Obtaining a higher-education degree through evening or distance classes

This page was last modified on 17-05-2017

As part of the continuing adult education programmes offered in Luxembourg, there are several courses leading to a university degree.

This means that it is possible to take a university course and study for certain university degrees—Master's degree (Bac + 5 years), or Licence (Bac + 3 years)—while working.

These continuing education courses are offered by:

  • the Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Centre (LLLC), which is the continuing education arm of the Chamber of Employees;
  • the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (the result of the merger between the Henri Tudor and Gabriel Lippmann CRPs);
  • the University of Luxembourg;
  • Sacred Heart University.

The LLLC also collaborates with the British distance learning university, Open University.

In the first two cases, students attend courses at the Luxembourg institution but are enrolled with the partner university, which awards the diploma.

Most of these courses are usually held in the evening and/or during the weekends. Some of them are offered as distance courses (correspondence courses). In addition to hours in class, candidates can expect to have about 12 hours of personal work per week.

Who is concerned

Anyone who wishes to obtain a university degree through continuing education, generally while working.

How to proceed

The Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Centre

The Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Centre (LLLC), in partnership with various French universities, offers 8 diplomas at the Licence (Bac + 3 years) or Master's (Bac + 5 years) level, in various business-related fields, that can be obtained through evening classes. The courses are delivered in French, and the admission requirements may vary from one course of study to another.

The LLLC also collaborates with the British distance learning university, Open University, which offers various programmes leading to Bachelor's (Bac +3) and Master's (Bac +5) degrees. These correspondence courses are delivered in English.

All pre-enrolment forms can be completed online on the LLLC website. After doing so, applicants will receive their application materials and instructions on how to enrol.

Licence in Management Science

The LLLC, in partnership with the Institut d’Administration des Entreprises (IAE) of the University of Lorraine, offers a Licence in Management Science, which aims to produce non-specialist managers that are quickly fully operational and capable of taking up positions of responsibility. The programme provides students with a solid foundation in all disciplines of management sciences while touching on related fields.

Master's in Human Resource Management and Labour Relations

In partnership with the Institut d’Administration des Entreprises (IAE) of Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris 2), the LLLC offers a Master's in Human Resource Management and Labour Relations every two years. The main objective of the course is to train future HR managers. For graduates, career prospects include jobs in management, human resources, and HR assistant functions in organisations of all sizes.

Master's in Business Marketing and Communications

The Master's in Business Marketing and Communications is offered in partnership with Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II). The course prepares graduates to progressively assume responsibility in the areas of advertising, promotional, business, global and integrated communications with advertisers, communication consultancy agencies, advertising agencies and marketing research and consulting companies. It is aimed at individuals who are already knowledgeable in the subject and would like to advance their careers within the profession.

Master's in Banking, Finance, Insurance with a major in Investment Funds and Private Banking

In collaboration with Université Paris Ouest – Nanterre La Défense, the LLLC offers a Master's in Banking, Finance, Insurance with a major in Investment Funds and Private Banking. Classes cover such topics as the prudential banking framework, the financial environment, the investment fund industry, wealth management, and private management.

Open University - Distance university studies

In cooperation with Britain's Open University (OU), the LLLC offers access to a wide range of university courses, at all levels, through distance education. The university offers various Bachelor's (BAC +3 years) and Master's (BAC +5 years) degree programmes delivered in English via correspondence courses. In Luxembourg, the most popular courses are in the fields of management and computer sciences, which are offered through the Open University Business School.

Note that there are specialised non-university courses in various fields such as sophrology, applied law or financial management, most of which are held in the evening.

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology website

The Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (the result of the merger between the Henri Tudor and Gabriel Lippmann CRPs) offers 4 professional Master's degrees (Bac + 5 years) in partnership with universities in the greater region.

These courses allow students to specialise or acquire new skills while continuing to work. It is also possible to gain recognition of past experience through Accreditation of Prior and Experiential Learning (Validation des Acquis Professionnels - VAP).

Master's in Information System Security Management

The aim of the Master's in Information System Security Management is to provide Information System Security managers with the new skills they require to stay on top of their jobs. It also provides additional training for IT specialists and managers who are not specialists in the field. Upon successful completion, a (professional) Master's degree in Information System Security Management is awarded by the University of Luxembourg.

Master's in Computer Science and Innovation

The Master's in Computer Science and Innovation is offered through a partnership between the Facultés Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix de Namur, the Université de Nancy 2 and the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology. The course's main objectives are:

  • the general use of information and communication technologies (ICTs);
  • the implementation of innovation strategies for the development of new products, processes or forms of organisation;
  • the implementation of alliance-formation and networking strategies;
  • the implementation of knowledge management methods and tools.

Students are enrolled at one of the two partner universities.

Master's in Management Science with a major in Quality

The Master's in Management Science with a major in Quality awarded by the University of Metz, is a cross-disciplinary course of study for candidates interested in managerial functions. Coursework focuses on:

  • the strategic activities of a business in terms of the organisation and management of human resources;
  • the use of analytics, modelling and flow simulations to support strategic decisions.

The courses are held in Luxembourg, at the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology.

Master's in Management Science with a major in Logistics and Supply Chain Management

The Master's in Management Science with a major in Logistics and Supply Chain Management is organized jointly by the University of Metz, the Ecole nationale d'ingénieurs de Metz and the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology. It aims to provide students with the knowledge required to manage a logistics team and to master the technical concepts underlying the organisation of a global supply chain, as well as the auditing tools of the trade.

This professional master's degree programme aims to produce 1) Supply Chain managers capable of managing and making the most of their company's entire supply chain, 2) future platform managers, and 3) logistics managers, consultants and auditors capable of taking on new duties and responsibilities to optimise existing supply chains.

Courses offered by the University of Luxembourg and Sacred Heart University.

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg offers several continuing education professional Master's courses, in which candidates are able to combine studies and professional life.

Students can pursue the University's Bachelor's (Bac + 3 years) and Master's (Bac + 5 years) degree courses on a part-time basis, subject to the approval of a programme of study by the director of studies.

Master's of Science in Banking and Finance

The Master of Science in Banking and Finance aims to provide specialist professional training in various banking- and finance-related professions with a view to producing experts in those sectors. Courses are held over four semesters and are delivered English at the Luxembourg School of Finance (which is part of the School of Law, Economics and Finance).

Professional Master's in Gerontology

The Master's in Gerontology is held over 8 semesters and is designed to be taken on a work-study basis. In general, the course comprises 8 dates per semester, with each class lasting 6 hours.

Professional Master's in Mediation

The Master's in Mediation is an 8-semester course primarily aimed at professionals since there is the option to take it on a work-study basis. First and foremost, it provides students with the theoretical and practical foundations of general mediation and conflict resolution.

Professional Master's in Sustainable Development

The Master's in Sustainable Development is a two-year programme designed for students who want to acquire the knowledge they would need to play an effective role in the environmental approach to energy problems.

The Master's degree is organised in partnership with the University of Liège, Arlon Campus (Master' in Environmental Sciences and Management). Student and lecturer mobility allows for an international approach to energy issues and provides an opportunity to learn foreign languages. The course is organised under an ERASMUS agreement.

Sacred Heart University

Master of Business Administration

This MBA course offers majors in finance or management, and is delivered as evening classes.

Who to contact

13, rue de Bragance
L-1255 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 2749 4600
Fax: (+352) 2749 4650
Email formation@lllc.lu

Opening hours
Mon.-Fri. from 8.00 to 17.45

Walton Hall
Milton Keynes
Royaume-Uni


5, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
L-4362 - Esch-sur-Alzette
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 27 58 88 -1
Fax: (+352) 27 58 85
Email info@list.lu

7, rue Alcide de Gasperi / c/o Chambre de Commerce - Building B, 1st floor
L-2981 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 22 76 13
Fax: (+352) 22 76 23
Email arech@shu.lu

Obtenir un diplôme de l'enseignement supérieur en cours du soir ou à distance

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 25-09-2017

Dans le cadre de la formation des adultes, il existe au Luxembourg des cursus dispensés en formation continue et sanctionnés par un diplôme universitaire.

Il est alors possible de poursuivre des études universitaires et de se préparer à certains diplômes universitaires (Master / Bac + 5 ou Licence / Bac + 3), tout en continuant à exercer une activité professionnelle.

Ces cours en formation continue sont proposés par :

  • le Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Center (LLLC), qui est l’organisme de formation continue de la Chambre des salariés ;
  • le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (né de la fusion des CRP Henri Tudor et CRP Gabriel Lippmann) ;
  • l’Université du Luxembourg ;
  • la Sacred Heart University.

Le LLLC collabore également avec l’université britannique d’enseignement à distance, Open University.

Dans les 2 premiers cas, l’étudiant suit les cours auprès de l’organisme luxembourgeois, mais est inscrit auprès de l’université partenaire qui lui délivre le diplôme.

La plupart de ces formations se déroulent en principe le soir et/ou durant le week-end ; certaines d’entre elles sont proposées sous forme de cours à distance (enseignement par correspondance). En plus des heures de formation, les candidats devront compter environ 12 heures de travail personnel par semaine.

Personnes concernées

Sont concernées toutes les personnes souhaitant obtenir un diplôme universitaire en formation continue, en principe parallèlement à une activité professionnelle.

Modalités pratiques

Auprès du Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Center

Le Luxembourg Lifelong Learning Center (LLLC) propose 8 diplômes en cours du soir au niveau Licence (Bac +3) ou Master (Bac +5) en partenariat avec différentes universités françaises, dans divers domaines axés sur l’entreprise. Les cours se déroulent en français et les conditions d’admission peuvent varier d’une formation à l’autre.

Le LLLC collabore également avec l’université britannique d’enseignement à distance, Open University, qui offre différents programmes aboutissant à des diplômes de Bachelor (Bac +3) et Master (Bac +5). Ces cours par correspondance se déroulent en langue anglaise.

Toutes les fiches de préinscription peuvent être remplies en ligne sur le site du LLLC, afin de recevoir le dossier de candidature complet et se faire communiquer toutes les modalités d’inscription.

Licence en Sciences de gestion

Le LLLC offre en partenariat avec l’Institut d’administration des entreprises (IAE) de l’Université de Lorraine une Licence en Sciences de gestion, qui vise à former des généralistes de la gestion rapidement opérationnels et aptes à accéder à des postes à responsabilités. Elle permet aux étudiants d’acquérir une solide culture dans l’ensemble des disciplines des sciences de gestion tout en touchant à des domaines connexes.

Master en Gestion des ressources humaines et relations du travail

En partenariat avec l’Institut d’administration des entreprises (IAE) de l’Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II), le LLLC propose tous les 2 ans un Master en Gestion des ressources humaines et relations du travail. L’objectif principal du cursus est de former des futurs cadres managers de la fonction RH. Les débouchés s'orientent vers des fonctions de management, de direction des ressources humaines, d'adjoint et d'assistant à la fonction RH dans des organisations de toute taille.

Master en Marketing et Communication des entreprises

Le Master en Marketing et Communication des entreprises est proposé en partenariat avec l’Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II). La formation permet l’exercice progressif de responsabilités professionnelles en entreprise dans les domaines de la communication publicitaire, promotionnelle, corporate, globale et intégrée chez l’annonceur, en agences conseil en communication, en régies publicitaires ainsi que dans les sociétés d’études et de conseils en marketing. Elle s’adresse à des personnes, possédant déjà des connaissances en la matière, qui voudraient évoluer au sein de la profession.

Master Banque, Finance, Assurance, parcours Fonds et Gestion privée

En collaboration avec l'Université Paris Ouest - Nanterre La Défense, le LLLC propose un Master en Banque, Finance, Assurance, parcours Fonds et Gestion privée. Les unités d’enseignement porteront sur le cadre prudentiel bancaire, l’environnement financier, l’industrie des fonds d’investissement, l’ingénierie patrimoniale et la gestion privée, etc.

Open University - Etudes universitaires à distance

En coopération avec l'Open University (OU) de Grande-Bretagne, le LLLC propose d’accéder à toutes sortes d'études universitaires à tous les niveaux grâce à l'enseignement à distance. Cette université offre différents programmes aboutissant à des diplômes de Bachelor (BAC +3) et Master (BAC +5) en langue anglaise via des cours par correspondance. Au Luxembourg, les cursus qui rencontrent le plus de succès se situent dans les domaines de la gestion, du management et de l’informatique, notamment via la Open University Business School.

A noter l’existence de formations spécialisées non universitaires dans des domaines variés tels que la sophrologie, le droit appliqué ou la gestion financière, qui se déroulent la plupart du temps en cours du soir.

Auprès du Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology

Le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (né de la fusion des CRP Henri Tudor et CRP Gabriel Lippmann)organise 4 masters professionnels (Bac + 5) en partenariat avec des universités de la grand région.

Ces formations permettent de se spécialiser ou d'acquérir de nouvelles compétences tout en continuant de travailler. Il est également possible de faire reconnaître son expérience par la Validation des Acquis Professionnels (VAP).

Master en Management de la sécurité des systèmes d'information

Le Master en Management de la sécurité des systèmes d'information entend apporter aux responsables de la sécurité des systèmes d’information de nouvelles compétences nécessaires à l’exercice de leur métier. Elle vise également à donner une formation complémentaire aux informaticiens et aux gestionnaires non spécialisés dans ce domaine. La formation est sanctionnée par un Master (professionnel) en management de la sécurité de systèmes d'information, délivré par l'Université du Luxembourg.

Master Informatique et Innovation

Le Master Informatique et Innovation se déroule en partenariat entre les Facultés Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix de Namur, l'Université de Nancy 2 et le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology. Les objectifs principaux de la formation sont :

  • l’utilisation généralisée des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) ;
  • la mise en œuvre de stratégies d’innovation pour le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés ou de nouvelles formes d’organisation ;
  • la mise en œuvre de stratégies d’alliance et de mise en réseau ;
  • la mise en place de méthodes et outils de gestion de la connaissance.

L’étudiant est inscrit à l’une des 2 universités partenaires.

Master en Sciences du management - spécialisation qualité

Le Master en Sciences du management - spécialisation qualité, délivré par l’Université de Metz, est une formation transversale pour les candidats se destinant à des fonctions managériales. La formation se concentre sur :

  • les activités stratégiques de l’entreprise autour de l’organisation et la gestion des ressources humaines ;
  • l'intégration de l’analyse, de la modélisation et de la simulation des flux comme support aux décisions stratégiques.

Les cours ont lieu au Luxembourg au Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology .

Master en Sciences du management - spécialisation logistique Supply Chain management

Le Master en Sciences du management - spécialisation logistique est organisé conjointement par l'Université de Metz, l'Ecole nationale d'ingénieurs de Metz et le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology. Il vise à acquérir les savoirs nécessaires au management d'une équipe logistique et à maîtriser les concepts techniques liés à l'organisation d'une chaîne logistique globale, ainsi que les outils d'audit utilisés dans le métier.

Ce master professionnel a pour vocation de former des Supply Chain managers aptes à gérer et à exploiter l'ensemble de la chaîne logistique de leur entreprise, des futurs responsables de plateforme ainsi que des cadres, consultants et auditeurs logistiques amenés à évoluer dans les contextes d'optimisation des Supply Chain existantes.

Auprès de l'Université du Luxembourg et de la Sacred Heart University

Université du Luxembourg

L’Université du Luxembourg propose plusieurs Masters professionnels en formation continue, où le candidat est en mesure de combiner études et vie professionnelle.

Il existe la possibilité de suivre les cours de niveau Bachelor (Bac +3) et Master (Bac +5) de l’Université, à temps partiel, sous réserve de conception d’un programme d’études en accord avec le directeur d’études.

Master of science in Banking and Finance

Le Master of Science in Banking and Finance vise à donner une formation professionnelle spécialisée dans les différents métiers de la banque et de la finance, afin de former des experts dans chaque secteur. Les cours se déroulent sur 4 semestres et ont lieu en langue anglaise auprès de la Luxembourg School of Finance (qui dépend de la faculté de droit, d’économie et de finance).

Master professionnel en Gérontologie

Le Master en Gérontologie se déroule sur 8 semestres et est destiné à être suivi parallèlement à un emploi. En général, la formation comprend 8 dates par semestre, à raison de 6 heures par cours.

Master professionnel en Médiation

Le Master en Médiation est une formation de 8 semestres qui s’adresse avant tout aux professionnels, puisqu’elle offre la possibilité d’être suivie en cours d’emploi. Il permet d'abord d’acquérir les notions théoriques et pratiques de la médiation générale ainsi que de la résolution de conflits.

Master professionnel en Développement durable

Le Master en Développement durable est une formation de 2 années, qui s’adresse aux étudiants désireux d’acquérir des connaissances en vue de jouer un rôle efficace dans l’approche environnementale des problèmes d’énergie.

Le Master se déroule en collaboration avec l’Université de Liège, Campus d’Arlon (Master en sciences et gestion de l’environnement). La mobilité des étudiants et enseignants permet une approche internationale de la question de l’énergie ainsi qu’une opportunité d’apprentissage des langues étrangères. La formation est organisée dans le cadre d’un accord ERASMUS.

Sacred Heart University

Master of Business Administration

Ce MBA, spécialisé en finance ou management, est organisé en cours du soir.

Organismes de contact

13, rue de Bragance
L-1255 - Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 2749 4600
Fax : (+352) 2749 4650
E-mail formation@lllc.lu

Heures d'ouverture
du lundi au vendredi de 08h00 à 17h45

Walton Hall
Milton Keynes
Royaume-Uni


5, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
L-4362 - Esch-sur-Alzette
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 27 58 88 -1
Fax : (+352) 27 58 85
E-mail info@list.lu

7, rue Alcide de Gasperi / c/o Chambre de Commerce - Bâtiment B, 1er étage
L-2981 - Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 22 76 13
Fax : (+352) 22 76 23
E-mail arech@shu.lu

Université du Luxembourg
2, avenue de l'Université
L-4365 - Esch-sur-Alzette
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 46 66 44 1

Université du Luxembourg
6, rue Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi
L-1359 - Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 46 66 44 5000

Université du Luxembourg
162A, avenue de la Faïencerie
L-1511 - Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 46 66 44 6000

Université du Luxembourg
2, avenue de l'Université
Campus Belval - Maison du Savoir, 5e étage
L-4365 - Esch-sur-Alzette
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 46 66 44 - 5110
Fax : (+352) 46 66 44 - 35110
E-mail seve.infos@uni.lu

Heures d'ouverture
du lundi au vendredi de 13h30 à 16h00 (fermé les matins)