Enrolling a child with special educational needs in the ordinary basic education system

This page was last modified on 29-05-2012

From the age of 4, attending school to obtain a basic education is mandatory for all children. Basic education consists of 9 years of school, divided into 4 levels. It begins with Level 1—formerly known as early-childhood or preschool education—and continues with Level 2, Level 3, and Level 4, formerly known as primary school. In principle, each level lasts 2 years.

When a child with special educational needs reaches the age of entry into basic education, assistance measures adapted to the child's learning difficulties will be offered, ranging from adapting the instruction and support provided by classroom teachers, to education in a special education class, which is an integral part of basic education.

Who is concerned

All children aged 4 and 6 by 31 August of the year in progress, and therefore old enough to attend basic education, are in principle subject to mandatory schooling.

Prerequisites

To be admitted into the ordinary state education system, children must:

  • have been registered in advance in the population register of the commune in which they live with their parents or guardian;
  • have reached the age of 4 by 31 August of the year in progress in order to enrol in a basic education class (preschool education);
  • have reached the age of 6 by 31 August of the year in progress in order to enrol in a basic education class.

How to proceed

Parental choice and support

Parents may:

  • either register the child in a special school for special education;
  • or opt for full- or part-time inclusion in ordinary education system;
  • or, where applicable, opt for placement in an institution accredited abroad.

In making their choice, they receive guidance and support from the School Inclusion Commission (Commission d'inclusion scolaire - CIS), which proposes an educational plan tailored to their child's needs. The commission comprises, among others, the district inspector, a teacher and 3 members of a multi-disciplinary team (composed of psychologists, psycho-motor therapists, and educators) who will design an educational plan for the child, either at the parents' request, or at the request of the teacher, with the parents' approval.

Educational support and differentiation

Basic education requires collaborative work between teachers and their colleagues at the same level so that they can adapt their teaching in line with their students' needs. This is known as "differentiation". For example, additional help, called educational support, may be provided to students experiencing difficulties: it may be provided individually by the teacher or to a group of students having similar difficulties, during or after school hours.

In the case of learning difficulties, a level may be extended by one year. If it becomes clear that a student is unable to acquire the basic skills needed within 2 years, an adapted programme spread over 3 years is established by the teaching staff. In these cases, children are not just held back a year, but receive education adapted to their learning needs.

For specific needs such as dyslexia, hyperactivity, or a physical disability, the educational team will seek the assistance of the specialists in the multi-disciplinary team (which comprises basic education teachers as well as special education and Speech Therapy Centre staff).

The necessary support will be allocated by a commission, known as the School Inclusion Commission, whose members include a district inspector, experts from the multi-disciplinary team, and, if necessary, a doctor and a social worker.

In-depth diagnostic evaluation for children with specific needs

If a problem is detected, the role of the School Inclusion Commission is to devise, at the request either of the parents or the teacher (with the parents' prior consent), a plan for the child's education.

To do this, the commission has an in-depth diagnostic evaluation carried out by:

  • the classroom teacher, in conjunction with the educational team;
  • members of the relevant multi-disciplinary team;
  • where applicable, members of the organisations (recognised by the Ministry) that are working or have worked with the child.

This diagnostic evaluation includes, in particular:

  • an assessment of the child's cognitive, physical, psychological, educational, and social needs;
  • the aid that may be granted;
  • a personalised educational plan.

Other examinations and reports may be requested, in particular to determine any specific disability diagnosed by specialists.

Personalised educational plan

A personalised educational plan is prepared by the multi-disciplinary team in conjunction with the classroom teacher and/or the educational team, after consulting with the parents.

The plan may recommend:

  • adapting the instruction given in class by the classroom teacher working in conjunction with the educational team (teaching staff and educational staff in charge of classes in the same level);
  • in-class assistance by one of more members of the multi-disciplinary team working with the educational team for the duration of the intervention;
  • temporary transfer into another class for certain subjects;
  • instruction in a special education class;
  • education in a special school or institution in Luxembourg or abroad.

The plan may also mention additional aid granted to ensure academic support for the child. If applicable, it may provide for necessary adaptations and adjustments concerning the skills to be acquired and the means of assessment to be used.

The plan is submitted to the parents for their approval. The CIS has the plan reviewed annually and incorporates any changes deemed necessary to ensure that the student continues to make progress at school. With respect to the last 2 points, the student's file must be sent to the National Medical School Commission (Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique - CMPPN) for approval.

Contact person for the parents

For each student brought to its attention, the CIS appoints, from among its members, a contact person who, together with the district inspector, supervises the collaboration between the school staff, the non-instructional staff, the members of the relevant multi-disciplinary team, and the members of the relevant Medical School Commission in question.

This person is the contact person for the student and the parents. The parents and the classroom teacher in question are informed of the recommended procedures and are involved in the measures proposed in the student's interest.

Recourse in the event of disagreement

In the parents disagree with the CIS's proposed plan, as approved by the National Medical School Commission, where applicable, they may appeal to the Minister, who will submit the file to a group of experts that the Minister appoints.

The group of experts may either agree with the CIS's proposed plan or make an alternative proposal.

Who to contact

Ministry of Education, Children and Youth
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Postal box L-2926 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247-85151
Fax: (+352) 247-85123
Email info@men.lu

Inscrire un enfant à besoins éducatifs spécifiques dans l’éducation ordinaire de l'enseignement fondamental

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 29-05-2012

Dès 4 ans, la fréquentation de l'enseignement fondamental est obligatoire pour tous les enfants. L’enseignement fondamental comprend 9 années de scolarité, réparties en 4 cycles d’apprentissage. Il débute avec le 1er cycle de l'ancienne éducation précoce/enseignement préscolaire, et se poursuit avec les 2e, 3e et 4e cycles constituant l’ancien enseignement primaire. Chaque cycle d’apprentissage a en principe une durée de 2 ans.

Quand un enfant à besoins éducatifs spécifiques atteint l’âge d’intégrer l’école fondamentale, des mesures d'aide adaptées à ses difficultés d’apprentissage lui sont proposées, allant de l'adaptation de l'enseignement et de l'appui par les enseignants de la classe à la poursuite de l'enseignement dans une classe de l'Education différenciée, qui fait partie intégrante de l'enseignement fondamental.

Personnes concernées

Tous les enfants âgés de 4 et 6 ans révolus au 31 août de l’année en cours, et donc en âge de fréquenter une classe de l’enseignement fondamental, sont en principe soumis à l’obligation de scolarisation.

Conditions préalables

Pour être admis dans l’enseignement ordinaire public, l'enfant doit :

  • avoir été préalablement inscrit au registre de la population de la commune de résidence avec ses parents / la personne responsable ;
  • avoir atteint l’âge de 4 ans au 31 août de l’année en cours afin d’intégrer une classe de l’enseignement fondamental (éducation préscolaire) ;
  • avoir atteint l’âge de 6 ans au 31 août de l’année en cours afin d’intégrer une classe de l’enseignement fondamental.

Modalités pratiques

Choix des parents et accompagnement

Les parents peuvent :

  • soit l’inscrire dans un établissement spécialisé de l’Education différenciée ;
  • soit opter pour l’intégration partielle ou totale dans l'enseignement ordinaire ;
  • le cas échéant, se décider pour un placement dans une institution agréée à l’étranger.

Lors de leur choix, ils se voient notamment guider et accompagner par la Commission d'inclusion scolaire (CIS) qui propose une orientation scolaire adaptée aux besoins de l’enfant. Composée entre autres par l'inspecteur de l'arrondissement, d'un instituteur et de 3 membres de l'équipe multiprofessionnelle (rassemblant psychologues, psychomotriciens ou éducateurs), cette commission a pour mission de définir, soit à la demande des parents, soit à la demande de l’instituteur et pour autant que les parents aient marqué leur accord, la prise en charge des élèves en question.

Appui pédagogique et différenciation

L’école fondamentale implique un travail de concertation entre l’instituteur et ses collègues du même cycle, afin de pouvoir adapter leur enseignement aux élèves. On parle de "différenciation". Ainsi, une aide supplémentaire, appelée appui pédagogique, peut être apportée à l’élève qui a des difficultés : il peut se faire aider individuellement par l’instituteur ou avec un groupe d’élèves aux difficultés similaires, pendant ou après les heures de cours.

En cas de difficultés d’apprentissage, un cycle peut être allongé d’un an. S’il s’avère qu’un élève n’arrive pas à atteindre le socle de compétences en 2 ans, un programme adapté étalé sur 3 ans est établi par l’équipe pédagogique. Dans ce cas, il ne s’agit pas d’un redoublement en tant que tel, mais l’élève reçoit un enseignement adapté à ses besoins d’apprentissage.

Pour des besoins spécifiques comme la dyslexie, l’hyperactivité ou une déficience physique, l’équipe pédagogique a recours à l’aide des spécialistes de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle (équipe regroupant des instituteurs de l’enseignement fondamental ainsi que du personnel de l’Education différenciée et du Centre de logopédie).

Les aides nécessaires sont allouées par une commission, appelée Commission d’inclusion scolaire, et composée d’un inspecteur d’arrondissement, d’experts de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle et le cas échéant, d’un médecin et d’un assistant social.

Diagnostic approfondi d’un enfant aux besoins spécifiques

En cas de détection d’un problème, la commission d’inclusion scolaire (CIS) a pour mission de définir, soit à la demande des parents, soit à la demande de l’instituteur (à condition que les parents aient donné préalablement leur accord), la prise en charge de l’élève concerné.

Pour ce faire, elle fait établir un diagnostic approfondi par :

  • le titulaire de classe en concertation avec l’équipe pédagogique ;
  • des membres de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle concernée ;
  • le cas échéant, des membres d’organismes (reconnus par le ministère) assurant ou ayant assuré la prise en charge de l’enfant.

Ce diagnostic comprend notamment :

  • un diagnostic des besoins de l’élève, portant sur les volets cognitif, physique, psychologique, pédagogique et social ;
  • les aides qui peuvent lui être attribuées ;
  • un plan de prise en charge individualisé.

D’autres bilans et rapports peuvent être demandés, renseignant notamment le handicap éventuel spécifique et établis par des spécialistes.

Plan de prise en charge individualisé

Le plan de prise en charge individualisé est élaboré par l’équipe multiprofessionnelle en collaboration avec le titulaire de classe et/ou l’équipe pédagogique, après concertation avec les parents.

Le plan peut préconiser :

  • l’adaptation de l’enseignement en classe assuré par le titulaire de classe en collaboration avec l’équipe pédagogique (personnel enseignant et personnel éducatif en charge des classes d’un même cycle) ;
  • l’assistance en classe par un ou des membres de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle rattachée pour la période d’intervention à l’équipe pédagogique ;
  • le séjour temporaire pour l’apprentissage de certaines matières dans une classe autre que la classe d’attache ;
  • l’enseignement dans une classe de l’Education différenciée ;
  • l’enseignement dans une école ou institution spécialisée au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger.

Le plan peut également mentionner les aides supplémentaires attribuées pour assurer l'encadrement scolaire de l'enfant. Le cas échéant, il prévoit les adaptations et les aménagements nécessaires concernant les compétences à atteindre et les modalités d'évaluation à appliquer.

Le plan est soumis aux parents pour accord. La CIS fait évaluer annuellement le plan et y intègre les adaptations jugées nécessaires pour assurer le progrès scolaire de l’élève. Concernant les 2 derniers points, le dossier est transmis pour approbation à la commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale (CMPPN).

Interlocuteur de référence des parents

La CIS désigne en son sein pour chaque élève qui lui est signalé, une personne de référence qui, conjointement avec l’inspecteur d’arrondissement, veille à la collaboration entre le personnel de l’école, le personnel d’encadrement périscolaire, les membres de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle concernés et les membres de l’équipe médico-socio-scolaire concernée.

Cette personne est l’interlocuteur de l’élève et de ses parents. Les parents et le titulaire de classe concernés sont informés de la démarche préconisée et associés aux mesures proposées dans l’intérêt de l’élève.

Recours en cas de désaccord

En cas de désaccord avec la proposition de prise en charge de la CIS, approuvée le cas échéant par la commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale, les parents peuvent s’adresser au ministre qui soumet le dossier à un groupe d’experts qu’il nomme.

Le groupe d’experts peut soit se rallier à la proposition de prise en charge de la CIS, soit faire une proposition alternative.

Organismes de contact

Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Adresse Postale L-2926 Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247-85151
Fax : (+352) 247-85123
E-mail info@men.lu