Death certificate

This page was last modified on 28-09-2017


A death certificate is a legal record of civil status. It is an authenticated document, signed by the person declaring the birth and by the civil registrar. A death certificate is drawn up when a person dies. An unabridged (full) or abridged copy of a death certificate is a full or partial reproduction of the information recorded in the death certificate.

The office of the civil registrar issues the death certificate on the basis of the formal declaration of death made by the physician. The civil registrar drafts the death certificate based on a declaration, if possible, by one or more of the deceased person’s close relatives or neighbours or, when the person did not die at home, by the person in whose home the death occurred.

A full or abridged copy of this certificate is often required for certain administrative procedures, such as applying for a survivor’s pension, the execution of a will or the organisation of burial services.

Information included

The death certificate includes all the mandatory information for a civil status certificate (year, date and time of issue; given name(s) and surname of the civil registrar; given name(s), surnames and domiciles of all named persons), together with the following:

  • the surname(s) and given name(s), date and place of birth, gender and domicile of the deceased;
  • if the deceased was married, widowed or divorced, the spouse’s surname, given name(s) and gender;
  • the date, time and place of death;
  • the given name(s), age and domicile of the person declaring the death and, if that person is a relative, the degree of relationship between them and the deceased.

The certificate also includes, to the extent that they are known, the given names, surnames and domicile of the deceased’s parents. The death is also recorded as a marginal entry in the deceased’s birth certificate.

When a child dies before its birth was declared to the civil registrar, the latter draws up both a birth certificate and a death certificate upon presentation of a medical certificate specifying the dates and times of birth and death.

If the child was stillborn, the civil registrar draws up a stillbirth certificate. This document is recorded on its date in the registry of deaths, and specifies the date, time and place of birth, the child’s gender, the child’s surname and given name(s) if the parents wish them to be mentioned, the given name(s), surnames and domicile of the parents, as well as their places and dates of birth, to the extent that they are known.

How to apply for a certificate

As a person’s death must be declared to the communal administration of the place where the death occurred, only the commune in question is able to issue a copy of the death certificate.

To obtain a a full or abridged copy of this certificate—specifying the surname(s) and given name(s) of the deceased and the date of death—the interested party may file their application, depending on the options offered by the commune:  

  • in person: with the civil registrar’s office, upon presentation of a valid ID card;
  • electronically: by submitting an application online. The full or abridged copy of the death certificate will be sent by post to the address specified in the application;
  • by post: the full or abridged copy of the death certificate will be sent by post to the address specified in the application;
  • by phone (during the communal administration’s opening hours): the certificate will be sent by post.

Document(s) to be provided

To obtain the death certificate drawn up by the civil registrar, the interested party must produce the deceased’s family record book or, in its absence, the deceased’s marriage certificate, or the deceased’s birth certificate if the deceased was single.

Issue fee

An administrative fee is charged to issue the certificate (payable to the communal administration).

Contact organisation:

Request the certificate

Consult the list of communes to find out if your commune offers an online service.

Acte de décès

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 20-07-2017

Objectif(s)

Un acte de décès est un acte juridique de l'état civil. C'est un acte authentique, signé par le déclarant et l’officier d'état civil. Un acte de décès est établi à la mort d'une personne. La copie ou l’extrait d'un acte de décès est une reproduction intégrale ou partielle des mentions figurant sur l'acte de décès.

Le Service de l'état civil établit l'acte de décès sur base du certificat établi par le médecin (déclaration de décès) : l'acte de décès est dressé par l'officier de l'état civil sur déclaration, si possible, de l'un des plus proches parents ou voisins, ou, lorsqu'une personne est décédée hors de son domicile, de la personne chez laquelle elle est décédée.

Une copie ou un extrait de cet acte est souvent nécessaire lors de certaines démarches administratives, telles que la demande d’une pension de survie, l’exécution du testament ou l’organisation de l’enterrement.

Mention(s) inscrite(s)

L’acte de décès comporte les mentions obligatoires d'un acte d'état civil (année, jour et heure d'émission, prénoms et nom de l'officier de l'état civil, prénoms, noms et domiciles de toutes les personnes nommées), ainsi que notamment :

  • les nom(s) et prénom(s), date et lieu de naissance, sexe et domicile du défunt ;
  • les prénoms, nom et sexe de son conjoint si la personne décédée était mariée, veuve ou divorcée ;
  • le jour, l'heure et le le lieu du décès ;
  • les prénoms, nom, âge et domicile du déclarant (s’il est parent, son degré de parenté).

Le même acte contient de plus, autant qu'on peut le savoir, les prénoms, noms et domicile des parents du décédé. Il est fait mention du décès en marge de l'acte de naissance de la personne décédée.

Lorsqu’un enfant est décédé avant que sa naissance ait été déclarée à l’état civil, l’officier de l’état civil établit un acte de naissance et un acte de décès sur production d’un certificat médical précisant les jours et heures de sa naissance et de son décès.

Si l’enfant est mort-né, l’officier de l’état civil établit un acte d’enfant sans vie. Cet acte est inscrit à sa date sur les registres de décès et il énonce les jour, heure et lieu de l’accouchement, le sexe de l’enfant, le nom et les prénoms qui lui sont donnés au cas où les parents le souhaitent, les prénoms, noms et domicile des parents ainsi que les lieux et dates de naissance pour autant qu’ils sont connus.

Modalité(s) de la demande

Comme le décès d'une personne doit être déclaré à l’administration communale de la commune où le décès a eu lieu, seule cette dernière est en mesure d’établir une copie l’acte de décès.

Pour obtenir une copie ou un extrait de cet acte (indiquer les nom(s) et prénom(s) du défunt et la date du décès), le demandeur peut, au choix et en fonction des communes, faire sa demande :  

  • physiquement : auprès du Service de l’état civil, sur présentation d’une carte d’identité valable ;
  • par Internet : en envoyant une demande en ligne. La copie ou l'extrait d'acte demandé sera adressé par voie postale à l'adresse indiquée dans la demande ;
  • par courrier : la copie ou l'extrait d'acte demandé sera adressé par voie postale à l'adresse indiquée dans la demande.
  • par téléphone (pendant les horaires d’ouverture de l’administration communale) : avec un retour par voie postale.

Pièce(s) à fournir

Pour obtenir l'acte de décès établi par le Service de l'état civil, il faut se munir du livret de famille du défunt ou, à défaut, de son acte de mariage ou, pour un défunt célibataire, de son acte de naissance.

Coût d'obtention

Une taxe est perçue lors de l'établissement (taxe de chancellerie payable à l'administration communale).

Organismes de contact :

Obtenir le certificat

Consultez la liste des communes pour savoir si votre commune propose ce service en ligne.