facilities (old people's homes, integrated centres for the elderly, geriatric centres, centres for the disabled, etc.);
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings made available to natural persons as part of a social assistance programme implemented by a commune, an association of communes, a non-profit association or a foundation involved the field of housing.

How to proceed

Assignment and termination of a lease

In principle, a lease may be assigned by a tenant, unless such assignment is specifically excluded in the lease agreement.

In practice, the parties tend to use a different method:

  1. tenants who wish to leave the premises search for a new tenant, who they would then introduce to the owner;
  2. after that, a new lease agreement is signed between the landlord and the new tenant, with the same terms and conditions as the previous agreement, if applicable;
  3. the initial tenant and the landlord are then discharged of their obligations under the previous lease contract.

This practice spares the landlord having to pay agency fees and conducting many visits.

It allows tenants to be released early from a lease agreement without having to respect the originally agreed term.

Termination by mutual agreement

This is the preferred solution because of its simplicity, flexibility and the non-confrontational nature of the process. If both parties agree, they may freely deviate from the rules provided for by law and in the agreement.

The principle is that the parties who have signed the lease agreement can freely terminate the latter by mutual agreement. As soon as the parties are in agreement both on the principle and on the terms, they can freely set the deadline for the vacating of the premises, the date of the inventory check and for handing over of the keys, and where applicable, the presentation of a new tenant to sign a new lease to replace the one that was terminated, etc.

Although the law does not prescribe any particular form for termination by mutual agreement, it is advised that the terms of the agreement be put in writing and that the document be signed by all parties in order to avoid difficulties at a later stage. Indeed, with an oral agreement, one of the parties may fail to keep their word, and if that is the case it will be difficult to prove the content of an oral agreement.

Unilateral termination

In this scenario, one of the parties takes the initiative to terminate the agreement unilaterally. It is important to note that regardless of the duration of the lease, the latter may only be terminated by the landlord for serious and legitimate reasons, such as a personal need, a breach by the tenant of their obligations, or the need to perform major works such that it would be impossible for the tenant to remain in the rented premises.

In this case, certain rules must be observed in terms of form and notice:

Form

The lease should always be terminated by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt.

Even if the landlord invokes personal reasons as grounds for termination, the law requires the observance of certain formal requirements (see below).

Notice

In most cases, leases are signed for a fixed term, with the possibility of renewal.

For the tenant, the stipulated term must in principle be observed and termination should occur on the day of expiry of the lease, failing which the lease will be renewed.

The notice period for termination a lease is 3 months, unless stipulated otherwise in the written lease when it provides for a period exceeding 3 months.

As an exception to the above, the period of notice is extended to 6 months when the landlord invokes personal need as the reason for termination of the lease.

Reasons for termination of a lease by a landlord

In addition to being required to observe the notice periods, landlords may only terminate a lease for legally admissible reasons, i.e., personal need, breach of obligations by the tenant, or other serious and legitimate reasons that may preclude renewal.

Outgoing inventory check

As a general rule, an outgoing inventory check is carried out when the tenant leaves the dwelling and returns the keys to the landlord (technically, the tenant is supposed to keep paying rent until the keys are returned to the landlord).

In principle—unless stipulated otherwise in the lease agreement—the tenant is required to return the rented premises in the same condition they were in at the start of the tenancy.

Damage caused as a result of normal use, wear and tear or dilapidation is not considered as rental damage (e.g., small holes in the wall due to nails used to hang paintings), and the tenant cannot be held responsible for such damage. Therefore, there is no need to mention such damage in an outgoing inventory check.

There is no legal obligation to perform an outgoing inventory check.

A sample inventory form can be found in the publication entitled, "Bail à loyer - La nouvelle législation en matière de bail à usage d'habitation" (Rental leases - New legislation on residential leases).

Eviction of tenants and legal termination

At the end of the notice period for termination of the lease, the tenant usually leaves the dwelling. However, if for any reason, the tenant refuses to voluntarily leave the dwelling after the end of the notice period, the landlord is obliged to file a request with a Justice of the Peace (juge de paix) to have the tenant vacate the dwelling. To that end, the magistrate sets a time limit for the tenant to vacate the premises.

However, a tenant who has been ordered to vacate may still apply to the Justice of the Peace for a stay. An application for stay is filed as a simple request with the clerk of the court of the Magistrates' Court. The parties will be summoned by the clerk of the court for the first effective hearing. The judge's decision on the application for a stay cannot be appealed.

The stay may not exceed three months. However, it may be extended, but no more than two times, each time for no more than three months. But stays are not automatically granted to all tenants. Only tenants who appear to deserve this favour and can prove that they have taken useful and extensive measures to find a new home are granted a stay.

If the time allowed by the judge to vacate the premises is more than 15 days, the application for stay must be filed no later than 3 days before the expiry of that period, failing which the right to file the application will lapse. If a stay is in progress, the application for an extension of the stay must be filed no later than 3 days before the expiry of the stay, failing which the right to file the application will lapse. The Justice of the Peace will immediately issue a ruling on the application. The application will have a suspensory effect.

If the tenant has appealed against the decision to vacate the premises and the appeal is declared to be without merit or inadmissible or invalid, the tenant may not file another application for a stay, regardless of the period set by the appellate judge for the party ordered to vacate. An application for stay or extension of a stay will be deemed inadmissible if more than one year has elapsed between the date the judicial proceedings commenced and the expiry of the period for vacating the premises established by the judgement extending the order, or in the order granting a previous stay.

Special case: eviction for reasons of owner's/landlord's personal needs

If, at the end of a fixed-term lease or an indefinite-term lease, a landlord invokes personal need (for themselves or a member of their family up to the third degree), they are required to observe a 6-month notice period for the termination of the lease, instead of a 3-month notice period.

In that scenario, the landlord's letter of termination is subject to certain formal requirements. It must be prepared in such a way as to enable both the tenant and the Justice of the Peace to judge the validity of the grounds for termination.

This is why a letter of termination must:

  • be in written form;
  • contain clear and unequivocal reasons;
  • be accompanied, if necessary, by supporting documents (e.g., a copy of the plans for the conversion of the dwelling in question, if the owner wishes to set up a business on the premises; evidence that the person in need of the dwelling is a member of the owner's family up to the third degree);
  • be sent to the tenant by registered post with acknowledgement of receipt;
  • contain the text of paragraph (3) of Article 12 of the Law of 21 September 2006 on residential leases, failing which the letter will be deemed invalid).

Once the 6-month notice period for termination of the lease has expired, the tenant must vacate the premises, unless they object to doing so by filing a request with a Justice of the Peace for an extension of the notice period within three months of receiving the letter of termination or, failing that, by filing a request for a stay of execution of the decision to vacate. The extension of the notice period may under no circumstances exceed 12 months from the date of expiry of the initial 6-month notice period for termination. As such, the tenant is entitled to up to 18 months' notice if they can claim a real and serious reason. But in that case, the tenant may no longer seek a stay.

Special case: eviction for sale of a rented dwelling

The purchaser of a dwelling that is leased in whole or in part may not evict a tenant who was the holder of a lease before the acquisition date unless the tenant fails to fulfil their contractual obligations, or if the new purchaser can provide other serious and legitimate reasons (the mere transfer of ownership of the rented dwelling is, however, not a serious and legitimate reason).

The purchaser of a rented dwelling who wishes to occupy the dwelling themselves—or to have the dwelling occupied by a relative by blood or marriage up to the third degree inclusively—must send the tenant, within 3 months of the purchase of the dwelling, a registered letter terminating the lease agreement with 6 months' notice.

Moreover, the landlord's letter of termination is subject to certain formal requirements. It must be prepared in such a way as to enable both the tenant and the Justice of the Peace to judge the validity of the grounds for termination.

This is why a letter of termination must:

  • be in written form;
  • contain clear and unequivocal reasons;
  • be accompanied, if necessary, by supporting documents (e.g., the notarial deed of acquisition of the building; a copy of the plans for the conversion of the dwelling in question, if the owner wishes to set up a business on the premises; evidence that the person who needs the dwelling is a member of the owner's family up to the third degree);
  • be sent to the tenant by registered post with acknowledgement of receipt;
  • contain the text of paragraph (3) of Article 12 of the Law of 21 September 2006 on residential leases, failing which the letter will be deemed invalid.

Once the 6-month notice period for termination of the lease has expired, the tenant must vacate the premises, unless they object to doing so by filing a request with a Justice of the Peace for an extension of the notice period within three months of receiving the letter of termination or, failing that, by filing a request for a stay of execution of the decision to vacate. The dwelling must be vacated by the tenant no later than 12 months from the date that the letter terminating the lease was sent.

Special case: death of tenant or owner

In the event of the death of the tenant, the lease shall continue indefinitely in favour of the spouse who had lived with the tenant—or the partner who had filed a declaration of partnership with the tenant, or had lived in partnership with the tenant—or in favour of the descendants, ascendants or domestic partner who had been living in the same household as the tenant for at least 6 months on the date of death, and who had declared their joint domicile in the dwelling during that period.

If no one meets the above-mentioned conditions, the lease is automatically terminated on the death of the tenant.

In the event of the death of the owner, the lease shall continue with the owner's heirs.

Legal termination

In the event of serious difficulties between a landlord and a tenant, the parties have the right to refer the dispute to the courts to have the lease terminated and, if necessary, to take binding measures, such as the eviction of the tenant.

Who to contact

 
Luxembourg

Résilier un bail de location en tant que locataire / propriétaire

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 02-11-2015

Plusieurs cas de figure peuvent se présenter :

  • Cession d’un contrat de bail
    On parle de cession de bail lorsqu’une des parties au contrat de bail - le locataire ou le bailleur - transfère à une tierce personne les droits qu’elle tient du contrat de bail. En pratique, la cession du contrat de bail concerne surtout la situation où un locataire, qui ne souhaite pas continuer le bail, propose au bailleur un nouveau locataire en vue de le remplacer comme cocontractant du bailleur.
    Est également visée l’hypothèse de la vente de l’immeuble loué par un propriétaire (bailleur).
    En pareille hypothèse, la cession de bail se fait automatiquement, puisqu’un bail d’habitation, même non enregistré, est opposable au nouveau propriétaire.
  • Résiliation d’un contrat de bail
    Il s’agit de mettre fin à un contrat de bail :
    • soit d’un commun accord ;
    • soit unilatéralement à l’initiative d’une des parties, judiciairement ou extrajudiciairement ;
    • soit à l’issue d’une procédure judiciaire.

Personnes concernées

Ces procédures concernent tous les titulaires de baux à usage d’habitation. Sont cependant exclus :

  • le bail à usage commercial ;
  • le bail à usage administratif ;
  • le bail à usage industriel ;
  • le bail à usage artisanal ou affecté à l'exercice d'une profession libérale ;
  • les résidences secondaires ;
  • les locaux ne formant pas l'accessoire d'un logement (garage indépendant d'un logement) ;
  • les chambres d'hôtel ;
  • les structures d'hébergement réservées au logement provisoire d'étrangers concernant l'accueil et l'intégration des étrangers au Grand-Duché ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés dans des structures d'hébergement spéciales (maisons de retraite, centres intégrés pour personnes âgées, centres de gériatrie, centres pour personnes handicapées etc.) ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés mis à disposition de personnes physiques à titre d'aide sociale par une commune, un syndicat de commune, une association sans but lucratif ou une fondation œuvrant dans le domaine du logement.

Modalités pratiques

Cession et mode de résiliation du bail

La cession d’un contrat de bail par un locataire est en principe valable, sauf si le contrat exclut cette dernière.

Dans la pratique, les parties utilisent plutôt une autre méthode :

  1. le locataire qui souhaite quitter les locaux recherche puis présente un nouveau locataire au propriétaire ;
  2. par la suite, c’est un nouveau contrat de bail qui est signé entre le propriétaire et le nouveau locataire, avec le cas échéant les mêmes conditions que l’ancien contrat ;
  3. le locataire comme le propriétaire sont alors délivrés des obligations de leur ancien contrat de bail.

Cette pratique permet au propriétaire d’éviter des frais d’agence et de nombreuses visites.

Pour le locataire, il s’agit principalement de se voir libérer par anticipation d’un contrat de bail sans avoir à en respecter le terme initialement prévu.

Résiliation d’un commun accord

C’est la solution à privilégier en raison de sa simplicité, de sa souplesse et du caractère non conflictuel de la démarche. En effet, en cas d’accord, les parties peuvent librement déroger aux règles prévues par la loi et aux stipulations contractuelles.

Le principe est que les parties qui ont signé le contrat de bail peuvent librement et d’un commun accord mettre fin au contrat. Du moment que les parties sont d’accord sur le principe comme sur les modalités, elles peuvent fixer librement le délai de libération des locaux, la date de l’état des lieux et de remise des clés, présenter le cas échéant un nouveau locataire pour signer un nouveau contrat de bail en remplacement de celui qui a été résilié, etc.

Bien que la loi ne prescrive aucune forme particulière pour la résiliation d’un commun accord, il est conseillé de coucher par écrit les modalités de l’accord et de faire signer ce document par toutes les parties afin d’éviter des difficultés ultérieurement. En effet, la parole donnée peut parfois ne pas être respectée et il sera alors difficile de prouver le contenu d’un accord oral.

Résiliation unilatérale

Dans ce cas de figure, l’une des parties prend l’initiative de résilier unilatéralement le contrat. Il est important de noter que peu importe la durée du bail, le propriétaire peut uniquement résilier celui-ci pour motif grave, légitime et sérieux, tel que par exemple un besoin personnel, la violation par le locataire de ses obligations ou la nécessité de réaliser des grands travaux, rendant impossible tout maintien du locataire dans les lieux loués.

Dans ce cas, certaines règles sont à respecter au niveau de la forme et du préavis :

Forme de la résiliation

La résiliation devra en principe toujours se faire moyennant lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception.

Lorsque le bailleur invoque comme motif de résiliation le besoin personnel, la loi exige toutefois le respect de certaines formalités (voir ci-dessous).

Préavis

Le plus souvent, les contrats de bail sont conclus pour une durée déterminée avec possibilité de renouvellement.

Pour le locataire, le terme prévu doit en principe être respecté et la résiliation doit se faire pour le jour de l’expiration du contrat, sous peine de renouvellement du contrat.

Le délai de résiliation d'un contrat de bail est de 3 mois, sauf clause contraire dans le contrat de bail écrit prévoyant un délai supérieur à 3 mois.

Par dérogation à ce qui précède, le délai de préavis est de 6 mois, lorsque le bailleur invoque comme motif de résiliation du contrat le besoin personnel.

Motifs permettant une résiliation du contrat de bail par le bailleur

Le bailleur, quant à lui, doit non seulement respecter les délais de préavis, mais il est en outre limité aux causes légales de résiliation : le besoin personnel, la violation des obligations du locataire ou d’autres motifs graves et légitimes pouvant faire échec au renouvellement.

L’état des lieux de sortie

En règle générale, il est établi un état des lieux de sortie au moment où le locataire quitte le logement et rend les clés au bailleur (aussi longtemps que les clés ne sont pas remises au propriétaire, le locataire est censé payer le loyer).

En principe (et sauf stipulation contraire dans le contrat de bail), le locataire s’oblige à rendre les lieux loués dans le même état où il les a reçus.

Les dégradations qui seraient dues à un simple usage normal, à l’usure ou à la vétusté ne sont pas considérées comme des dégâts locatifs (ex. petits trous dans le mur dus à la présence de clous ayant servi à accrocher des tableaux) et ne sauraient être mises à la charge du locataire. Par conséquent, il n’y a pas besoin de les mentionner dans un état des lieux de sortie.

Il n’existe pas d’obligation légale de dresser un état des lieux de sortie.

Un modèle d’un état des lieux fait partie de l’ouvrage "Bail à loyer - La nouvelle législation en matière de bail à usage d'habitation" édité par le ministère des Classes moyennes, du Tourisme et du Logement.

Déguerpissement du locataire et résiliation judiciaire

A la fin du délai de résiliation, le locataire quitte en général le logement. Cependant, dans les cas où le locataire refuse - pour une raison ou une autre - de sortir volontairement du logement après la fin du délai de résiliation, le bailleur est obligé d’introduire auprès du juge de paix une demande en condamnation du locataire à déguerpir du logement, c'est-à-dire à le quitter. A cet effet, le juge fixe au locataire un délai pour déguerpir.

Le locataire condamné au déguerpissement peut cependant encore demander au juge de paix des sursis. Une demande en sursis est formée par simple requête à déposer au greffe de la Justice de paix. Les parties seront convoquées par le greffe pour la première audience utile. La décision du juge sur la demande d'un sursis n’est susceptible d’aucun recours.

Le sursis ne pourra pas dépasser 3 mois mais il pourra être prorogé au maximum à 2 reprises, chaque fois pour une durée maximale de 3 mois. Mais il n’est pas accordé automatiquement à tout locataire. Seuls les locataires qui paraissent mériter cette faveur et qui prouvent avoir effectué des démarches utiles et étendues pour trouver un nouveau logement, se voient accorder un sursis.

Si le délai de déguerpissement accordé au locataire par le juge est supérieur à 15 jours, la demande en sursis est à introduire, sous peine de déchéance, au plus tard 3 jours avant l’expiration de ce délai. Si un sursis est en cours, la demande en prolongation du sursis est à introduire, sous peine de déchéance, au plus tard 3 jours avant l’expiration du sursis. Le juge de paix statuera incessamment sur la demande. La demande aura un effet suspensif.

Si le locataire a fait appel contre la décision de condamnation au déguerpissement et que cet appel est déclaré non fondé ou qu’il est déclaré irrecevable ou nul, ce locataire ne pourra plus introduire une demande en sursis, quel que soit le délai accordé par le juge d’appel à la partie condamnée au déguerpissement. Toute demande en sursis ou en prorogation de sursis est irrecevable s'il s'est écoulé un délai supérieur à un an entre le jour de l'introduction de la procédure judiciaire et l'expiration du délai de déguerpissement fixé dans le jugement prorogeant la condamnation ou dans l'ordonnance accordant un précédent sursis.

Cas particulier : déguerpissement en cas de besoin personnel du propriétaire-bailleur

Si, à la fin d’un bail à durée déterminée ou lors d’un bail à durée indéterminée, le propriétaire-bailleur invoque le besoin personnel (pour soi-même ou pour un membre de sa famille jusqu’au 3e degré), il ne devra respecter non pas un délai de résiliation de 3 mois, mais un délai de résiliation de 6 mois.

Dans une telle hypothèse, la lettre de résiliation du bailleur doit respecter un certain formalisme. Elle doit être étoffée de manière à permettre à la fois au locataire et au juge de paix de juger le bien-fondé des motifs de résiliation.

Ainsi, la lettre de résiliation doit :

  • être écrite ;
  • contenir une motivation claire et non-équivoque ;
  • être accompagnée, le cas échéant, de pièces justificatives (par exemple, une copie des plans de transformation du logement concerné si le propriétaire veut y réaliser un commerce, des pièces prouvant que la personne ayant besoin dudit logement est un membre de sa famille jusqu’au 3e degré) ;
  • être envoyée au locataire par lettre recommandée avec avis de réception ;
  • contenir, sous peine de nullité, le texte du paragraphe (3) de l’article 12 de la loi du 21 septembre 2006 sur le bail à usage d’habitation.

Après expiration du délai de résiliation de 6 mois, le locataire doit quitter les lieux, à moins qu’il ne s’y oppose en introduisant, dans les trois mois suivant la réception de la lettre de résiliation, auprès du juge de paix, une demande en prolongation du délai de résiliation ou, à défaut, en introduisant une demande en sursis à l’exécution de la décision de déguerpissement. La prolongation du délai ne peut en aucun cas dépasser de 12 mois la date d’expiration du délai initial de résiliation de 6 mois. Le locataire pourrait donc, le cas échéant, bénéficier d’un délai de résiliation de 18 mois au maximum, s’il peut faire valoir un motif réel et sérieux. Mais dans pareille hypothèse, le locataire ne pourrait plus demander la faveur d’un sursis.

Cas particulier : déguerpissement en cas de vente du logement loué

L'acquéreur d'un logement loué en tout ou en partie ne peut expulser le locataire, titulaire d'un contrat de bail avant la date d'acquisition, à moins que le locataire ne remplisse pas ses obligations contractuelles ou s'il existe d'autres motifs graves et légitimes à établir par le nouvel acquéreur (mais le seul transfert de propriété du logement loué n'est pas un motif grave et légitime).

L'acquéreur d'un logement loué, qui veut occuper le logement lui-même ou par un parent ou allié jusqu'au 3e degré inclusivement, doit envoyer au locataire dans les 3 mois de l'acquisition du logement une lettre recommandée de résiliation du contrat de bail avec un préavis de 6 mois.

Par ailleurs, la lettre de résiliation du bailleur doit respecter un certain formalisme. Elle doit être étoffée de manière à permettre à la fois au locataire et au juge de paix de juger le bien-fondé des motifs de résiliation.

Ainsi, la lettre de résiliation doit :

  • être écrite ;
  • contenir une motivation claire et non-équivoque ;
  • être accompagnée, le cas échéant, de pièces justificatives (par exemple, l'acte notarié d'acquisition de l'immeuble, une copie des plans de transformation du logement concerné si le nouvel acquéreur veut y réaliser un commerce, des pièces prouvant que la personne ayant besoin dudit logement est un membre de sa famille jusqu'au 3e degré) ;
  • être envoyée au locataire par lettre recommandée avec avis de réception ;
  • contenir, sous peine de nullité, le texte du paragraphe (3) de l'article 12 de la loi du 21 septembre 2006 sur le bail à usage d'habitation.

Après expiration du délai de préavis de 6 mois, le locataire doit quitter les lieux, à moins qu'il ne s'y oppose en introduisant dans les 3 mois suivant la réception de la lettre de résiliation auprès du juge de paix une demande de prolongation du délai de préavis ou, à défaut, en introduisant une demande en sursis à l'exécution de la décision de déguerpissement. Le déguerpissement du logement par le locataire doit impérativement avoir lieu au plus tard 12 mois après la date d'envoi de la lettre de résiliation du bail.

Cas particulier : décès du locataire ou du propriétaire

En cas de décès du locataire, le contrat de bail continue à durée indéterminée au profit du conjoint ayant cohabité avec le locataire, ou du partenaire ayant fait une déclaration de partenariat avec le locataire ou ayant vécu en couple avec celui-ci, ou au profit des descendants, ascendants ou du concubin, qui vivaient avec lui en communauté domestique depuis au moins 6 mois à la date du décès et qui avaient déclaré leur domicile à la commune dans le logement pendant cette période.

A défaut de personne remplissant les conditions prévues ci-avant, le contrat de bail est résilié de plein droit par le décès du locataire.

En cas de décès du propriétaire, le contrat de bail continue avec les héritiers de celui-ci.

Résiliation judiciaire

En cas de difficultés graves entre propriétaire et locataire, les parties disposent du droit de saisir les tribunaux pour voir résilier le contrat de bail et le cas échéant prendre des mesures contraignantes comme par exemple le déguerpissement du locataire.

Organismes de contact