Registering a child in Level 1 of basic state education (pre-school)

This page was last modified on 11-10-2012

Pre-school education ('Spillschoul' – play school) is for children aged 4-6. It is a 2-year period where attendance is compulsory and free of charge.

Who is concerned

Schooling is compulsory for all children who will be 4 years of age on 1 September of the current year, and therefore old enough to attend pre-school education.

Prerequisites

To be accepted for pre-school education, children must be listed in the census register in the commune of residence, together with their parents/carers (with some possible exceptions).

Children must be registered with the commune's administration or education department, at least 3 months before the start of the new school year.

How to proceed

Pre-school education objectives

Early learning and pre-school education are part of the 1st level of basic education. Basic education consists of 9 years of school, divided into 4 levels. The 1st level comprises one year of early learning where attendance is optional and 2 years of pre-school education which is part of the period of compulsory schooling. The 3 levels below correspond to primary education and each lasts for 2 years. As a general rule, the 1st level lasts for 3 years and is for children aged between 3 and 6.

The 1st level of basic education comprises the following areas of development and learning:

  • logical thinking and mathematics;
  • speech, the Luxembourgish language and language awareness;
  • discovering the world through all the senses;
  • psycho-sensory motor development, physical expression and health;
  • creative expression, cultural and aesthetic awareness;
  • living together and common values.

In Level 1, particular emphasis is placed on learning Luxembourgish, which is the classroom language for this level. 

How pre-school education operates

Pre-school education is organised by the communes. It prepares children for real-life situations and for collective learning, targeting their development as a whole, as well as educational and social integration. Teaching activities stimulate mental, cognitive, linguistic, creative and motor development. One of the main priorities is the learning of Luxembourgish.

Throughout the school year preceding the move to primary education, pre-school education gradually incorporates specific activities laying the groundwork for literacy in German and learning mathematics.

Core skills and school pathway

In principle, all pupils subject to compulsory schooling go through a 2-year basic education cycle (the standard duration of an education cycle). Over these 2 years, learning, in terms of skills to be acquired, is defined by a study plan. Core skills (general skills as well as specific skills in mathematics and languages) are defined as the knowledge, abilities and competencies that all pupils must possess and be capable of applying at the end of each learning level.

At the end of each level, the knowledge and skills that the pupil needs to have acquired in order to advance to the next level are assessed.

In exceptional circumstances, levels may be shortened or extended by one year. If it becomes clear that a student is unable to acquire the basic skills needed within 2 years, an adapted programme spread over 3 years is established by the teaching staff. In these cases, children are not merely held back a year, but receive education adapted to their learning needs.

Similarly, the educational team may decide that pupils who, after one year of education, reach the targets set for the end of the level, can be admitted to the next level. These types of decision must, however, only be taken under extraordinary circumstances by teachers and parents working in close consultation.

For pupils with severe learning difficulties who are at risk of not acquiring the core skills at the end of the level, an individualised educational plan is compiled by the school inclusion commission (commission d’inclusion scolaire).

Support measures for pupils with learning difficulties range from adapting the instruction and support provided by classroom teachers to being taught in a special education class, which is an integral part of basic education.

End-of-level assessment and interim assessment

At the end of each level, the degree of skill the child has reached is assessed: this is referred to as the end-of-level assessment.

During the 1st level, parents are given an interim assessment, on a quarterly basis, showing their child's progress in terms of skills development. The assessment is made without giving a grade.

Pre-school timetable

Lesson times

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

08:00-11:45

08:00-11:45

08:00-11:45

08:00-11:45

08:00-11:45

14:00-16:00

14:00-16:00

14:00-16:00

This timetable may vary slightly from one commune to another: some communes have adopted a staggered timetable for reasons of transport to and from school.

Without exception, the start time is between 08:00 and 09:00. Unlike early learning, the child's attendance at school is compulsory during class hours.

School transport

Generally speaking, school transport is provided free of charge by the communal administration.

Extra-curricular activities

Each commune offers extra-curricular activities – notably learning, cultural and sporting activities – with the aim of supporting pupils in their learning and contributing to their social development.

Extracurricular activities are provided by the school and/or by State-approved organisations offering socio-educational activities (social centres – maison relais). In that case, enrolment is managed by the social centre directly.

Communes may amend the timetable in one or more schools to incorporate extracurricular activities within one continuous school day, alternating between school learning and extracurricular activities.

Enrolling a child in a school within the school catchment area for their place of residence

Enrolment deadlines

Fathers, mothers, guardians or any other person caring for children who will be 4 years old on 1 September of the current school year must register their child on the list of children eligible for the 1st year of pre-school at least 3 months before the start of the new school year. Children are, in principle, enrolled in schools according to the catchment area for where they live.

Parents receive a letter from the commune's education/administration department, advising them on how to proceed, along with an enrolment form.

Parents who have not received an invitation to enrol by 15 April, and all those moving into the commune after 1 March, must contact the commune's education department directly.

Documents to be provided

Parents can formally enrol with the commune's administration department (or with the education/schooling department directly), bringing the following:

  1. the family record book;
  2. the child's birth certificate;
  3. a duly completed enrolment form.

Admission and allocation

From May onwards, the communal administration allocates children to different groups and available sites, attempting to place children in the schools closest to where they live.

Before the start of the new school year, the administration department notifies parents of the school that their child has been allocated.

Enrolment in a school outside the commune of residence

Parents of children in basic education may ask for their child to be admitted to a school in another commune by sending a written request, listing their reasons, to the board of the mayor and aldermen of the commune where they intend to enrol their child. The board honours the request if the educational organisation of the host commune is in agreement, once the reasons for the application have been verified by the relevant departments.

The following are considered valid reasons:

  • children being cared for by a family member, up to and including a 3rd-degree relative;
  • children being cared for by a third party acting as a State-approved childminder;
  • children being cared for by a State-approved organisation in the socio-educational field;
  • the location of the parents' place of work.

If the host commune agrees to the request, the commune of origin pays for the cost of educating the child in the host commune.

Change of school or place of residence during the school year

Parents, or those with parental responsibility for the child, must notify class teachers, as well as the commune's schooling department, of any change of school or residence during the school year. They must also be notified of the new contact details of the establishment where the child will continue their schooling.

To enrol a child in a school outside the catchment area for their place of residence/outside the commune where they live, see 'Enrolling a child in a school outside the catchment area for their place of residence'.

Registering a child in the 'Eis Schoul' alternative education structure.

Situated in Luxembourg-City, the Eis Schoul structure is based on the principles of inclusive education and develops new teaching and assessment methods, in close collaboration with the University of Luxembourg. Inclusive education consists of the full participation of all pupils in all aspects of school life, irrespective of their individual socio-cultural, physical, sensory and social and emotional characteristics.

Placing the emphasis on the appreciation of linguistic and cultural diversity, Eis Schoul is organised in full-day sessions. Its aim is to prepare its pupils for the transition between pre-school education and 'traditional' post-primary education and for the challenges posed by the society of the future.

At least 10 % of Eis Schoul pupils have special needs (impairments/disabilities).

For information on pre-registration, please contact the school establishment directly. As the school is in Luxembourg City, priority is given to children living in the commune.

Who to contact

Ministry of Education, Children and Youth
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Postal box L-2926 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247-85151
Fax: (+352) 247-85123
Email info@men.lu

47, rue des Maraîchers
L-2124 - Luxembourg Kirchberg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 4796 6327
Fax: (+352) 2643 1658
Email info@eisschoul.lu

Inscrire un enfant au cycle 1 de l'enseignement fondamental public (préscolaire)

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 11-10-2012

L’éducation préscolaire ("d’Spillschoul" en luxembourgeois) s’adresse aux enfants de 4 à 6 ans. Elle comprend une période de 2 années dont la fréquentation est obligatoire et gratuite.

Personnes concernées

Tous les enfants âgés de 4 ans révolus au 1er septembre de l’année en cours, et donc en âge de fréquenter l’enseignement préscolaire, sont soumis à l’obligation de scolarisation.

Conditions préalables

Pour être admis à l’enseignement préscolaire, l'enfant doit avoir été préalablement inscrit au registre de la population de la commune de résidence avec ses parents / la personne responsable (des exceptions sont possibles).

Les inscriptions se font auprès du secrétariat ou du service enseignement de la commune 3 mois au moins avant la rentrée scolaire.

Modalités pratiques

Objectifs de l'enseignement préscolaire

Avec l’éducation précoce, l’éducation préscolaire fait partie du 1er cycle d’apprentissage de l’enseignement fondamental. L’enseignement fondamental comprend 9 années de scolarité, réparties en 4 cycles d’apprentissage. Le 1er cycle comprend une année d’éducation précoce dont la fréquentation est facultative et 2 années d’éducation préscolaire faisant partie de l’obligation scolaire. Les 3 cycles suivants correspondent à l’enseignement primaire et ont chacun une durée de 2 ans. En règle générale, le 1er cycle prend en charge durant 3 ans les enfants âgés de 3 à 6 ans.

Le 1er cycle de l’enseignement fondamental comprend les domaines de développement et d’apprentissage suivants :

  • le raisonnement logique et mathématique ;
  • le langage, la langue luxembourgeoise et l’éveil aux langues ;
  • la découverte du monde par tous les sens ;
  • la psychomotricité, l’expression corporelle et la santé ;
  • l’expression créatrice, l’éveil à l’esthétique et à la culture ;
  • la vie en commun et les valeurs.

Au cycle 1, une importance particulière est accordée à l'apprentissage du luxembourgeois, langue de communication de ce cycle. 

Fonctionnement de l'enseignement préscolaire

L’éducation préscolaire est organisée par les communes. Elle prépare l’enfant à des situations de vie et à un apprentissage dans la collectivité, en visant son développement global, son intégration sociale et scolaire. Les activités pédagogiques stimulent le développement mental, cognitif et langagier, créateur et moteur. Un objectif prioritaire est l'apprentissage de la langue luxembourgeoise.

Pendant l’année scolaire qui précède le passage à l’enseignement primaire, l’éducation préscolaire intègre graduellement des activités spécifiques préparant à l’alphabétisation en allemand et à l’apprentissage des mathématiques.

Socles de compétences et parcours scolaire

En principe, chaque élève soumis à l’obligation scolaire parcourt un cycle de l’enseignement fondamental en 2 années, qui est la durée normale d’un cycle. Durant ces 2 ans, les apprentissages sont définis dans un plan d’études en termes de compétences à acquérir. Les socles de compétences (transversales et de compétences disciplinaires en mathématiques et en langues) définissent les connaissances, habiletés et compétences que tous les élèves doivent posséder et être capables d’appliquer à la fin de chaque cycle d’apprentissage.

A la fin de chaque fin de cycle, les connaissances et compétences, que l’élève devra avoir acquises, sont établies pour avancer au cycle suivant.

Exceptionnellement, un cycle peut être réduit ou allongé d’un an. S’il s’avère qu’un élève n’arrive pas à atteindre le socle de compétences en 2 ans, un programme adapté étalé sur 3 ans est établi par l’équipe pédagogique. Dans ce cas, il ne s’agit pas d’un redoublement en tant que tel, mais l’élève reçoit un enseignement adapté à ses besoins d’apprentissage.

De même, sur décision de l’équipe pédagogique, un élève qui, après une année d’enseignement, maîtrise les objectifs définis pour la fin du cycle peut être admis au cycle suivant. Ce type de décision doit cependant garder un caractère extraordinaire et être prise par les enseignants en étroite concertation avec les parents.

Pour les élèves en graves difficultés d’apprentissage risquant de ne pas atteindre les socles de compétences à la fin du cycle, un plan de prise en charge individualisé est élaboré par la commission d’inclusion scolaire.

Les mesures d'aide aux élèves qui ont des difficultés d'apprentissage vont de l'adaptation de l'enseignement et de l'appui par les enseignants de la classe à la poursuite de l'enseignement dans une classe de l'Education différenciée, qui fait partie intégrante de l'enseignement fondamental.

Bilan de fin de cycle et bilan intermédiaire

A la fin de chaque cycle, un bilan montre quel niveau de compétence l’enfant a atteint : c’est le bilan de fin de cycle.

Au cours du 1er cycle, un bilan intermédiaire informe trimestriellement les parents sur la progression de l’enfant dans l’acquisition de ses compétences. L’évaluation s’effectue sans notes.

Horaires des cours dans le préscolaire

Horaire des cours

Lundi

Mardi

Mercredi

Jeudi

Vendredi

8h00-11h45

8h00-11h45

8h00-11h45

8h00-11h45

8h00-11h45

14h00-16h00

14h00-16h00

14h00-16h00

Cet horaire peut légèrement varier d'une commune à l'autre : certaines d’entre elles ont adopté, pour des raisons de transport scolaire, un horaire décalé.

Sauf exception, l’heure d’arrivée des enfants se situe entre 8h00 et 9h00. Contrairement à l'éducation précoce, la présence de l'enfant à l'école est obligatoire pendant les heures de classe.

Transport scolaire

En général, le transport scolaire est assuré gratuitement par l'administration communale.

Encadrement périscolaire

Chaque commune offre un encadrement périscolaire, proposant notamment des activités d’apprentissage, d’animation culturelle et sportive, dans le but d’accompagner les élèves dans leurs apprentissages et de contribuer à leur développement social.

L’encadrement périscolaire est assuré par l’école et/ou par un organisme assurant l’accueil socioéducatif (maison relais) agréé par l’Etat. Dans ce cas, les inscriptions sont gérées directement par la maison-relais.

Les communes peuvent intégrer, dans le cadre d’une ou de plusieurs écoles, les activités d’encadrement périscolaire dans un horaire scolaire aménagé visant la mise en place de la journée continue, en alternant des séquences d’apprentissage scolaire et des séquences d’encadrement.

Inscription de l'enfant dans une école du ressort scolaire

Délais d’inscription

Le père, la mère, le tuteur ou toute autre personne qui a la garde d’un enfant âgé de 4 ans révolus avant le 1er septembre de l’année en cours, devra faire inscrire son enfant 3 mois au moins avant la rentrée des classes sur la liste des enfants admissibles en 1re année préscolaire. L’enfant est en principe inscrit dans l’école communale dépendant de son ressort scolaire (déterminé en fonction du lieu de résidence).

Un courrier du service de l'enseignement / de l’administration communale accompagné d’un formulaire d’inscription informe les parents de la marche à suivre.

Les parents n'ayant pas reçu de convocation d'inscription pour le 15 avril et tous ceux qui ont établi leur résidence dans la commune après le 1er mars doivent contacter directement le service de l'enseignement de la commune.

Documents à fournir

Les parents s’adressent au secrétariat communal (ou directement au service de l’enseignement / département scolaire) pour les formalités d’inscription, munis :

  1. du livret de famille ;
  2. de l’acte de naissance de l’enfant ;
  3. du formulaire d’inscription dûment rempli.

Admission et répartition

A partir du mois de mai, l’administration communale procède à la répartition des enfants dans les différents groupes et sur les sites disponibles, en essayant de placer les enfants au plus près de leur lieu de résidence.

Avant le début de l’année scolaire, elle communique aux parents dans quel établissement l’enfant pourra être accueilli.

Inscription dans une autre école que celle de la commune de résidence

Les parents d'élèves de l'enseignement fondamental peuvent demander l'admission de leur enfant dans une école d'une autre commune en adressant une demande écrite dûment motivée au collège des bourgmestre et échevins de la commune où ils entendent inscrire leur enfant. Celui-ci donne suite à la demande si l'organisation scolaire de la commune d'accueil le permet et après vérification des motifs par les services compétents.

Sont considérés comme motifs valables :

  • la garde de l'enfant par un membre de la famille jusque et y compris le 3e degré ;
  • la garde de l'enfant par une tierce personne exerçant une activité d'assistance parentale agréée par l'Etat ;
  • la garde de l'enfant par un organisme œuvrant dans le domaine socio-éducatif agrée par l'Etat ;
  • la situation du lieu de travail d'un des parents.

Dans le cas où la commune d'accueil accepte la demande, la commune d'origine prend en charge les frais de scolarité de l'enfant dans la commune d'accueil.

Changement d’école ou de résidence en cours d’année

Tout changement d’école ou de résidence en cours d’année doit être mentionné au titulaire de classe et au département scolaire de la commune par le parent ou la personne responsable de l’enfant. Il conviendra également de transmettre les nouvelles coordonnées de l'établissement où l’enfant poursuivra sa scolarité.

Pour inscrire l'enfant dans une école hors du ressort scolaire / d'une autre commune que celle de résidence, voir "Inscrire un enfant dans une école hors du ressort scolaire".

Inscrire un enfant dans la structure pédagogique alternative "Eis Schoul"

Située à Luxembourg-Ville, la structure Eis Schoul se fonde sur les principes de la pédagogie inclusive et développe de nouvelles formes d’enseignement et d’évaluation dans le cadre d’une collaboration étroite avec l’Université du Luxembourg. La pédagogie inclusive consiste en la pleine participation de l’ensemble des élèves à tous les aspects de la vie scolaire, indépendamment de leurs particularités sur les plans socioculturel, physique, sensoriel et socio-affectif.

Mettant l’accent sur la valorisation de la diversité linguistique et culturelle, Eis Schoul est organisée en journée continue. Son objectif est de préparer ses élèves dès le cycle préscolaire à l’enseignement postprimaire « traditionnel » et aux défis de la société de demain.

Eis Schoul se propose également d'accueillir parmi ses élèves au moins 10 % d'enfants à besoins spéciaux (enfants atteints de déficiences / handicaps).

Pour tout renseignement relatif à la préinscription, il convient de contacter directement l'établissement scolaire. Comme l’école est implantée à Luxembourg-Ville, une priorité est accordée aux élèves résidents de la commune.

Organismes de contact

Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Adresse Postale L-2926 Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247-85151
Fax : (+352) 247-85123
E-mail info@men.lu

47, rue des Maraîchers
L-2124 - Luxembourg Kirchberg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 4796 6327
Fax : (+352) 2643 1658
E-mail info@eisschoul.lu