Entering into a rental lease agreement as a tenant/landlord

This page was last modified on 29-03-2016

A rental lease, or a residential tenancy lease, is an agreement whereby the owner (landlord) of a dwelling and a tenant freely set the term and specific conditions of the rental agreement.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

Who is concerned

The legislation in force on rental agreements applies only to accommodation used as the main place of residence let out to natural persons.

The following, in particular, are not covered by that legislation:

  • commercial leases;
  • administrative leases;
  • industrial leases;
  • leases for artisanal use or for the exercise of a freelance/liberal profession;
  • secondary residences;
  • premises that are not attached to a housing unit (such as a garage not attached to a house);
  • hotel rooms;
  • shelters for temporary accommodation of foreigners for the purpose of their reception and integration in Luxembourg;
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings in special accommodation facilities (old people's homes, integrated centres for the elderly, geriatric centres, centres for the disabled, etc.);
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings made available to natural persons as part of a social assistance programme implemented by a commune, an association of communes, a non-profit association or a foundation involved the field of housing.

The following are considered incapable of entering into a lease agreement:

  • minors;
  • adults without legal capacity to manage their own assets;
  • people who have been declared bankrupt.

How to proceed

Form of the contract

The lease entered into by the landlord and tenant may be either oral or written. There is no requirement for this type of agreement to be drawn up in a specific form.

Nevertheless, although an oral agreement is absolutely valid, it carries with it the disadvantage of being very difficult (in case of a legal dispute, for instance) not just to prove its existence, but also to ascertain its content and terms (duration, means of termination, distribution of responsibilities, etc.).

For greater security in relations between tenants and landlords, therefore, it is preferable to draw up a written rental agreement, setting out the most relevant aspects of the agreement between the parties, including, for example:

  • the duration of the tenancy;
  • the agreed conditions of termination (with or without notice);
  • any alterations the tenant is allowed to make during their tenancy;
  • the amount of rent and the frequency of the payments to be made;
  • the additional rental expenses.

A residential tenancy lease agreement must always be drawn up in as many copies as there are parties to it.

In the absence of a written agreement, oral leases are considered to run indefinitely.

Certain optional documents may also be included in a lease, such as an inventory report.

Energy performance of the building

As of 1 July 2012, advertisements for the sale or rental of property published in commercial media must specify the energy performance class—with regard to the primary energy expenditure index—and the thermal insulation class—with regard to the heating energy expenditure index—of residential buildings.

The regulation pertaining to a building's energy performance stipulates that anyone interested in renting a residential building is entitled to see its energy performance certificate.

Even when the tenant does not ask to see the energy performance certificate, the landlord is obliged to send every new tenant a certified copy of the certificate.

Duration of the lease

The duration of the lease may be determined by the parties at their discretion. They may opt for an indefinite-term lease, or set a specific term. In the latter case, the duration of the lease is specified in the agreement.

The lease will be automatically renewed at the end of the period stipulated in the agreement. Hence, if one of the parties does not wish to extend the lease when it expires, the party wishing to terminate the lease must expressly inform the other of their intention, observing the notice period stipulated in the contract (or, if there is no such contractual stipulation, then the notice period required by the use of the premises).

Amount of rent

Pursuant to legislation, the maximum amount that a landlord may charge in rent may not exceed 5 % of the amount the landlord has invested in the property. The concept of invested capital includes:

  • the price of the land on which the dwelling is built;
  • the cost of constructing the building;
  • the amount invested in any renovation and transformation works.

Social housing provided for rent by the Housing Fund administered by the National low-cost housing administration (Société nationale des habitations à bon marché – SNHBM) and communal authorities, and luxury housing (as defined by law), are exempt from this provision.

The rent is set when the lease is signed. It may only be adjusted once every 2 years.

If the lease includes a value clause—i.e., a clause whereby the rent varies based on changes in the cost-of-living index, for instance—that clause becomes null and void from the first term following the date on which a claim is sent to the landlord by registered letter.

Additional rental expenses

Additional rental expenses are those costs which the landlord may ask the tenant to pay. These include:

  • costs incurred for energy consumption;
  • costs for the maintenance and upkeep of the dwelling and communal areas;
  • costs for small repairs;
  • fees pertaining to the use of the dwelling.

Water rates, heating/gas bills, electricity, sewerage, waste collection and chimney sweeping bills are borne by the tenant, as are the normal costs for maintenance of the central heating system.

Such costs are not included in the monthly rent.

However, property tax and all other taxes and charges pertaining to the property are borne by the landlord.

The landlord may require that any extra costs that are to be borne by the tenant be paid in instalments. The instalments can be adjusted in line with the amounts actually paid by the landlord on the tenant's behalf in the previous financial years.

An annual breakdown of costs must be sent to the tenant—along with the receipts/invoices (or copies of them) relative to the costs paid—itemising the expenses for which the tenant is being charged. That breakdown includes all monthly advances on costs paid by the tenant, and also the expenses actually incurred.

The payment of the costs to be borne by the tenant may also set as a lump-sum by the parties if that lump-sum corresponds to the tenant's normal consumption and costs. The lump sum may be adjusted during the course of the lease.

During the lease, the parties may switch from the monthly instalment arrangement to the lump-sum payment arrangement, and vice versa.

Rental deposit

When the rental agreement is concluded, the landlord may require a security deposit to be paid. That deposit amount may not exceed the equivalent of 3 months' rent.

The purpose of the deposit is to serve as a guarantee for the payment of the rent, the additional charges, and any damage that may be caused to the property.

The security deposit may take any one of the following five forms:

  • a bank guarantee, with a distinction being drawn between:
    • a so-called 'first demand guarantee': in this case, the guarantee is given to the landlord by the tenant's bank. In practice, the amount of the deposit set out in the lease agreement is locked into a special bank account in the tenant's name for a predefined, and renewable, period of time. That duration is often equal to the agreed length of the lease, plus a few months. Should the tenant default on their contractual obligations, the landlord can obtain, directly from the bank, upon request, either all or part of the amount set aside in the tenant's special bank account, without the tenant's prior consent and without having to give reasons;
    • a simple bank guarantee, also known as a 'bank caution': much like the 'first demand guarantee', the amount of the deposit determined in the lease is locked into a special bank account held by the tenant for a certain, renewable length of time. That period is often equal to the agreed length of the lease plus a few months. However, unlike a first demand guarantee, the tenant's bank will only disburse the amount demanded by the landlord if the latter can prove the legitimacy of the tenant's debt, for instance by producing a definitive ruling handed down by a judge authorised to rule on matters of rent, compelling the tenant to pay a specific amount, or by sending the tenant's bank a document written by the tenant acknowledging the debt in question;
  • a deposit by simple bank transfer directly to the landlord's account;
  • a security deposit paid in cash: this solution may only be proposed by the tenant; it may not be imposed by the landlord;
  • a deposit paid by the State;
  • a rental deposit insurance policy: provide that the landlord agrees to this kind of deposit, the tenant can take out an insurance policy whereby, if the rent is not paid, the insurance company will indemnify the landlord directly. This type of insurance may include an indemnification arrangement comparable to that of the first demand bank guarantee.

State of the property at the beginning of the lease

In most cases, the so-called 'entry inventory' is drawn up jointly by the landlord and tenant, or by their representatives, to avoid having to pay the fees for the services of a third party. Inventory is generally assessed at the end of the contract, but it is highly recommended to also carry one out at the beginning of the contractual relationship.

The law provides that a written report on the state of the property, signed by both parties must be established prior to the beginning of the tenancy, whenever the lease requires the tenant to pay a deposit (which, in practice, is practically always the case).

A report on the state of the property must be produced by the landlord and tenant (or their representatives) no later than the time when the tenant takes possession of the premises. The more accurate it is, the more reliable it will be as a reference in case of later problems. It is dated and signed by both parties at the time of its drawing up.

The inventory need not necessarily be a separate document, distinct from the lease itself; it could also be the result of an exchange of correspondence, or simply a clause in the agreement.

The establishment of the inventory on entry is in the interests of both the tenant and landlord. Indeed, the law states that unless an inventory has been established, it is assumed that the dwelling was in a good, rent-worthy state at the time of entry, and that the tenant must return it in the same condition (unless it can be proved that there was already pre-existing damage when the tenant moved in). The landlord, for their part, may not make use of the rental deposit as payment for any damage caused to the property if no such inventory is available.

It often happens that leases contain a clause whereby the tenant declares that the property was in good condition when they moved in. This type of clause is valid, and means that, at the end of the lease, if no inspection of the premises was carried out at the beginning, the tenant can no longer provide any evidence to the contrary. The consequence is that the tenant automatically bears responsibility for any damage to the property noted when the contract comes to an end.

Thus, if the tenant notices damage on their first visit to the property, they must insist that such damage be mentioned in a report on the state of the property. Under no circumstances should they sign a contract stipulating that the property is leased in good condition at the time of entry.

When, within a few days of taking up residence, the tenant notices damage that was not mentioned in the report, they can report the damage to the landlord (preferably by registered delivery), but the landlord may refuse to recognise the damage, and base the decision only on the entry inventory signed by both parties.

A sample inventory form can be found in the publication entitled, "Bail à loyer - La nouvelle législation en matière de bail à usage d'habitation" (Rental leases - New legislation on residential leases).

End of the lease

The lease may run for a definite period or indefinitely. A lease concluded for a definite period is automatically extended if neither party ends it. However, the fact that a contract states an exact date does not mean that the tenant is obliged to leave the property by that date.

The rules in force regarding termination of a lease agreement vary depending on the person wishing to end it. Indeed, the landlord must respect fairly restrictive conditions, while the tenant has a greater degree of freedom.

Exit inventory

As a general rule, an outgoing inventory check is carried out when the tenant leaves the dwelling and returns the keys to the landlord (technically, the tenant is supposed to keep paying rent until the keys are returned to the landlord).

In principle—unless stipulated otherwise in the lease agreement—the tenant is required to return the rented premises in the same condition they were in at the start of the tenancy.

Damage caused as a result of normal use, wear and tear or dilapidation is not considered as rental damage (e.g., small holes in the wall due to nails used to hang paintings), and the tenant cannot be held responsible for such damage. Therefore, there is no need to mention such damage in an outgoing inventory check.

There is no legal obligation to draw up an outgoing inventory checklist, unless a rental deposit has been paid.

Return of deposit

At the end of the lease and after the establishment of the final breakdown, the landlord will return the deposit to the tenant if there are no issues to claim against. If rental payments or charges have gone unpaid, the landlord can deduct them from the amount put up for guarantee.

Time limit for return of deposit

The tenant may demand that the rental deposit be returned if:

  • an outgoing inventory check, further to an incoming inventory check, has been carried out;
  • the tenant has returned the keys to the property, because the return of the keys is the point marking the end of the lease.

Once these two conditions have been fulfilled, in principle, the tenant is entitled to demand the return of the rental deposit, unless it was to be deducted from the payment of an advance on additional rental expenses in addition to the monthly rent.

In this case, the tenant must wait until the annual breakdown of the additional costs is established before claiming the return of the rental deposit.

However, the law does not specify a time limit within which the landlord is required to provide the tenant with such a breakdown.

If the tenant believes they are entitled to claim the return of their deposit, they may take the following courses of action:

  • firstly, send a formal demand for the return of the deposit within a specific period of time;
  • then acting through the judiciary, with a rental petition.

Note that in this case, the judge is required by law to apply the mechanism of legal compensation between the rental deposit amount and the amount of charges remaining to be paid. Thus, it is not certain that the tenant will recover the whole of the rental deposit at the conclusion of the case. It may even be the case that the tenant actually owes the landlord a certain amount.

Rental deposit including a bank guarantee

If the lease agreement provides that it will be accompanied by a first demand guarantee or a simple bank guarantee, the deposit amount is placed on a special bank account belonging to the tenant.

The money in that account earns interest for the tenant, which can be claimed at the end of the contract. It also generates bank charges that will be borne by the tenant.

If the lease agreement stipulates that the bank guarantee should be paid by a simple transfer to the landlord's bank account, then the interest and fees attributable to that deposit to that account apply to the landlord.

Who to contact

1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 - Luxembourg
Postal box B.P. 31 L-2010
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247 80800
Fax: (+352) 247 90400
Email info@aed.public.lu

Conclure un contrat de bail de location en tant que locataire / propriétaire

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 29-03-2016

Le bail à loyer ou bail à usage d’habitation est un contrat dans lequel le propriétaire et le locataire d’une habitation fixent librement la durée et les modalités d’un bail.

Formulaires / Services en ligne

Effectuez votre démarche :

Personnes concernées

La législation concernant le bail à loyer s’applique uniquement à des logements à usage d’habitation principale loués à des personnes physiques.

Sont notamment exclus :

  • le bail à usage commercial ;
  • le bail à usage administratif ;
  • le bail à usage industriel ;
  • le bail à usage artisanal ou affecté à l'exercice d'une profession libérale ;
  • les résidences secondaires ;
  • les locaux ne formant pas l'accessoire d'un logement (garage indépendant d'un logement) ;
  • les chambres d'hôtel ;
  • les structures d'hébergement réservées au logement provisoire d'étrangers concernant l'accueil et l'intégration des étrangers au Grand-Duché ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés dans des structures d'hébergement spéciales (maisons de retraite, centres intégrés  pour personnes âgées, centres de gériatrie, centres pour personnes handicapées etc.) ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés mis à disposition de personnes physiques à titre d'aide sociale par une commune, un syndicat de commune, une association sans but lucratif ou une fondation œuvrant dans le domaine du logement.

Sont considérés comme incapables de conclure un contrat de bail :

  • les mineurs ;
  • les personnes majeures incapables d’administrer leurs biens ;
  • les personnes en état de faillite.

Modalités pratiques

Forme du contrat

Le contrat de bail conclu entre le propriétaire et le locataire peut être oral ou écrit. Aucune forme particulière n’est exigée pour ce type de contrats.

Toutefois, même si un contrat verbal est pleinement valable, il présente l’inconvénient qu’il sera très difficile - dans le cas d’un éventuel litige, par exemple - non seulement de prouver son existence, mais également de connaître son contenu et ses modalités (durée du contrat, modalités de résiliation, répartition des charges, etc.).

Pour une plus grande sécurité dans les relations locataire / propriétaire, il est donc préférable de conclure un bail par écrit, qui reprend les éléments les plus pertinents de l’accord des parties impliquées, comme par exemple :

  • la durée du bail ;
  • les modalités de résiliation prévues (avec ou sans préavis) ;
  • les éventuelles modifications que le locataire peut effectuer pendant qu’il occupe les lieux ;
  • le montant du loyer et la périodicité des paiements ;
  • les charges locatives.

Un contrat de bail à habitation doit toujours être rédigé en autant d’exemplaires que de parties.

En cas d’absence d’un écrit, les baux verbaux sont présumés conclus à durée indéterminée.

Certains documents facultatifs peuvent également faire partie d’un contrat de bail, tel que le compte-rendu d’un état des lieux.

Performance énergétique de l'immeuble

Depuis le 1er juillet 2012, les annonces immobilières de vente et de location paraissant dans les médias commerciaux doivent indiquer la classe de performance énergétique (en fonction de l'indice de dépense d'énergie primaire), ainsi que la classe d'isolation thermique (en fonction de l'indice de dépense d'énergie chauffage) d'un bâtiment d'habitation.

La réglementation relative à la performance énergétique d'un immeuble prévoit que tout locataire intéressé par la location d'un bâtiment d'habitation a le droit de consulter le certificat de performance énergétique.

Même au cas où le locataire ne demande pas la consultation du certificat de performance énergétique, le propriétaire est obligé de communiquer une copie certifiée conforme au nouveau locataire au moment où le changement de locataire devient effectif.

Durée du bail

Les parties sont libres de fixer la durée du bail. Elles peuvent opter pour un bail à durée indéterminée ou fixer un terme. Dans ce cas, la durée du bail est indiquée dans le contrat.

Le bail sera reconduit de façon tacite à la fin de la période convenue dans le contrat. Par conséquent, le propriétaire ou le locataire qui ne désire pas prolonger le bail à son échéance devra en informer expressément son cocontractant en respectant le préavis fixé au contrat (ou, à défaut de stipulation contractuelle à cet égard, le préavis prévu par l’usage des lieux).

Montant du loyer

La législation prévoit que le montant maximal du loyer que le propriétaire peut demander ne peut dépasser 5 % de la somme que le propriétaire a investi dans l’immeuble. La notion de capital investi inclut :

  • le prix du terrain sur lequel se trouve l’habitation ;
  • le prix de la construction de l’immeuble ;
  • le montant investi dans d’éventuelles rénovations et transformations.

Les logements sociaux locatifs du Fonds du logement, de la Société nationale des habitations à bon marché (SNHBM) et des communes ainsi que les logements de luxe (au sens de la loi) échappent à cette disposition.

Le loyer est fixé au moment de la signature du contrat de bail. Il ne peut être adapté que tous les 2 ans.

Si le contrat de bail prévoit une clause de valeur, c'est-à-dire une clause selon laquelle le loyer varie en fonction des variations de l'indice du coût de la vie par exemple, cette clause perd son effet à partir du premier terme suivant la date d'une réclamation adressée par lettre recommandée au bailleur.

Charges locatives

Les charges locatives sont les dépenses que le propriétaire-bailleur peut mettre à charge du locataire. Il s’agit :

  • des frais exposés pour la consommation d’énergie ;
  • des frais exposés pour l’entretien courant du logement et des parties communes ;
  • des frais exposés pour de petites réparations ;
  • des taxes liées à l’usage du logement.

Les taxes d’eau, de chauffage/gaz, d’électricité, d’égouts, de poubelle et de ramonage sont à charge du locataire. Il en est de même des frais de nettoyage usuels du chauffage central.

Les charges locatives ne sont pas incluses dans le montant du loyer mensuel.

Par contre, l’impôt foncier et tous autres impôts et taxes relatives à la propriété sont à charge du propriétaire.

Le bailleur peut exiger le versement d’acomptes appropriés sur ces frais. Ces acomptes peuvent être adaptés aux frais réellement exposés pour compte du locataire au cours des exercices antérieurs.

Un décompte annuel des charges doit être adressé au locataire, avec présentation des quittances / factures (ou copies de celles-ci) relatives aux dépenses avancées, justifiant les frais incombant au locataire. Ce décompte prend en compte les avances sur charges que le locataire verse tous les mois ainsi que les frais réellement exposés.

Les acomptes sur charges peuvent également être fixés forfaitairement par les parties si ce forfait correspond à la consommation et aux charges normales du locataire. Il pourra être adapté en cours de bail.

Il est permis aux parties de remplacer en cours de bail le régime des acomptes par le régime forfaitaire et vice versa.

Garantie locative

Lors de la conclusion du bail, le propriétaire-bailleur peut exiger le paiement d’une garantie locative. Cette garantie locative ne peut pas dépasser 3 mois de loyer.

La garantie locative est destinée à garantir le paiement des loyers, des charges locatives et les dégradations éventuelles des lieux loués.

La garantie locative peut prendre 5 formes différentes :

  • une garantie bancaire, à distinguer entre :
    • une garantie bancaire dite "à première demande" : dans ce cas, la garantie est fournie au bailleur par l’établissement bancaire du locataire. En pratique, le montant de la garantie déterminé dans le contrat de bail est bloqué sur un compte bancaire spécial du locataire pour une certaine durée renouvelable. Cette durée est souvent égale à la durée d’exécution du contrat de bail augmentée de quelques mois. Si le locataire venait à manquer à ses obligations contractuelles, le bailleur pourra directement obtenir de la banque tout ou partie du montant bloqué sur le compte bancaire spécial du locataire sur simple demande, sans accord préalable du locataire et sans justificatif ;
    • une garantie bancaire simple ou "cautionnement bancaire" : comme la garantie dite "à première demande", le montant de la garantie déterminé dans le contrat de bail est bloqué sur un compte bancaire spécial du locataire pour une certaine durée renouvelable. Cette durée est souvent égale à la durée d’exécution du contrat de bail augmentée de quelques mois, mais à la différence de la garantie dite "à première demande", la banque du locataire ne délivrera le montant réclamé par le bailleur que si ce dernier prouve le bienfondé de sa créance envers son locataire en produisant, par exemple, un jugement définitif rendu par un juge siégeant en matière de bail à loyer condamnant le locataire au paiement d’un montant déterminé, ou en transmettant à l’établissement bancaire un écrit du locataire reconnaissant devoir  le montant en question ;
  • une garantie locative par simple virement bancaire directement sur le compte du bailleur ;
  • une garantie locative payée en espèces : une telle solution ne peut venir que du locataire et ne peut pas être imposée par le bailleur ;
  • une garantie locative fournie par l’Etat ;
  • une assurance garantie locative : sous réserve de l’accord du bailleur pour cette formule de garantie, le locataire peut souscrire un contrat d’assurance dans lequel il est prévu qu’en cas de non-paiement des loyers, l’assurance indemnise directement le bailleur. Ce mécanisme d’assurance peut comprendre un mécanisme d’indemnisation comparable à la garantie bancaire dite à "première demande".

Etat des lieux au début du bail

Dans la plupart des cas, l’état des lieux est dressé conjointement par le bailleur et le locataire ou par leurs représentants, afin d’éviter les frais de l’intervention d’une tierce personne. L’état des lieux est généralement établi à la fin du contrat, mais il est fortement recommandé d’en établir aussi au début de la relation contractuelle.

La loi rend obligatoire le constat écrit et contradictoire des lieux avant l’entrée en jouissance chaque fois que le contrat de bail prévoit l’obligation pour le locataire de fournir une garantie locative (ce qui, en pratique, est quasiment toujours le cas).

Un état des lieux est à établir par le bailleur et le locataire (ou leurs mandataires) au plus tard au moment de l’entrée en jouissance des lieux loués. Plus il est précis, plus il pourra servir de référence en cas de problèmes ultérieurs. Il est daté et signé par les 2 parties au moment où il est établi.

L’état des lieux ne se présente pas nécessairement sous la forme d’un document distinct du contrat de bail, mais il peut aussi résulter d’un échange de correspondance ou d’une clause du contrat.

L’établissement d’un état des lieux d’entrée présente un intérêt pour le locataire et pour le bailleur. En effet, la loi indique qu’à défaut d’avoir établi un état des lieux, le locataire est présumé avoir reçu le logement en bon état locatif et qu’il doit le rendre comme tel (à moins qu’il ne rapporte la preuve que les dégradations existaient déjà au moment de son emménagement). Le propriétaire, quant à lui, ne pourra pas utiliser la garantie locative comme remboursement des dégradations éventuelles occasionnées au logement en l’absence d’état des lieux.

Il arrive souvent que les contrats de bail contiennent une clause selon laquelle le locataire déclare avoir pris les lieux en bon état. Ce genre de clause est valable et signifie pour le locataire qu’en l’absence d’un état des lieux d’entrée, il ne pourra, à la fin du bail, plus en rapporter la preuve contraire. La conséquence est que le locataire devra répondre d’office de toute dégradation locative constatée en fin de contrat.

Partant, dès que le locataire constate des dégradations lors de la première visite de l’appartement, il devra insister pour que ces dégradations soient mentionnées dans un état des lieux. Il ne devra alors en aucun cas signer un contrat stipulant que les lieux loués sont en bon état au moment de l’entrée en jouissance.

Lorsque le locataire constate quelques jours après l'occupation des lieux des dégradations qui n'ont pas été relevées dans un état des lieux, il peut les signaler au bailleur (de préférence via courrier recommandé) mais ce dernier peut refuser la reconnaissance des dégradations et se baser uniquement sur l’état des lieux d’entrée que les 2 parties ont signé.

Un modèle d’un état des lieux fait partie de l’ouvrage "Bail à loyer - La nouvelle législation en matière de bail à usage d'habitation".

Fin du bail

Le bail peut être à durée déterminée ou à durée indéterminée. Un bail qui est conclu pour une durée déterminée sera automatiquement prolongé si aucune des parties n’y a mis un terme. Toutefois, le fait qu’un contrat prévoit une date précise ne signifie pas qu’à cette date le locataire soit obligé de quitter les lieux.

Les règles à respecter en matière de résiliation varient en fonction de la personne souhaitant mettre un terme au bail. En effet, le propriétaire devra respecter des conditions assez restrictives, tandis que le locataire dispose d’une plus grande liberté.

Etat des lieux de sortie

En règle générale, il est établi un état des lieux de sortie au moment où le locataire quitte le logement et rend les clés au bailleur (aussi longtemps que les clés ne sont pas remises au propriétaire, le locataire est censé payer le loyer).

En principe (et sauf stipulation contraire dans le contrat de bail), le locataire s’oblige à rendre les lieux loués dans l'état où il les a reçus.

Les dégradations qui seraient dues à un simple usage normal, à l’usure ou à la vétusté ne sont pas considérées comme des dégâts locatifs (ex. petits trous dans le mur dus à la présence de clous ayant servi à accrocher des tableaux) et ne sauraient être mises à la charge du locataire. Par conséquent, il n’y a pas besoin de les mentionner dans un état des lieux de sortie.

Il n’existe pas d’obligation légale de dresser un état des lieux de sortie, sauf si une garantie locative a été versée.

Restitution de la garantie locative

A la fin du bail et après l’établissement du dernier décompte, le propriétaire restituera la garantie locative au locataire s’il n’a pas de revendications à faire valoir. Si des loyers ou des charges sont restés impayés, il pourra les déduire du montant mis en garantie.

Délai de restitution de la garantie locative

Une garantie locative peut être exigée lorsque :

  • un état des lieux de sortie qui fait suite au constat des lieux d’entrée a été établi ;
  • le locataire a rendu les clefs du lieu loué, puisque la remise des clefs est le moment matérialisant la fin du contrat de bail.

Une fois ces 2 conditions remplies, le locataire est en principe en droit de réclamer la restitution de la garantie locative, sauf s'il était redevable du paiement d’une avance sur charge locative en plus du loyer mensuel.

Dans ce cas, le locataire doit attendre l’établissement du décompte annuel des charges locatives pour obtenir la restitution de la garantie locative.

Toutefois, la loi ne prévoit pas de délai dans lequel un tel décompte doit être soumis par le bailleur au locataire.

Si le locataire estime être en droit de réclamer la restitution de sa caution, il peut agir :

  • tout d’abord en envoyant une lettre de mise en demeure réclamant la restitution de la garantie endéans un délai précis ;
  • puis en agissant judiciairement par voie de requête en bail à loyer.

A noter qu’en pareil cas, le juge est tenu par la loi d’appliquer le mécanisme de la compensation légale entre le montant de la garantie locative et le montant des charges restant dues. Il n’est donc pas certain que le locataire récupère l’entièreté du montant de sa garantie locative à l’issue du litige. Il se peut même que le locataire soit encore redevable d’un certain montant à son bailleur.

Garantie locative comprenant une garantie bancaire

S’il a été convenu dans le contrat de bail que celui-ci serait assorti d’une garantie bancaire dite "à première demande", ou d’une garantie bancaire simple, cette garantie est déposée sur un compte bancaire appartenant au locataire.

Ce compte est productif d’intérêts au profit du locataire, récupérable en fin de bail par ce dernier. Il est également productif de frais bancaires à charge du locataire.

S’il a été convenu dans le contrat de bail que le versement de la garantie bancaire s’opérerait par simple virement sur le compte bancaire du bailleur, les intérêts et frais que produit une telle garantie sur un tel compte s’établissent au profit et à la charge du bailleur.

Organismes de contact

1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 - Luxembourg
Adresse Postale B.P. 31 L-2010
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247 80800
Fax : (+352) 247 90400
E-mail info@aed.public.lu