Applying for individual training leave

This page was last modified on 12-09-2012

Individual training leave is a special leave to allow interested persons to attend courses, prepare for and take examinations, or take part in any other activity related to eligible training, with a view to:

  • making a career change;
  • enhancing their competitiveness;
  • extending their knowledge.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

* May be submitted via MyGuichet

Who is concerned

Individual training leave covers all persons engaged in a professional activity in the private sector, namely:

  • employees;
  • self-employed workers;
  • persons engaged in liberal profession.

Prerequisites

To qualify for individual training leave, employees must:

  • be normally employed at a workplace located in Luxembourg;
  • be bound by an employment contract with a business or association legally established and active in the Grand Duchy;
  • have been working for their employer for at least 6 months at the time of the request for leave.

To qualify for individual training leave, self-employed workers and persons engaged in a liberal profession must:

  • be registered for at least 2 years with the Luxembourg social security office;
  • be domiciled professionally in Luxembourg;
  • work in Luxembourg.

Persons requesting training leave do not need to meet any conditions with regard to age or residence.

How to proceed

Presentation of the application

The applicant applies to the Department of Vocational Training (Service de la formation professionnelle) of the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse) 2 months before the requested leave begins. To do this, applicants must:

  • fill in the downloadable form and submit it to the employer for approval (in the case of employees);
  • send the completed form along with the required documents, namely:
    • a certificate of enrolment with the total number of hours (course, examination, etc.);
    • a social security registration certificate;
    • a copy of the employment contract, in the case of employees.

Applicants and their employer should receive a response to the application at least 2 weeks before the start of the leave. Exceptions to the deadlines may be granted if the applicant is required to attend an examination. In such a case, however, it is in the interest of the person concerned to submit their application as soon they become aware of the examination day or days.

Employer's assessment

In the event of a negative response by the employer, as expressed on the form:

  • the leave may be deferred (in practice, only once), if the absence of the employee may have major repercussions that are detrimental to the proper functioning of the company or to the planning of annual leave for the rest of the staff;
  • in practice, an employee whose request is rejected can still send the completed application form to the ministry. The ministry will forward it to an advisory committee, which will issue an opinion on the deferral schedule. The ministry's decision will be based based on that opinion.

Training eligible for individual training leave

Courses in Luxembourg and abroad are eligible if offered by:

  • the professional chambers;
  • by foundations, natural persons and private associations individually approved by the Minister for that purpose;
  • public or private teaching establishments recognised by the public authorities and issuing certificates also validated by said public authorities;
  • the communes;
  • ministries, administrations and public establishments.

Training leave may also be taken for correspondence courses provided by one of the above-mentioned institutions.

Requests for leave for training governed by and co-financed through other legal provisions are not admissible (training included in a training plan or project approved by the Minister, training leave for employee representatives).

The training courses that the applicant wishes to attend need not necessarily be directly related to their work position. They may take place during working hours, evening hours or weekends.

The person taking the training must have the training organisation provide them with a certificate, issued in triplicate, proving that they used the leave for the stated purpose. Two copies of the certificate must be submitted immediately to the employer. The employer must attach a copy of the certificate to their own declaration if they wish to have the allowance paid to the employee during their training refunded.

Calculating the number of days of individual training leave

The total number of days of training leave to which the beneficiary may be entitled depends on the number of hours required for the training. This number of hours is defined by either the training institution or determined on the basis of the course schedule of the school or training institution.

The number of required hours is converted into a number of working days:

  • 8 hours of training is equivalent to one working day;
  • "1 day of training leave" does not, however, correspond to "1 working day", but to one third of a working day. As a result, each 8-hour day of training is divided by 3 to calculate the number of "days of individual training leave";
  • if necessary, the result is rounded down to the nearest whole number.

Example calculation for 30 hours of training:

30 / 8 = 3.75 days of work

3.75 / 3 = 1.25 days of training leave (to be rounded down to the nearest whole number)

A 30-hour training course converts to 1 day of individual training leave.

Maximum and minimum duration of individual training leave

Maximum duration

Each beneficiary has 80 days of training leave that they can take throughout his professional career. No more than 20 days of training leave can be granted over a period of 2 years. Each 2-year period begins with the year of the first individual training leave.

Individuals with a progressive disease requiring them to undergo specific training to ensure either their continued employment or their ability to find employment, are entitled to additional days of training leave, regardless of the number of hours required by their training. 

Minimum duration

The minimum duration of training leave is one day. Therefore, applicants must enrol in a training course providing for at least 24 hours of training to be eligible for individual leave (24 hours / 8 = 3 working days / 3 = 1 day of training leave).

For part-time employees, days of training leave are calculated in proportion to the working time.

Allowances for individual training leave

For each day of leave, employees are entitled to a compensatory allowance, paid by the employer, that is equal to the their average daily salary. This allowance cannot exceed 4 times the social minimum wage for unskilled workers. The employer advances this allowance and is then reimbursed by the State, for both the amount of the allowance and the employer's share of the social contributions.

Persons who are self-employed or exercise a liberal profession are also entitled to a compensatory allowance paid directly by the State. The amount is based on the previous tax year's income which was used to calculate the contribution base for pension insurance and may not exceed 4 times the social minimum wage for unskilled workers.

Impact of individual training leave on work relationships

Training leave is treated as a period of effective work. For the beneficiary training leave, the legal and regulatory provisions in respect of social security and protection from dismissal continue to apply.

The duration of training leave cannot be deducted from annual leave.

Possible sanctions in the event of false declarations

Allowances received must be immediately reimbursed if they have been obtained through knowingly false or incomplete statements made by the beneficiary. The beneficiary must also pay interest at the legal rate for the period ranging from the day the benefits were paid out until the day they were reimbursed.

Reimbursement

At the end of training, self-employed workers and persons in liberal professions need to file an application for reimbursement accompanied by a certificate of attendance and a certificate of income.

For employees, the application for reimbursement is filed by the employer, accompanied by a payslip, an employer's certificate (specifying the exact date(s) of the training leave actually taken), and a certificate of attendance, which the beneficiary of the leave is required to the employer.

Who to contact

Ministry of Education, Children and Youth
29, rue Aldringen
Luxembourg
Postal box L-2926 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247 - 85239
Fax: (+352) 47 41 16
Email info@men.lu

Demander un congé individuel de formation

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 12-09-2012

Le congé individuel de formation est un congé spécial destiné à permettre aux personnes intéressées de participer à des cours, de se préparer puis de participer à des examens ou d’accomplir toute autre activité en relation avec une formation éligible, dans le but de :

  • réorienter leur vie professionnelle ;
  • augmenter leur compétitivité ;
  • perfectionner leurs connaissances.

Formulaires / Services en ligne

Effectuez votre démarche :

* Peut être déposé en ligne via MyGuichet

Personnes concernées

Le congé individuel de formation vise toutes les personnes engagées dans une activité professionnelle du secteur privé, à savoir :

  • les salariés ;
  • les travailleurs indépendants ;
  • les personnes exerçant une profession libérale.

Conditions préalables

Pour bénéficier du congé individuel de formation, les salariés doivent :

  • être normalement occupés sur un lieu de travail situé sur le territoire luxembourgeois ;
  • être liés par un contrat de travail à une entreprise ou association légalement établie et active au Grand-Duché ;
  • avoir une ancienneté de service d’au moins 6 mois auprès de leur employeur au moment de la demande de congé.

Pour bénéficier du congé individuel de formation, les travailleurs indépendants et les personnes exerçant une profession libérale doivent :

  • être affiliés depuis 2 ans au moins à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise ;
  • être domiciliés professionnellement au Luxembourg ;
  • être actifs sur le territoire luxembourgeois.

Les personnes sollicitant un congé-formation ne doivent répondre ni à une condition d’âge, ni à une condition de résidence.

Modalités pratiques

Présentation de la demande

L’intéressé fait sa demande au Service de la formation professionnelle du ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse 2 mois avant le début du congé sollicité. Pour cela, il doit :

  • remplir le formulaire en question téléchargeable et le soumettre pour avis à son employeur (dans le cas du salarié) ;
  • envoyer le formulaire dûment rempli et accompagné des pièces requises, à savoir :
    • un certificat d’inscription à la formation avec le nombre total d’heures (cours, examen, etc.) ;
    • un certificat d’affiliation à la sécurité sociale ;
    • une copie du contrat de travail pour le travailleur salarié.

L’intéressé et son employeur devraient recevoir une réponse à la demande au moins 2 semaines avant le début du congé. Des dérogations aux délais prévus peuvent être accordées si le demandeur doit se présenter à un examen. Dans ce cas cependant, il est dans l’intérêt de la personne concernée de présenter sa demande dès qu’elle a connaissance du ou des jours d’examen.

Avis de l’employeur

En cas d’avis négatif de l’employeur exprimé sur le formulaire :

  • le congé peut être différé (en pratique, une seule fois), si l’absence du salarié risque d’entraîner une répercussion majeure préjudiciable au bon fonctionnement de l’entreprise ou au planning du congé annuel du reste du personnel ;
  • en pratique, le salarié qui se voit opposer un refus de l’employeur peut tout de même envoyer le formulaire de demande dûment rempli au ministère. Ce dernier le transmet à une commission consultative, qui émettra un avis sur les délais de report. Le ministère prendra sa décision en fonction de cet avis.

Formations éligibles pour l’obtention du congé individuel de formation

Sont éligibles les formations proposées aussi bien au Luxembourg qu’à l’étranger :

  • par les chambres professionnelles ;
  • par les fondations, les personnes physiques et associations privées agréées individuellement à cet effet par le ministre  ;
  • par les institutions bénéficiant du statut d’école publique ou privée reconnues par les autorités publiques et délivrant des certificats validés par ces mêmes autorités ;
  • les communes ;
  • les ministères, administrations et établissements publics.

Les cours par correspondance dispensés par l'un des établissements susmentionnés peuvent également faire l'objet d'un congé de formation.

Les demandes de congé pour les formations prévues et cofinancées par d’autres dispositions légales ne sont pas recevables (formations inclues dans un plan ou projet de formation approuvé par le ministre, congé-formation des représentants du personnel).

Les formations que souhaite suivre l’intéressé ne doivent pas nécessairement avoir un lien direct avec le poste de travail occupé. Elles peuvent avoir lieu pendant les heures de travail, en cours de soir ou en cours de weekend.

La personne ayant suivi la formation doit se faire remettre par l’organisme de formation une attestation en triple exemplaire, prouvant qu’il a bien utilisé le congé dans le but déclaré. Deux exemplaires de l’attestation sont à remettre immédiatement à l’employeur. Ce dernier devra joindre un exemplaire à sa déclaration en vue du remboursement de l’indemnité payée au salarié pendant sa formation.

Mode de calcul du nombre de jours de congé individuel de formation

Le nombre total de jours de congé-formation auquel le bénéficiaire peut avoir droit dépend du nombre d’heures investies dans la formation. Ce nombre d’heures est soit défini par l’organisme de formation, soit déterminé sur la base des horaires de cours de l’école ou institut de formation.

Le nombre d’heures investies est converti en nombre de journées de travail :

  • 8 heures de formation équivalent à une journée de travail ;
  • "1 jour de congé formation" ne correspond cependant pas à "1 jour de travail", mais à un tiers de journée de travail. Ainsi, chaque journée de 8 heures de formation est à diviser par 3 pour calculer le nombre de "jours de congé individuel de formation" ;
  • le résultat est arrondi, le cas échéant, à l’unité inférieure.

Exemple de calcul pour une formation de 30 heures :

30 / 8 = 3,75 journées de travail

3,75 / 3 = 1,25 jours de congé-formation (à arrondir à l’unité inférieure)

Une formation de 30 heures donne droit à 1 jour de congé individuel de formation.

Durée maximale et minimale du congé individuel de formation

Durée maximum

Chaque bénéficiaire dispose de 80 jours de congé-formation qu’il peut prendre tout au long de sa carrière professionnelle. Sur une période de 2 ans, le nombre maximal de jours de congé-formation attribuable est de 20 jours. Chaque période de 2 ans commence avec l’année du premier congé individuel de formation.

Les personnes atteintes d'une maladie évolutive qui les contraint à suivre une formation spécifique afin d'assurer soit leur maintien dans l'emploi, soit leur capacité à trouver un emploi, peuvent bénéficier de jours de congé-formation supplémentaires, indépendamment du nombre d'heures investies dans leur formation. 

Durée minimum

La durée minimale du congé-formation est de 1 jour. De ce fait, l’intéressé doit s’inscrire à une formation comprenant au moins 24 heures de cours, afin d’être éligible au congé individuel (24 heures / 8 = 3 jours de travail / 3 = 1 jour de congé formation).

Pour les salariés travaillant à temps partiel, les jours de congé de formation sont calculés proportionnellement.

Indemnités relatives au congé individuel de formation

Les salariés bénéficiant du congé individuel de formation ont droit, pour chaque journée de congé, à une indemnité compensatoire payée par l’employeur, égale au salaire journalier moyen. Cette indemnité ne peut pas dépasser 4 fois le salaire social minimum pour travailleurs non qualifiés. L’employeur avance cette indemnité et ensuite se fait rembourser par l’Etat, tant le montant de l’indemnité que la part patronale des cotisations sociales.

Les personnes exerçant une activité professionnelle indépendante ou libérale bénéficient également d’une indemnité compensatoire payée directement par l’Etat. Elle est fixée sur la base du revenu ayant servi pour le dernier exercice cotisable comme assiette de cotisation pour l’assurance-pension et elle ne peut pas dépasser 4 fois le salaire social minimum pour travailleurs non qualifiés.

Répercussions du congé individuel de formation sur les relations de travail

La durée du congé-formation est assimilée à une période de travail effectif. Pendant la durée du congé, les dispositions légales et réglementaires en matière de sécurité sociale et de protection du travail restent applicables au bénéficiaire.

La durée du congé formation ne peut pas être déduite des jours de congé annuel de récréation.

Sanctions encourues en cas de fausses déclarations

Les indemnités accordées doivent être restituées immédiatement lorsqu’elles ont été obtenues par le biais de déclarations que le bénéficiaire savait inexactes ou incomplètes. Le bénéficiaire doit en outre payer les intérêts au taux légal à partir du jour du paiement jusqu’au jour de la restitution.

Remboursement

A la fin de la formation, l’indépendant / travailleur libéral remplit une déclaration de remboursement accompagnée d’une attestation de participation et d’un certificat de revenu.

Pour les salariés, l’employeur remplit la déclaration de remboursement accompagnée notamment d’une fiche de salaire, d'une attestation patronale (indiquant la/les date(s) exacte(s) du/des jour(s) congé-formation effectivement pris) ainsi que d’un certificat de participation que le bénéficiaire du congé est tenu de lui remettre.

Organismes de contact

Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse
29, rue Aldringen
Luxembourg
Adresse Postale L-2926 Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247 - 85239
Fax : (+352) 47 41 16
E-mail info@men.lu