Tax implications in the event of marriage

This page was last modified on 01-01-2015

This page is currently being updated.

Generally speaking, marriage gives rise to a reduction in a couple's overall tax burden when one of the spouses has little or no income.

The tax implications of marriage differ according to whether the spouses are residents or non-residents. Resident taxpayers and, under certain circumstances, non-resident taxpayers who get married in the course of the year are subject to the following tax benefits in particular:

Taxpayers who live together without being married or being registered as civil partners are taxed individually.

Who is concerned

All married taxpayers, regardless of whether they are residents or non-residents.

How to proceed

Implications of marriage for resident taxpayers

Married taxpayers, regardless of the matrimonial regime chosen by the couple, are eligible for taxation in tax class 2 and are taxed jointly.

In tax class 2, tax is calculated using the "splitting" method:

  • the spouses' income is aggregated;
  • this aggregate income is 'split' in 2 halves;
  • the base rate is applied to each half of the aggregate income;
  • the 2 tax liabilities are then added together.

Taxpayers who are taxed jointly are jointly and severally liable for the payment of tax.

Implications with respect to tax cards (employees or pensioners)

Taxpayers who get married during the course of the year and who are both employees in Luxembourg (or who both receive a taxable pension in Luxembourg) will be issued with 2 new tax cards (carte d’impôt). These cards will be issued automatically by the relevant RTS tax office, based on the data forwarded by the communal administration. No action is required on the part of the taxpayers.

Taxpayers who get married during the course of the year and where one spouse is an employee in Luxembourg and the other receives a taxable pension in Luxembourg, will also receive 2 new tax cards. These cards will be issued automatically by the relevant RTS tax office, based on the data forwarded by the communal administration. No action is required on the part of the taxpayers.

Married employees (or pensioners) will receive 2 tax cards:

  • one main card for the spouse receiving the higher and more stable income, with an entry mentioning that spouse's listing in tax class 2;
  • an additional card for the other spouse, mentioning that it is the second card, and with an entry mentioning that that spouse is listed for a fixed withholding tax rate of 15 %.

Once the cards have been received by the employer, the employees' new status can be taken into consideration for the calculation of the withholding tax on wages (or pensions) with effect from the date of the marriage.

If tax is deducted at source, only one of the spouses is taxed in tax class 2. The tax withholding for the other spouse is calculated by applying the fixed rate of 15 %. This may result in the spouses having to pay a significant amount in additional tax upon receipt of their tax assessment.

If only one of the spouses is an employee in Luxembourg (or is receiving a pension from Luxembourg), that employee or pensioner will automatically receive a new tax card and will be eligible, under certain circumstances, to be taxed in tax class 2 with effect from the date of the marriage.

Implications with respect to the income tax return

Married taxpayers are taxable jointly and must file a joint tax return.

When the marriage takes place during the course of the year, the married taxpayers must file one joint tax return and report their combined income for the entire year. In doing so, their income will be taxed based on tax class 2 criteria for the entire year, effective retroactively as of 1st January.

In filing their joint tax return, married taxpayers are eligible for the following tax benefits in particular:

The extra-professional allowance applies to spouses:

Even those spouses who get married during the course of the year will be eligible for the EUR 4,500 extra-professional allowance and for full tax relief.

The extra-professional allowance is granted automatically by the Luxembourg Inland Revenue. Consequently, the spouses do not need to apply for the allowance in their tax return.

On the other hand, where one of the spouses has been retired for fewer than 3 years, and the other spouse receives earned income, the extra-professional allowance can be claimed by ticking box P2 on page 8 of the tax return form.

Implications with respect to the annual-adjustment procedure

Where the married taxpayers are not in a position to file an income tax return, they can, under certain circumstances, file a request for an adjustment of their withholding tax by way of the annual adjustment procedure.

Married taxpayers are taxable jointly and must file one joint annual adjustment application.

Where the marriage takes place during the course of the year, the spouses must file one annual adjustment application and report their combined income for the entire year. In doing so, their income will be taxed based on tax class 2 criteria for the entire year, effective retroactively as of 1st January.

In filing their annual adjustment application, married taxpayers are eligible for the following tax benefits in particular:

Implications of marriage for non-resident taxpayers

The tax class listed on the tax card of a non-resident employed spouse will be as follows:

In tax class 2, tax is calculated using the "splitting" method:

  • both spouses' incomes are aggregated (if they both receive earned income in Luxembourg, otherwise, only income taxable in Luxembourg is taken into consideration);
  • this aggregate income is 'split' in 2 halves;
  • the base rate is applied to each half of the aggregate income;
  • the 2 tax liabilities are then added together.

Taxpayers who are taxed jointly are jointly and severally liable for the payment of tax.

Implications with respect to tax cards (employees or pensioners)

Taxpayers who get married during the course of the year and who are both employees in Luxembourg (or who both receive a taxable pension in Luxembourg) must have their tax card (carte d’impôt) amended.

Taxpayers who get married during the course of the year and where one spouse is an employee in Luxembourg and the other receives a taxable pension in Luxembourg, must also have their tax cards amended.

In all the aforementioned cases, the spouses must submit a duly completed form 164 NR to the Luxembourg non-residents' RTS tax office, with a copy of their marriage certificate. They will then receive amended tax cards.

Married employees (or pensioners) will receive 2 tax cards:

  • one main card for the spouse receiving the higher and more stable income, with an entry mentioning that spouse's listing in tax class 2;
  • an additional card for the other spouse, mentioning that it is the second card, and with an entry mentioning that that spouse is listed for a fixed withholding tax rate of 15 %.

As soon as these formalities have been completed, the new circumstances can be taken into consideration for the calculation of the withholding tax on wages (or pensions) with effect from the date of the marriage.

If tax is deducted at source, only one of the spouses is taxed in tax class 2. The tax withholding for the other spouse is calculated by applying the fixed rate of 15 %. This may result in the spouses having to pay a significant amount in additional tax upon receipt of their tax assessment.

If only one of the spouses is an employee in Luxembourg (or receives a taxable pension in Luxembourg), that employee must have their tax card amended by the competent authority (see above) in order to be listed in tax class 2 (or 1A where applicable) with effect from the date of marriage.

Implications with respect to the income tax return

When each of the spouses receives earned income in Luxembourg—profit from a business enterprise, agricultural or forestry-related profits, earnings from self-employment or income from paid employment—they are jointly liable for taxation and, generally speaking, must file a joint tax return.

When the marriage took place during the course of the year, spouses who both receive earned income liable for taxation in Luxembourg must file one joint tax return and must report their combined income earned in Luxembourg for the entire year. In doing so, their income will be taxed based on tax class 2 criteria for the entire year, effective retroactively as of 1st January.

Extra-professional tax allowance

In filing their tax return, these married taxpayers will receive the extra-professional allowance of EUR 4,500 per year. Where the tax liability does not cover the whole year, the allowance is reduced to EUR 375 per full month of tax liability.

The extra-professional allowance applies to spouses:

Even those spouses who get married during the course of the year will be eligible for the EUR 4,500 extra-professional allowance and for full tax relief.

The extra-professional allowance is granted automatically by the Luxembourg Inland Revenue. Consequently, the spouses do not need to apply for the allowance in their tax return.

On the other hand, where one of the spouses has been retired for fewer than 3 years, and the other spouse receives earned income, the extra-professional allowance can be claimed by ticking box P2 on page 8 of the tax return form.

If only one of the spouses receives earned income that is taxable in Luxembourg, under certain circumstances, that spouse must file an income tax return reporting only their income from Luxembourg sources.

Treatment of non-resident taxpayers as resident taxpayers

Under certain circumstances, non-resident taxpayers may opt to be treated as resident taxpayers for tax purposes, and may then claim the full tax relief that is generally reserved for residents. Married taxpayers who opt for this tax regime are taxed jointly and must file a joint tax return. They must report all of the household's income earned in Luxembourg or abroad.

In filing a tax return, married taxpayers who opt for this tax regime are eligible for the following tax benefits in particular:

Implications with respect to the annual-adjustment procedure

Where the married taxpayers are not in a position to file an income tax return, they may, under certain circumstances, file a request for an adjustment of their withholding tax by way of the annual adjustment procedure.

Married taxpayers are subject to joint taxation and must file one joint annual adjustment application if both spouses receive a salary (or pension) liable for taxation in Luxembourg.

Where the marriage takes place during the course of the year, the spouses must file one annual adjustment application and report their combined taxable income in Luxembourg for the entire year. In doing so, their income will be taxed based on tax class 2 criteria for the entire year, effective retroactively as of 1st January.

In filing an annual adjustment, married taxpayers are eligible, where applicable, for the extra-professional allowance of EUR 4,500 per year (see above). Where the tax liability does not cover the whole year, the allowance is reduced to EUR 375 per full month of tax liability.

If only one spouse is an employee (or a pensioner) in Luxembourg, that employee/pensioner must file an individual annual adjustment application.

Connaître les implications fiscales en cas de mariage

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 23-01-2013

De manière générale, le mariage entraîne une diminution de la charge d’impôt globale lorsque l’un des époux ne dispose pas (ou très peu) de revenus.

Les implications fiscales en cas de mariage diffèrent selon que les époux sont résidents ou non résidents. Les contribuables résidents et, sous certaines conditions, les contribuables non résidents qui se marient en cours d’année sont soumis notamment aux dispositions fiscales suivantes :

Les contribuables qui vivent ensemble sans être mariés et ne vivant pas en partenariat sont imposables individuellement.

Personnes concernées

Tout contribuable marié, qu'il soit résident ou non résident.

Modalités pratiques

Implications du mariage pour les contribuables résidents

Les contribuables mariés, peu importe le régime matrimonial choisi, bénéficient de la classe d’impôt 2 et sont imposés collectivement.

Sur base de la classe d’impôt 2, l’impôt est calculé selon la méthode du "splitting" :

  • les revenus des deux époux sont additionnés ;
  • ce revenu total est divisé par deux ;
  • le tarif de base est appliqué à chaque moitié ainsi déterminée ;
  • les deux impôts sont ensuite additionnés.

Les contribuables imposés collectivement sont solidairement tenus au paiement de l’impôt.

Implications concernant la fiche ou carte de retenue d'impôt (salarié ou pensionné)

Les contribuables tous les deux salariés au Luxembourg (ou tous les deux recevant une pension imposable au Luxembourg) qui se marient en cours d’année auront 2 nouvelles fiches de retenue d’impôt (carte d’impôt). Ces fiches seront émises automatiquement (sans intervention des contribuables) par le bureau RTS compétent, selon les données transmises par l'administration communale.

Les contribuables dont l’un des époux est salarié au Luxembourg et l’autre reçoit une pension imposable au Luxembourg, qui se marient en cours d’année auront également deux nouvelles fiches. Ces fiches seront émises automatiquement (sans intervention des contribuables) par le bureau RTS compétent selon les données transmises par l'administration communale.

Les salariés (ou pensionnés) mariés recevront 2 fiches de retenue d’impôt :

  • une fiche principale pour l’époux qui reçoit le revenu le plus stable et le plus élevé ainsi que l’inscription de la classe d’impôt 2 ;
  • une fiche additionnelle pour l’autre époux avec la mention 2e fiche ainsi que l’inscription d’un taux de retenue d’impôt fixe de 15 %.

Dès réception des fiches par l'employeur, la nouvelle situation pourra être prise en considération pour le calcul de la retenue à la source sur les salaires (ou les pensions) avec effet à la date du mariage.

Dans le cas de la retenue à la source, la classe d’impôt 2 est appliquée à l’un des époux. La retenue d’impôt de l’autre époux est calculée par application du taux fixe de 15 %. Ceci peut entraîner un supplément d’impôt conséquent à payer lors de la réception du bulletin d’impôt.

Dans l’hypothèse où un seul des époux est salarié au Luxembourg (ou pensionné de source luxembourgeoise), ce dernier recevra automatiquement une nouvelle fiche de retenue d’impôt et bénéficiera de la classe d’impôt 2 avec effet à la date du mariage.

Implications concernant la déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu

Les contribuables mariés sont imposables collectivement et déposent une déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu conjointe.

Lorsque le mariage a eu lieu en cours d’année, les époux mariés doivent déposer une seule déclaration d’impôt conjointe et déclarer l’ensemble de leurs revenus pour toute l’année. Par ce biais, la classe d’impôt 2 leur sera appliquée pour toute l’année avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier.

Dans le cadre de la déclaration d’impôt, les contribuables mariés bénéficient notamment des dispositions fiscales suivantes :

  • de déductions fiscales doublées (par exemple, 672 euros x 2 pour les cotisations et primes d'assurances) ;
  • d’un abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros par an. Lorsque l’assujettissement à l’impôt n’a pas existé durant toute l’année, l’abattement est réduit à 375 euros par mois entier d’assujettissement.

L’abattement extra-professionnel est applicable aux époux :

Même les époux qui se marient en cours d’année bénéficieront de l’abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros et des déductions fiscales en entier.

L’abattement extra-professionnel est accordé d’office par l’Administration des contributions directes. Par conséquent, les époux n’ont pas besoin d’effectuer une inscription correspondante dans leur déclaration d’impôt.

En revanche, lorsque l’un des époux est retraité depuis moins de 3 ans et l’autre époux perçoit un revenu professionnel, l’abattement extra-professionnel sera accordé sur demande en cochant le cadre P2 page 8 du formulaire de la déclaration d’impôt.

Implications concernant le décompte annuel

Lorsque les contribuables mariés ne sont pas dans les conditions pour déposer une déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu, ils peuvent, sous certaines conditions, introduire une demande en régularisation de la retenue d’impôt par le biais du décompte annuel.

Les contribuables mariés sont imposables collectivement et introduisent un seul décompte annuel conjoint.

Lorsque le mariage a eu lieu en cours d’année, les époux mariés doivent introduire un seul décompte annuel et déclarer l’ensemble de leurs revenus pour toute l’année. Par ce biais, la classe d’impôt 2 leur sera appliquée pour toute l’année avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier.

Dans le cadre du décompte annuel, les contribuables mariés bénéficient notamment des dispositions fiscales suivantes :

  • de déductions fiscales doublées (par exemple, 672 euros x 2 pour les cotisations et primes d'assurances) ;
  • le cas échéant, abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros par an (voir ci-dessus). Lorsque l’assujettissement à l’impôt n’a pas existé durant toute l’année, l’abattement est réduit à 375 euros par mois entier d’assujettissement.

Implications du mariage pour les contribuables non résidents

La classe d’impôt inscrite sur la fiche de retenue d’impôt de l’époux salarié non résident au Luxembourg sera comme suit :

Sur base de la classe d’impôt 2, l’impôt est calculé selon la méthode du "splitting" :

  • les revenus des deux époux sont additionnés (s’ils perçoivent tous les deux un revenu professionnel imposable au Luxembourg, sinon seul le revenu imposable au Luxembourg est pris en considération) ;
  • ce revenu total est divisé par deux ;
  • le tarif de base est appliqué à chaque moitié ainsi déterminée ;
  • les deux impôts sont ensuite additionnés.

Les contribuables imposés collectivement sont solidairement tenus au paiement de l’impôt.

Implications concernant la fiche ou carte de retenue d'impôt (salarié ou pensionné)

Les contribuables tous les deux salariés au Luxembourg (ou tous les deux recevant une pension imposable au Luxembourg) qui se marient en cours d’année doivent faire modifier leurs fiches de retenue d’impôt (carte d’impôt).

Les contribuables dont l’un des époux est salarié au Luxembourg et l’autre reçoit une pension imposable au Luxembourg, qui se marient en cours d’année doivent également faire modifier leurs fiches de retenue d’impôt.

Dans tous les cas susvisés, les époux envoient les deux fiches de retenue d’impôt précédemment émises, l’extrait d’acte de mariage ainsi que le formulaire 164 NR dûment complété au bureau d’imposition RTS Luxembourg non résidents. Ils recevront des fiches de retenue d’impôt modifiées.

Les salariés (ou pensionnés) mariés recevront deux fiches de retenue d’impôt :

  • une fiche principale pour l’époux qui reçoit le revenu le plus stable et le plus élevé ainsi que l’inscription de la classe d’impôt 2 ;
  • une fiche additionnelle pour l’autre époux avec la mention 2e fiche ainsi que l’inscription d’un taux de retenue d’impôt fixe de 15 % .

Dès l’accomplissement de ces formalités, la nouvelle situation pourra être prise en considération pour le calcul de la retenue à la source sur les salaires (ou pension) avec effet à la date du mariage.

Dans le cas de la retenue à la source, la classe d’impôt 2 est appliquée à l’un des époux. La retenue d’impôt de l’autre époux est calculée par application du taux fixe de 15 %. Ceci peut entraîner un supplément d’impôt conséquent à payer lors de la réception du bulletin d’impôt.

Dans l’hypothèse où un seul des époux est salarié au Luxembourg (ou reçoit une pension imposable au Luxembourg), ce dernier doit faire modifier sa fiche de retenue d’impôt auprès de l’administration compétente (voir ci-avant) afin de bénéficier de la classe d’impôt 2 (ou 1A le cas échéant) avec effet à la date du mariage.

Implications concernant la déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu

Lorsque chacun des époux perçoit un revenu professionnel imposable au Luxembourg (un bénéfice commercial, un bénéfice agricole et forestier, un bénéfice provenant de l'exercice d'une profession libérale ou un revenu provenant d'une occupation salariée), ils sont imposables collectivement et doivent généralement déposer une déclaration d’impôt conjointe.

Lorsque le mariage a eu lieu en cours d’année, les époux qui reçoivent tous les deux un revenu professionnel imposable au Luxembourg déposent une seule déclaration d’impôt conjointe et doivent déclarer l’ensemble de leurs revenus professionnels luxembourgeois pour toute l’année. Par ce biais, la classe d’impôt 2 leur sera appliquée pour toute l’année avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier.

Abattement extra-professionnel

Dans le cadre de la déclaration d’impôt, ces contribuables mariés bénéficieront d’abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros par an. Lorsque l’assujettissement à l’impôt n’a pas existé durant toute l’année, l’abattement est réduit à 375 euros par mois entier d’assujettissement.

L’abattement extra-professionnel est applicable aux époux :

Même les époux qui se marient en cours d’année bénéficieront de l’abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros et des déductions fiscales en entier.

L’abattement extra-professionnel est accordé d’office par l'Administration des contributions directes. Par conséquent, les époux n’ont pas besoin d’effectuer une inscription correspondante dans leur déclaration d’impôt.

En revanche, lorsque l’un des époux est retraité depuis moins de 3 ans et l’autre époux perçoit un revenu professionnel, l’abattement extra-professionnel sera accordé sur demande en cochant le cadre P2 page 8 du formulaire de la déclaration d’impôt.

Dans l’hypothèse où un seul des époux perçoit un revenu professionnel imposable au Luxembourg, sous certaines conditions, il doit déposer une déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu et déclarer ses seuls revenus de source luxembourgeoise.

Assimilation des contribuables non résidents aux contribuables résidents

Sous certaines conditions, les contribuables non résidents peuvent opter pour un traitement fiscal équivalent à celui des contribuables résidents et peuvent dès lors faire valoir l’intégralité des déductions fiscales en principe réservées aux seuls résidents. Les contribuables mariés qui optent pour ce régime sont imposables collectivement et doivent déposer une déclaration d’impôt conjointe. Ils déclarent tous les revenus du ménage de source luxembourgeoise ou étrangère.

Dans le cadre de la déclaration d’impôt, les contribuables mariés qui optent pour ce régime bénéficient notamment des dispositions fiscales suivantes :

  • de déductions fiscales doublées (par exemple, 672 euros x 2 pour les cotisations et primes d'assurances) ;
  • le cas échéant, d’un abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros par an (voir ci-dessus). Lorsque l’assujettissement à l’impôt n’a pas existé durant toute l’année, l’abattement est réduit à 375 euros par mois entier d’assujettissement.

Implications concernant le décompte annuel

Lorsque les contribuables mariés ne sont pas dans les conditions pour déposer une déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu, ils peuvent, sous certaines conditions, introduire une demande en régularisation de la retenue d’impôt par le biais du décompte annuel.

Les contribuables mariés sont imposables collectivement et introduisent un seul décompte annuel conjoint lorsque les deux époux perçoivent un salaire (ou pension) imposable au Luxembourg.

Lorsque le mariage a eu lieu en cours d’année, les époux mariés doivent introduire un seul décompte annuel et déclarer l’ensemble de leurs revenus imposables au Luxembourg pour toute l’année. Par ce biais, la classe d’impôt 2 leur sera appliquée pour toute l’année avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier.

Dans le cadre du décompte annuel, les contribuables mariés bénéficient le cas échéant, d’un abattement extra-professionnel de 4.500 euros par an (voir ci-dessus). Lorsque l’assujettissement à l’impôt n’a pas existé durant toute l’année, l’abattement est réduit à 375 euros par mois entier d’assujettissement.

Dans l’hypothèse où un seul des époux est salarié au Luxembourg (ou pensionné), ce dernier doit déposer un décompte annuel individuel.