Identification and registration of dogs

This page was last modified on 13-06-2017

To improve dog identification and control, and to ensure that dog owners comply with certain safety measures, the law imposes certain requirements on dog owners, including: 

  • electronic ID tagging of the dog, performed by an approved veterinarian;
  • registration of the dog with the commune of residence, including identification of the breed and rabies vaccination;
  • payment of an annual tax; etc.

To promote responsible dog ownership, additional requirements apply to owners of potentially dangerous dogs, including:

  • a diploma attesting to the dog owner's successful completion of a course of training ("Hondsführerschäin";
  • an authorisation from the Minister of Agriculture;
  • successful completion of dog obedience training;
  • a veterinarian's certificate mentioning the date of neutering/spaying for certain dogs;
  • being of legal age and having no criminal record, etc.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

Who is concerned

All dog owners.

How to proceed

Compulsory electronic identification tagging

Electronic ID tagging is compulsory for all dogs in Luxembourg. All dogs must be tagged within 4 months of their birth, or within 1 month of their acquisition or importation, if they have not already been tagged.

An authorised/approved veterinarian will tag the dog by inserting an electronic chip containing an identification number under the animal's skin (on the left side of the neck). ID tagging makes it easier to identify lost or stray dogs.

While tagging the dog, the veterinarian will also vaccinate it against rabies and prepare a veterinary certificate mentioning the breed or type of dog, its sex, and its colour and coat.

Registration with the communal administration

Usual case

All dog owners must register their dog, within 4 months of its birth, with their commune of residence. To do so, they will need to produce a veterinary certificate mentioning:

  • the breed of the dog;
  • whether the dog is potentially dangerous;
  • the dog's current rabies vaccination status.

This certificate is generally drawn up by the approved veterinarian when the dog is being tagged or being vaccinated against rabies.

Moreover, when registering a dog with the communal administration, the dog owner must submit a document proving that they have taken out insurance with an insurance company approved or authorized to operate in Luxembourg, covering the dog owner's civil liability for any damages the animal may cause to third parties. Dog owners are advised to refer to their commune of residence in advance for details about this document: it could be a certificate issued by the insurance company or merely a copy of the insurance contract.

Registration (using a form provided by the commune or veterinarian) entails providing details about the owner, the breed of the dog, its electronic identification number, its rabies vaccination status, and the veterinarian's signature.

The words 'Chien susceptible d’être dangereux' (Potentially dangerous dog) must be mentioned on the registration form if the dog is recognised as dangerous. In that case, an additional declaration must be filed.

The applicant will then be issued with a receipt signed by the mayor of the commune as proof of registration. The receipt bears the letter 'A' for the registration of any dog, and the letter 'B' for the second declaration for potentially dangerous dogs.

Owner's change of residence

If a dog owner changes their place of residence, they must register the dog with the new commune's administration within 1 month. To do so, they will be required to produce the receipt issued by the previous commune. The address on the receipt must be updated. To have their address updated, the owner will be required to hand in the old receipt. They will then be issued with a new one containing the new address.

If the owner moves to Luxembourg from abroad, the time limit for registering their dog with the administration of their commune of residence in Luxembourg is 1 month.

New owners

If ownership of a dog changes, the new owner is required to register the dog with their commune within 1 month (even if the new owner lives in the same commune as the previous owner). To register the dog, the new owner will be required to produce the previous owner's receipt.

Moreover, at the time of registration, the (new) owner must provide proof of a civil liability insurance policy covering any damages that the animal may cause to third parties. This proof consists of a copy of the receipt for the insurance contract. Damages caused to third parties are covered by the owner's civil liability insurance.

The loss, death or sale of a dog must be reported to the communal administration so that they can keep abreast of the status of dogs living within its borders.

Payment of an annual tax

Communal administrations collect an annual 'dog tax' (of at least EUR 10 per year, with the amount varying by commune). Dogs serving as service dogs for the blind or disabled are exempt from this annual tax, as are dogs belonging to the Luxembourg police, the army, customs agencies, and rescue dogs.

Dog owners who move to a new commune and can prove that they have paid the tax in their previous commune will not have to pay the tax until 1 January of the following year.

No tax refunds or deductions are provided for in the event of the death or loss of a dog.

Keeping dogs on leashes

Within urban areas

All dogs must be kept on a leash, in particular in urban areas, on public transport, in parking lots open to the public, and on sports fields.

However, local authorities in urban areas may determine zones in which dogs are not required to be on leash, by way of exception.

Outside urban areas

Outside urban areas, there is no obligation to keep dogs on leash. However, for very busy areas, communes may define boundaries within which dogs must be on leash.

Even where a dog is not required to be on leash, owners must keep them under their control and put them back on leash if necessary.

For potentially dangerous dogs, special provisions require that they must be kept on leash in all places, unless a diploma proving the dog's successful completion of obedience classes expressly exempts it from this requirement. In that case, such dogs are subject to the same requirements as other dogs.

Specific provisions for potentially dangerous dogs

The following breeds are considered to be potentially dangerous:

  • Staffordshire bull terrier;
  • (English) Mastiff;
  • American Staffordshire terrier;
  • Tosa;
  • pitbull- or boerboel-type dogs that are considered equivalent to the mentioned breeds by their morphological characteristics.

The acquisition, sale, or importation of potentially dangerous dogs requires special authorisation from the Minister of Agriculture.

This authorisation will only be granted if the future owner holds a diploma attesting to the successful completion of a course of training provided by a veterinarian specialised in canine ethology together with an official document attesting to the legality of owning the type of dog in question.

The course of training must be at least 12 hours long and provide the future owner with information on dog behaviour, proper handling, and hygiene.

In addition to the initial registration with the communal administration, there are specific measures for potentially dangerous dogs. For these dogs, a second declaration in order to be granted receipt B of the definitive declaration must be filed within 18 months of the birth of the dog. The declaration must contain:

  • a veterinarian's certificate mentioning the date of neutering/spaying for certain dogs;
  • a diploma attesting to the dog owner's successful completion of a theoretical course of training ("Hondsführerschäin";
  • the receipt A issued by the commune at the time of the initial registration;
  • a diploma attesting to the dog's successful completion of at least 24 hours of obedience training so that the dog is properly controlled. This training is provided by dog trainers approved by the Minister of Agriculture.

To obtain a diploma attesting that the dog has successfully completed obedience training, the dog must take a test before a 3-person panel of judges. To ensure a certain degree of impartiality, the panel of judges is composed of the course organiser, an expert in dog handling, and an approved veterinarian.

Following the test, the diploma will be awarded to the dog's owner only if 2 members of the jury, including the approved veterinarian, are in agreement.

The diploma is valid for 3 years. It must be renewed upon the dog's presentation to the organisers of the obedience training courses.

Where the veterinarian notes that a potentially dangerous dog is no longer fit (for reasons of health or age) to take part in obedience training sessions, the Minister of Agriculture may grant an exemption, following the advice of the Administration of Veterinary Service (Administration des services vétérinaires).

Apart from the owner, anyone wishing to walk a dog that may be dangerous must be of age, have a clean record and have successfully completed the training course in order to be a "Hondsführerschäin" holder.

If a potentially dangerous dog is lost, the loss must be reported to the Grand-Ducal Police within 12 hours.

Importing a dog from abroad

To import a dog into Luxembourg, the following conditions must be met:

  • own a dog identified by a microchip;
  • have a valid anti-rabies vaccination;
  • have a completed European passport or;
  • have a health certificate for dogs from a third country outside the EU. This certificate must be drawn up and signed by an official veterinarian of the country of provenance who officially certifies that the conditions for entry into the EU are fulfilled.

Dogs imported into Luxembourg must be registered with their new commune of residence within 1 month. The veterinary certificate will be required.

Private civil liability

Dog owners must compensate any third person who suffers damages caused by the domestic animal.

As a result, the owner must take out insurance covering their civil liability.

The dog owner's private civil liability insurance policy, taken out in the name of the owner and the members of their family, covers the animal's actions that cause material damages and/or bodily injury to a third party.

Who to contact

Einen Hund mit Chip kennzeichnen lassen und anmelden

Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 13-06-2017

Um eine bessere Kontrolle und Identifizierung von Hunden zu ermöglichen und um Hundeeigentümer zur Einhaltung bestimmter Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zu verpflichten, schreibt die Gesetzgebung eine Reihe von Pflichten für Hundehalter vor

  • elektronische Kennzeichnung des Hundes durch einen zugelassenen Tierarzt;
  • Anmeldung des Hundes bei der Wohnsitzgemeinde mit Feststellung der Rasse und Tollwutimpfung;
  • Entrichtung einer jährlichen Hundesteuer usw.

Für die Haltung potenziell gefährlicher Hunde gelten noch umfangreichere Pflichten/Voraussetzungen. Diese sollen die Eigentümer dieser Hunde an ihre Verantwortung erinnern:

  • erfolgreiche Teilnahme des Hundes an Dressurkursen;
  • tierärztliche Bescheinigung mit Angabe des Datums der Kastration bei bestimmten Hunden;
  • Nachweis über die erfolgreiche Teilnahme des Hundehalters an Hundehalterschulungen;
  • Volljährigkeit und kein Eintrag im Strafregister usw.

Formulare / Online-Dienste

Erledigen Sie Ihren Vorgang:

Zielgruppe

Alle Hundehalter.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Zwingend vorgeschriebene elektronische Kennzeichnung

Eine elektronische Kennzeichnung ist für alle Hunde auf dem Gebiet des Großherzogtums Luxemburg vorgeschrieben. Diese Kennzeichnung muss innerhalb von 4 Monaten nach der Geburt des Hundes oder in dem auf seinen Erwerb / Import folgenden Monat vorgenommen werden, sofern dies nicht bereits geschehen ist.

Ein zugelassener Tierarzt nimmt die Kennzeichnung des Hundes vor, indem er einen elektronischen Chip mit Identifikationsnummer unter der Haut des Tieres (im Halsbereich links) einpflanzt. Die Kennzeichnung ist notwendig, um entlaufene oder streunende Tiere leichter zu erkennen.

Parallel zur Kennzeichnung nimmt der Tierarzt auch die Tollwutimpfung des Hundes vor und stellt eine tierärztliche Bescheinigung aus, in der die Rasse oder die Gattung des Tieres, sein Geschlecht, die Farbe und das Fell des Hundes festgehalten werden.

Anmeldung bei der Gemeindeverwaltung

Normalfall

Jeder Hundehalter ist verpflichtet, seinen Hund innerhalb von 4 Monaten nach der Geburt bei seiner Wohnsitzgemeinde mit einer tierärztlichen Bescheinigung anzumelden, aus der Folgendes hervorgeht:

  • die Rasse;
  • ob der Hund potenziell gefährlich ist;
  • der aktuelle Impfstatus gegen Tollwut.

Grundsätzlich wird diese Bescheinigung durch einen zugelassenen Tierarzt zum Zeitpunkt der elektronischen Kennzeichnung des Tieres ausgestellt.

Außerdem muss der Hundehalter bei der Anmeldung bei der Gemeindeverwaltung einen Nachweis darüber vorlegen, dass ein Versicherungsvertrag mit einer zugelassenen Versicherungsgesellschaft oder mit einer Gesellschaft abgeschlossen wurde, der eine Genehmigung für ihren Geschäftsbetrieb im Großherzogtum Luxemburg erteilt wurde. Diese Versicherung muss die Haftpflicht des Hundehalters für Schäden abdecken, die Dritten durch das Tier entstehen. Bezüglich dieses Versicherungsnachweises wird empfohlen, sich zunächst bei seiner Wohnsitzgemeinde zu erkundigen: Es kann sich um eine von der Versicherung ausgestellte Bescheinigung handeln oder um eine einfache Kopie des Versicherungsvertrags.

Die Anmeldung (die auf einem von der Gemeinde zur Verfügung gestellten Formular erfolgen muss) muss insbesondere Auskünfte zum Hundeeigentümer, zur Rasse des Hundes, zu seiner elektronischen Identifikationsnummer und seiner Tollwutimpfung sowie die Unterschrift des Tierarztes enthalten.

Der Vermerk „Potenziell gefährlicher Hund” muss zudem auf der Anmeldung stehen, wenn der Hund für gefährlich befunden wurde. In diesem Fall ist daneben noch eine weitere Erklärung vorzunehmen.

Die Person, die den Hund anmeldet, erhält dann von der Gemeindeverwaltung einen Nachweis über die erfolgte Anmeldung (eine Quittung in Form einer vom Bürgermeister unterzeichneten Empfangsbestätigung). Diese Empfangsbestätigung trägt den Buchstaben A für die Anmeldung für jeden Hund und den Buchstaben B für die zweite Erklärung für potenziell gefährliche Hunde.

Wohnsitzwechsel des Eigentümers

Bei einem Wohnsitzwechsel ist der Hundeeigentümer verpflichtet, den Hund bei seiner neuen Gemeindeverwaltung innerhalb einer Frist von einem Monat unter Vorlage der Empfangsbestätigung seiner vorherigen Gemeinde anzumelden. Die auf der Empfangsbestätigung angegebene Adresse muss aktualisiert werden. Hierzu muss der Hundehalter die alte Empfangsbestätigung abgeben. Er erhält eine neue Bestätigung mit der neuen Adresse.

Ist der Hundehalter aus dem Ausland nach Luxemburg gezogen, beträgt die Frist für die Anmeldung des Hundes bei der jeweiligen luxemburgischen Gemeindeverwaltung einen Monat.

Neuer Halter

Wenn der Hund den Besitzer wechselt, ist der neue Halter verpflichtet, den Hund bei seiner Gemeindeverwaltung innerhalb einer Frist von einem Monat unter Vorlage der gültigen Empfangsbestätigung anzumelden (selbst wenn der neue Halter in derselben Gemeinde wohnt wie der alte).

Des Weiteren muss der (neue) Hundehalter der Gemeindeverwaltung bei der Anmeldung einen Nachweis über den Abschluss einer Haftpflichtversicherung vorlegen, die Schäden abdeckt, die möglicherweise Dritten durch das Tier entstehen. Dieser Nachweis kann durch eine Kopie der Empfangsbestätigung des Versicherungsvertrags erfolgen. Dritten entstandene Schäden werden durch die Haftpflichtversicherung des Halters abgedeckt.

Jeder Verlust, jedes Ableben oder jede Abtretung eines Hundes muss der Gemeindeverwaltung gemeldet werden, damit diese über die aktuelle Situation aller auf ihrem Gebiet lebenden Hunde informiert ist.

Entrichtung einer jährlichen Hundesteuer

Die Gemeindeverwaltung erhebt jährlich eine Hundesteuer (mindestens 10 Euro pro Jahr, wobei der Betrag je nach Gemeinde unterschiedlich ist). Als Blindenführhunde oder Begleithunde für Behinderte eingesetzte Hunde sind von dieser jährlichen Hundesteuer befreit. Dasselbe gilt für die bei der Polizei, beim Militär oder beim Zoll eingesetzten Hunde sowie für Rettungshunde.

Hundehalter, die sich erst kürzlich in einer Gemeinde niedergelassen haben und nachweisen, dass die Hundesteuer in der Gemeinde, aus der sie weggezogen sind, entrichtet wurde, brauchen sie bis zum 1. Januar des Folgejahres nicht zu entrichten.

Wenn der Hund gestorben oder entlaufen ist, ist keine Erstattung oder Ermäßigung der Steuer möglich.

Leinenzwang

Innerhalb einer geschlossenen Ortschaft

Jeder Hund muss vor allem innerhalb geschlossener Ortschaften, in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, auf öffentlich zugänglichen Parkplätzen und auf Sportplätzen an der Leine geführt werden.

Durch entsprechende Ausnahmeregelung können Ortschaften jedoch Freilaufbereiche festlegen, in denen kein Leinenzwang für Hunde besteht.

Außerhalb einer geschlossenen Ortschaft

Außerhalb geschlossener Ortschaften besteht kein Leinenzwang. Für besonders belebte Bereiche können die Gemeinden jedoch Zonen festlegen, in denen Hunde an der Leine zu führen sind.

Selbst wenn der Hund vom Leinenzwang befreit wurde, muss ihn der Hundehalter unter seiner Kontrolle halten und ihn erforderlichenfalls wieder anleinen.

Sonderbestimmungen für potenziell gefährliche Hunde sehen insbesondere vor, dass sie überall an der Leine zu führen sind, sofern sie der Nachweis über die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an Dressurkursen nicht ausdrücklich hiervon befreit. In diesem Fall gelten für sie die gleichen Bestimmungen wie für andere Hunde.

Sonderbestimmungen für potenziell gefährliche Hunde

Als potenziell gefährlich eingestuft werden Hunde der Rassen:

  • Staffordshire Bullterrier,
  • (englische) Mastiffs,
  • American Staffordshire Terrier,
  • Tosa,
  • Arten von Pitbulls und Boerbulls, die aufgrund ihrer morphologischen Eigenschaften mit den Rassehunden vergleichbar sind.

Der Erwerb, die Veräußerung und der Import potenziell gefährlicher Hunde bedürfen einer Sondergenehmigung durch den Landwirtschaftsminister.

Diese Genehmigung wird nur erteilt, wenn der künftige Hundeeigentümer im Besitz eines Nachweises ist, der belegt, dass er erfolgreich an Schulungen für Hundehalter, die von einem Fachtierarzt für Hundeverhaltensforschung erteilt wurde, teilgenommen hat, sowie im Besitz eines offiziellen Dokuments, das belegt, dass das Halten eines Hundes dieser Rasse legal ist.

Diese Schulungen für Hundehalter umfassen mindestens 12 Stunden und vermitteln dem künftigen Hundeeigentümer bestimmte Kenntnisse über das Verhalten und die richtige Haltung von Hunden sowie über Hundehygiene.

Neben einer ersten Anmeldeerklärung, die bei der Gemeindeverwaltung vorzunehmen ist, sind bei potenziell gefährlichen Hunden besondere Maßnahmen zu beachten. Für diese Hunde ist innerhalb von 18 Monaten nach der Geburt des Hundes eine zweite Erklärung abzugeben. Diese muss Folgendes umfassen:

  • eine tierärztliche Bescheinigung mit Angabe des Datums der Kastration bei bestimmten Hunden;
  • den Nachweis über die erfolgreiche Teilnahme des Hundeeigentümers an theoretischen Hundehalterschulungen;
  • die von der Gemeinde bei der ersten Anmeldung erhaltene Empfangsbestätigung;
  • einen Nachweis über die erfolgreiche Teilnahme des Hundes an Dressurkursen, die mindestens 24 Stunden umfassen, damit eine korrekte Erziehung der Hunde möglich ist. Diese Kurse werden von Hundetrainern erteilt, die vom Landwirtschaftsminister zugelassen sind.

Um den Nachweis über die erfolgreiche Teilnahme des Hundes an Dressurkursen zu erhalten, muss der Hund sich einer Prüfung vor einer 3-köpfigen Jury unterziehen. Um eine gewisse Unparteilichkeit der Jury zu gewährleisten, setzt sich diese aus einem Kursveranstalter, einem Experten in Kynologie und einem zugelassenen Tierarzt zusammen.

Nach der Prüfung wird der Nachweis dem Hundeeigentümer nur dann verliehen, wenn 2 Mitglieder der Jury, darunter der zugelassene Tierarzt, dem zugestimmt haben.

Der Nachweis ist 3 Jahre lang gültig. Danach muss er durch Vorführung des Hundes bei Veranstaltern von Dressurkursen erneuert werden.

Wenn der Tierarzt feststellt, dass ein potenziell gefährlicher Hund (aus gesundheitlichen oder altersbedingten Gründen) nicht mehr in der Lage ist, an den Dressurkursen teilzunehmen, kann die Veterinärverwaltung (Administration des services vétérinaires) auf Antrag eine Freistellung erteilen.

Abgesehen vom Hundeeigentümer muss jede Person, die einen potenziell gefährlichen Hund ausführen möchte, volljährig sein und darf keinen Eintrag im Strafregister haben.

Der Verlust eines potenziell gefährlichen Hundes ist der Polizei innerhalb von 12 Stunden nach dem Verlust zu melden.

Import eines Hundes aus dem Ausland

Um einen Hund nach Luxemburg zu importieren, sind mehrere Dokumente erforderlich:

  • ein Tollwutimpfschein (mindestens 30 Tage aber nicht länger als ein Jahr vor der Einreise ausgestellt);
  • kürzlich ausgestellte Gesundheitsbescheinigung (nicht älter als 14 Tage), dass das Tier bei guter Gesundheit und frei von ansteckenden Krankheiten ist.

Diese beiden Bescheinigungen müssen von einem Amtstierarzt des Landes, in dem der Hund geimpft wurde, beglaubigt sein.

Die Gesundheitsbescheinigung kann anhand des zur Verfügung gestellten Formulars von einem Tierarzt aus dem Herkunftsland ausgestellt werden.

Ein nach Luxemburg importierter Hund muss innerhalb 1 Monats nach Ankunft in der neuen Wohnsitzgemeinde mit der tierärztlichen Bescheinigung angemeldet werden.

Private Haftpflichtversicherung

Hundeeigentümer müssen Dritte für einen durch das eigene Haustier entstandenen Schaden entschädigen.

Folglich muss der Hundeeigentümer zwingend eine Haftpflichtversicherung abgeschlossen haben.

Eine private Haftpflichtversicherung des Hundeeigentümers, die er für sich und seine Familienmitglieder abgeschlossen hat, deckt insbesondere alle Handlungen des Tieres, die zu Sachschäden und/oder Personenschäden Dritter führen.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen