Enrolling a child with special educational needs in Differentiated Instruction

This page was last modified on 11-10-2012

From the age of 4, attending primary school to obtain a basic education is mandatory for all children. Basic education consists of 9 years of school, divided into 4 levels. It begins with Level 1—formerly known as early learning or preschool education—and continues with Level 2, Level 3, and Level 4, which, together, make up primary school. In principle, each level lasts 2 years.

When a child with special educational needs (SEN) reaches the age of entry into basic education, assistance measures suited to the child's learning difficulties will be offered, ranging from adapting the instruction and support provided by teachers in the classroom to inclusion in a special education class, which is an integral part of basic education.

Who is concerned

All children aged 4 and 6 by 31 August of the year in progress, and therefore old enough to attend basic education (preschool and primary school), are, in principle, subject to mandatory schooling. Upon the parents' request, however, it is possible to delay a child's entry into the next level by one year.

How to proceed

Opting for special education

Parents may:

  • either register their child in a specialised school offering special education; or
  • opt for full- or part-time inclusion in the regular educational system; or
  • where applicable, opt for placement in an accredited institution abroad.

In making their choice, they receive guidance and support from the School Inclusion Commission (Commission d'inclusion scolaire – CIS), which puts forward an educational plan tailored to their child's needs. The commission comprises, among others, the district inspector, a teacher and 3 members of a multi-disciplinary team (composed of psychologists, psycho-motor therapists and educators) who will devise an educational plan for the child, either at the parents' request, or at the request of the teacher, with the parents' approval.

Differentiated instruction makes it possible to include and support disabled children and those with special needs in a suitable way; it is intended to promote the child's development with a view to better integration into society.

Procedures for admission into differentiated instruction

A teacher at a regular basic education school who notices serious learning difficulties in a student who may benefit from specific help, with the approval of the district's educational inspector, may request help from the CIS, charged with preventing educational difficulties and organising specific plans for students with special needs. Parental agreement is required.

Personalised educational plan

After the teacher initiates the process, a personalised educational plan is devised by the multi-disciplinary team in cooperation with the classroom teacher and/or the educational team, after discussion with the parents.

The plan may recommend:

  • adaptation of in-class instruction provided by the classroom teacher in cooperation with the educational team;
  • in-class assistance by one or more members of the multi-disciplinary team;
  • temporary transfer into another class for certain subjects;
  • instruction in a special education (differentiated instruction) class;
  • education in a special school or institution in Luxembourg or abroad.

The plan may also mention additional aid granted to ensure academic support for the child. If applicable, it may provide for necessary adaptations and adjustments concerning the skills to be acquired and the means of assessment to be used.

The plan is submitted to the parents for their approval. The CIS reviews the plan annually and incorporates any changes deemed necessary to ensure that the student continues to make progress at school.

Where enrolment in a school offering Differentiated Instruction is indicated, the CIS will send a transfer proposal to the National Medical-Pyschological-Educational Commission (Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale – CMPPN) for approval. The Commission may request additional input, if necessary. Then the CMPPN submits a transfer proposal to the parents.

Decision and appeals if parents disagree

The parents must make a decision within 2 months of the proposal. If no decision has been made by that time, the child will be automatically enrolled in the institution proposed by the CMPPN.

If the parents disagree with the CIS' proposed plan, as approved by the CMPPN, where applicable, they may appeal to the Minister, who will submit the file to an appointed panel of experts.

The group of experts may either agree with the CIS' proposed plan or make an alternative proposal.

Point of contact for the parents

For each student brought to its attention, the CIS appoints, from among its members, a contact person who, together with the district inspector, oversees the interaction between the school staff, the non-instructional staff, the members of the relevant multi-disciplinary team, and the members of the relevant Medical School Commission.

This person serves as the point of contact for the student and the parents. The parents and the classroom teacher in question are informed of the recommended procedures and are involved in the proposed measures to help the student.

Transfer from differentiated education into basic education

Requests to transfer a child out of differentiated education and back into basic education must be sent by the child's guardian to the competent CIS at least 2 months prior to the start of the new school year. The commission will forward that information to the CMPPN and to the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth along with its own recommendation.

Enrolment of an SEN child in a school abroad

If a child has very specific difficulties that cannot be managed in Luxembourg, and, more generally, if there is no suitable instruction available to meet the child's needs, the CIS may propose placement in a specialised institution abroad accredited by the Minister of National Education, subject to the prior approval of the parents.

The CIS sends this proposal to the CMPPN for approval. The CMPPN may request additional input, if necessary.

Who to contact

Special education
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247-85181 / 247-85178
Fax: (+352) 46 01 05
Email direction@ediff.lu

Special education
31, rue du Parc
Château de Munsbach
L-5374 - Munsbach
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247 65114/65115
Fax: (+352) 247 95114
Email secretariat@cmppn.lu

Inscrire un enfant à besoins éducatifs spécifiques dans l'Education différenciée

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 11-10-2012

Dès 4 ans, la fréquentation de l’enseignement fondamental est obligatoire pour tous les enfants. L’enseignement fondamental comprend 9 années de scolarité, réparties en 4 cycles d’apprentissage. Il débute avec le 1er cycle de l’éducation précoce/enseignement préscolaire, et se poursuit avec les 2e, 3e et 4e cycles constituant l’enseignement primaire. Chaque cycle d’apprentissage a en principe une durée de 2 ans.

Quand un enfant à besoins éducatifs spécifiques atteint l’âge d’intégrer l’école fondamentale, des mesures d'aide adaptées à ses difficultés d’apprentissage lui sont proposées, allant de l'adaptation de l'enseignement et de l'appui par les enseignants de la classe à la poursuite de l'enseignement dans une classe de l'Education différenciée, qui fait partie intégrante de l'enseignement fondamental.

Personnes concernées

Tous les enfants âgés de 4 et 6 ans révolus au 31 août de l’année en cours, et donc en âge de fréquenter une classe de l'enseignement fondamental (éducation préscolaire et enseignement primaire), sont en principe soumis à l’obligation de scolarisation. Sur demande des parents, il est toutefois possible de retarder d’un an l’admission de l’enfant dans le cycle suivant.

Modalités pratiques

Choix de l'Education différenciée

Les parents peuvent :

  • soit inscrire leur enfant dans un établissement spécialisé de l’Education différenciée ;
  • soit opter pour son intégration partielle ou totale dans l'enseignement ordinaire ;
  • le cas échéant, se décider pour un placement dans une institution agréée à l’étranger.

Lors de leur choix, ils se voient notamment guidés et accompagnés par la Commission d’inclusion scolaire (CIS) qui propose une orientation scolaire adaptée aux besoins de l’enfant. Composée e.a. par l'inspecteur de l'arrondissement, d'un instituteur et de 3 membres de l'équipe multiprofessionnelle (rassemblant psychologues, psychomotriciens ou éducateurs), cette commission a pour mission de définir, soit à la demande des parents, soit à la demande de l’instituteur et pour autant que les parents aient marqué leur accord, la prise en charge des élèves en question.

L’Education différenciée permet d’accueillir et d’encadrer de manière adaptée les enfants handicapés ou présentant des besoins spéciaux ; elle vise à favoriser le développement de l’enfant en vue d’une meilleure intégration dans la société.

Modalités d'intégration de l’enseignement différencié

L'instituteur de l’école fondamentale ordinaire qui constate des difficultés scolaires graves chez un élève susceptible de bénéficier d’une prise en charge particulière saisit, avec l’accord de l’inspecteur du ressort, la Commission d’inclusion scolaire (CIS), chargée de prévenir les difficultés scolaires et d’organiser la scolarisation particulière des élèves à besoins spécifiques. L’accord des parents est requis.

Plan de prise en charge individualisé

Suite à ce signalement, un plan de prise en charge individualisé est élaboré par l’équipe multiprofessionnelle en collaboration avec le titulaire de classe et/ou l’équipe pédagogique, après concertation avec les parents.

Le plan peut préconiser :

  • l’adaptation de l’enseignement en classe assuré par le titulaire de classe en collaboration avec l’équipe pédagogique ;
  • l’assistance en classe par un ou des membres de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle ;
  • le séjour temporaire pour l’apprentissage de certaines matières dans une classe autre que la classe d’attache ;
  • l’enseignement dans une classe de l’Education différenciée ;
  • l’enseignement dans une école ou institution spécialisée au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger.

Le plan peut également mentionner les aides supplémentaires attribuées pour assurer l'encadrement scolaire de l'enfant. Le cas échéant, il prévoit les adaptations et les aménagements nécessaires concernant les compétences à atteindre et les modalités d'évaluation à appliquer.

Le plan est soumis aux parents pour accord. La CIS fait évaluer annuellement le plan et y intègre les adaptations jugées nécessaires pour assurer le progrès scolaire de l’élève.

Lorsqu’une scolarisation dans une école de l'Education différenciée est indiquée, la CIS adresse pour approbation une proposition d’orientation à la commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale (CMPPN). Celle-ci peut, si elle le juge nécessaire, demander un avis complémentaire. Ensuite, la CMPPN soumet aux parents une proposition d’orientation.

Décision et recours en cas de désaccord des parents

Les parents doivent prendre une décision dans les 2 mois qui suivent la proposition d'orientation. Si, passé ce délai, aucune décision n'est prise, l'enfant est inscrit d'office dans l’institution proposée par la CMPPN.

En cas de désaccord avec la proposition de prise en charge de la CIS, approuvée le cas échéant par la commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale, les parents peuvent s’adresser au ministre qui soumet le dossier à un groupe d’experts qu’il nomme.

Le groupe d’experts peut soit se rallier à la proposition de prise en charge de la CIS, soit faire une proposition alternative.

Interlocuteur de référence des parents

La CIS désigne en son sein pour chaque élève qui lui est signalé, une personne de référence qui, conjointement avec l’inspecteur d’arrondissement, veille à la collaboration entre le personnel de l’école, le personnel d’encadrement périscolaire, les membres de l’équipe multiprofessionnelle concernés et les membres de l’équipe médico-socio-scolaire concernée.

Cette personne est l’interlocuteur de l’élève et de ses parents. Les parents et le titulaire de classe concernés sont informés de la démarche préconisée et associés aux mesures proposées dans l’intérêt de l’élève.

Transfert de l’éducation différenciée vers l’enseignement fondamental

Les demandes de transfert d’un enfant de l’éducation différenciée à l’enseignement fondamental sont adressées par la personne ayant la garde de l’enfant à la CIS concernée, au moins 2 mois avant la rentrée des cours. La commission transmet cette information à la commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale et au ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse en y joignant son avis.

Intégration d’un enfant à besoins éducatifs spécifiques dans une école à l’étranger

Si l’enfant est atteint de troubles très spécifiques qui ne peuvent pas être pris en charge au Luxembourg, et, plus généralement, s’il n’existe pas d’offre adaptée répondant aux besoins de l’enfant, la CIS peut proposer un placement scolaire dans une institution spécialisée à l’étranger agréée par le ministre de l’Education nationale, sous réserve d’accord préalable des parents.

La CIS adresse cette proposition pour approbation à la Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale (CMPPN). Celle-ci peut, si elle le juge nécessaire, demander un avis complémentaire.

Organismes de contact

Education différenciée
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247-85181 / 247-85178
Fax : (+352) 46 01 05
E-mail direction@ediff.lu

Education différenciée
31, rue du Parc
Château de Munsbach
L-5374 - Munsbach
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247 65114/65115
Fax : (+352) 247 95114
E-mail secretariat@cmppn.lu