Enrolling a child with special educational needs in Differentiated Instruction

This page was last modified on 11-10-2012

From the age of 4, attending primary school to obtain a basic education is mandatory for all children. Basic education consists of 9 years of school, divided into 4 levels. It begins with Level 1—formerly known as early learning or preschool education—and continues with Level 2, Level 3, and Level 4, which, together, make up primary school. In principle, each level lasts 2 years.

When a child with special educational needs (SEN) reaches the age of entry into basic education, assistance measures suited to the child's learning difficulties will be offered, ranging from adapting the instruction and support provided by teachers in the classroom to inclusion in a special education class, which is an integral part of basic education.

Who is concerned

All children aged 4 and 6 by 31 August of the year in progress, and therefore old enough to attend basic education (preschool and primary school), are, in principle, subject to mandatory schooling. Upon the parents' request, however, it is possible to delay a child's entry into the next level by one year.

How to proceed

Opting for special education

Parents may:

  • either register their child in a specialised school offering special education; or
  • opt for full- or part-time inclusion in the regular educational system; or
  • where applicable, opt for placement in an accredited institution abroad.

In making their choice, they receive guidance and support from the School Inclusion Commission (Commission d'inclusion scolaire – CIS), which puts forward an educational plan tailored to their child's needs. The commission comprises, among others, the district inspector, a teacher and 3 members of a multi-disciplinary team (composed of psychologists, psycho-motor therapists and educators) who will devise an educational plan for the child, either at the parents' request, or at the request of the teacher, with the parents' approval.

Differentiated instruction makes it possible to include and support disabled children and those with special needs in a suitable way; it is intended to promote the child's development with a view to better integration into society.

Procedures for admission into differentiated instruction

A teacher at a regular basic education school who notices serious learning difficulties in a student who may benefit from specific help, with the approval of the district's educational inspector, may request help from the CIS, charged with preventing educational difficulties and organising specific plans for students with special needs. Parental agreement is required.

Personalised educational plan

After the teacher initiates the process, a personalised educational plan is devised by the multi-disciplinary team in cooperation with the classroom teacher and/or the educational team, after discussion with the parents.

The plan may recommend:

  • adaptation of in-class instruction provided by the classroom teacher in cooperation with the educational team;
  • in-class assistance by one or more members of the multi-disciplinary team;
  • temporary transfer into another class for certain subjects;
  • instruction in a special education (differentiated instruction) class;
  • education in a special school or institution in Luxembourg or abroad.

The plan may also mention additional aid granted to ensure academic support for the child. If applicable, it may provide for necessary adaptations and adjustments concerning the skills to be acquired and the means of assessment to be used.

The plan is submitted to the parents for their approval. The CIS reviews the plan annually and incorporates any changes deemed necessary to ensure that the student continues to make progress at school.

Where enrolment in a school offering Differentiated Instruction is indicated, the CIS will send a transfer proposal to the National Medical-Pyschological-Educational Commission (Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale – CMPPN) for approval. The Commission may request additional input, if necessary. Then the CMPPN submits a transfer proposal to the parents.

Decision and appeals if parents disagree

The parents must make a decision within 2 months of the proposal. If no decision has been made by that time, the child will be automatically enrolled in the institution proposed by the CMPPN.

If the parents disagree with the CIS' proposed plan, as approved by the CMPPN, where applicable, they may appeal to the Minister, who will submit the file to an appointed panel of experts.

The group of experts may either agree with the CIS' proposed plan or make an alternative proposal.

Point of contact for the parents

For each student brought to its attention, the CIS appoints, from among its members, a contact person who, together with the district inspector, oversees the interaction between the school staff, the non-instructional staff, the members of the relevant multi-disciplinary team, and the members of the relevant Medical School Commission.

This person serves as the point of contact for the student and the parents. The parents and the classroom teacher in question are informed of the recommended procedures and are involved in the proposed measures to help the student.

Transfer from differentiated education into basic education

Requests to transfer a child out of differentiated education and back into basic education must be sent by the child's guardian to the competent CIS at least 2 months prior to the start of the new school year. The commission will forward that information to the CMPPN and to the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth along with its own recommendation.

Enrolment of an SEN child in a school abroad

If a child has very specific difficulties that cannot be managed in Luxembourg, and, more generally, if there is no suitable instruction available to meet the child's needs, the CIS may propose placement in a specialised institution abroad accredited by the Minister of National Education, subject to the prior approval of the parents.

The CIS sends this proposal to the CMPPN for approval. The CMPPN may request additional input, if necessary.

Who to contact

Special education
29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247-85181 / 247-85178
Fax: (+352) 46 01 05
Email direction@ediff.lu

Special education
31, rue du Parc
Château de Munsbach
L-5374 - Munsbach
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247 65114/65115
Fax: (+352) 247 95114
Email secretariat@cmppn.lu

Ein Kind mit speziellem Förderbedarf im Förderschulsystem anmelden

Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 15-04-2014

Ab dem 4. Lebensjahr ist der Besuch des Grundschulunterrichts für alle Kinder Pflicht. Der Grundschulunterricht zählt 9 Schuljahre, aufgeteilt in 4 Lernzyklen. Er beginnt im 1. Zyklus mit der Früherziehung/dem Vorschulunterricht und wird in den anschließenden 2., 3. und 4. Zyklen, die den Primärunterricht bilden, weitergeführt. Jeder Lernzyklus dauert 2 Jahre.

Wenn ein Kind mit Förderbedarf das Grundschulalter erreicht hat, werden ihm Fördermaßnahmen angeboten, die von der Anpassung des Unterrichts und der Nachhilfe durch die Lehrkräfte der Klasse bis hin zum Besuch einer Klasse des Förderschulsystems, welcher integrierender Bestandteil des Grundschulunterrichts ist, reichen.

Zielgruppe

Alle Kinder, welche zum 31. August des laufenden Jahres das 4. bzw. das 6. Lebensjahr vollendet haben und demnach im Grundschulalter (Vorschul- oder Primärunterricht) sind, sind in der Regel schulpflichtig. Auf Antrag der Eltern ist es jedoch möglich, die Versetzung des Kindes in den folgenden Zyklus um ein Jahr aufzuschieben.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Auswahl des Förderschulsystems

Die Eltern können:

  • das Kind entweder in eine spezialisierte Einrichtung des Förderschulsystems (Education différenciée) anmelden;
  • oder sich für eine teilweise oder vollständige Integration in den Regelunterricht entscheiden;
  • gegebenenfalls können sie sich für eine Aufnahme in eine zugelassene Einrichtung im Ausland entscheiden.

Bei ihrer Entscheidung werden sie von der der Kommission für schulische Inklusion (Commission d'inclusion scoalire - CIS), welche eine auf die Bedürfnisse des Kindes zugeschnittene schulische Orientierung anbietet, betreut und begleitet. Diese Kommission setzt sich u.a. aus dem Bezirksinspektor, einem Lehrer und 3 Mitgliedern des multiprofessionellen Teams (in welchem Psychologen, Psychomotoriker oder Erzieher vertreten sind) zusammen, und hat zur Aufgabe, entweder auf Antrag der Eltern oder auf Antrag der Lehrkraft mit Einwilligung der Eltern die betroffenen Schüler zu betreuen.

Das Förderschulsystem ermöglicht die Aufnahme und die angemessene Betreuung von behinderten Kindern oder Kindern mit Förderbedarf. Es ist auf die Entwicklung des Kindes im Hinblick auf eine bessere Integration in die Gesellschaft ausgerichtet.

Modalitäten für die Integration des differenzierten Unterrichts

Mit der Zustimmung des Bezirksinspektors schaltet der Grundschullehrer, der bei einem Kind, derart schwere schulische Probleme feststellt, dass es für eine spezielle Betreuung in Frage käme, die Kommission für schulische Inklusion (Commission d'inclusion scolaire - CIS) ein, welche den Auftrag hat, schulischen Schwierigkeiten vorzubeugen und den gesonderten Schulbesuch von Schülern mit Förderbedarf zu organisieren. Die Zustimmung der Eltern ist hierfür erforderlich.

Der individuell zugeschnittene Betreuungsplan

Nach der Meldung wird nach Absprache mit den Eltern vom multiprofessionellen Team in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Klassenlehrer und/oder dem pädagogischen Team ein individuell zugeschnittener Betreuungsplan erarbeitet.

Der Plan kann Folgendes vorsehen:

  • die Anpassung des vom Klassenlehrer in Zusammenarbeit mit dem pädagogischen Team erteilten Klassenunterrichts;
  • den Beistand in der Klasse durch ein oder mehrere Mitglieder des multiprofessionellen Teams;
  • den zeitweiligen Besuch einer anderen Klasse als der Regelklasse zwecks Aneignung bestimmter Lernstoffe;
  • den Unterricht in einer Klasse für differenzierten Unterricht;
  • den Unterricht in einer spezialisierten Schule oder Einrichtung in Luxemburg oder im Ausland.

Der Plan kann ebenfalls zusätzliche Unterstützungsmaßnahmen für die schulische Betreuung des Kindes angeben. Gegebenenfalls sieht er die erforderlichen Anpassungen und Ausstattungen in Bezug auf die zu erreichenden Kompetenzen und die anzuwendenden Bewertungsmodalitäten vor.

Der Plan wird den Eltern zwecks Zustimmung vorgelegt. Die CIS bewertet den Plan auf jährlicher Basis und nimmt die für erforderlich erachteten Anpassungen vor, um den schulischen Fortschritt des Schülers zu gewährleisten.

Lorsqu’une scolarisation dans une école de l'Education différenciée est indiquée, la CIS adresse pour approbation une proposition d’orientation à la nationale schulmedizinische Kommission (CMPPN). Diese kann, falls sie es für erforderlich hält, eine zusätzliche Stellungnahme beantragen. Anschließend unterbreitet die CMPPN den Eltern einen Orientierungsbescheid.

Entscheidung und Widerspruch bei Nichteinwilligung der Eltern

Die Eltern müssen innerhalb von 2 Monaten nach dem Orientierungsbescheid eine Entscheidung treffen. Wurde nach Ablauf dieser Frist keine Entscheidung getroffen, wird das Kind automatisch in der von der CMPPN empfohlenen Einrichtung angemeldet.

Sollten die Eltern dem gegebenenfalls von der nationalen schulmedizinischen Kommission gebilligten Betreuungsvorschlag der CIS nicht zustimmen, können sie sich an den zuständigen Minister wenden, welcher die Akte einer Gruppe von durch ihn ernannten Experten vorlegt.

Die Expertengruppe kann den Betreuungsvorschlag der CIS entweder bestätigen oder einen alternativen Vorschlag unterbreiten.

Ansprechpartner der Eltern

Die CIS ernennt aus ihrer Mitte für jeden ihr gemeldeten Schüler eine Bezugsperson, welche zusammen mit dem Bezirksinspektor die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Schulpersonal, dem außerschulischen Betreuungspersonal, den betreffenden Mitgliedern des multiprofessionellen Teams und den betreffenden Mitgliedern des schulmedizinischen Teams überwacht.

Diese Person ist der Ansprechpartner für den Schüler und seine Eltern. Die Eltern und der betreffende Klassenlehrer werden über die empfohlene Vorgehensweise informiert und in die im Interesse des Schülers vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen einbezogen.

Überweisung aus dem differenzierten Unterricht in den Grundschulunterricht

Die Anträge auf Überweisung eines Kindes aus dem differenzierten Unterricht in den Grundschulunterricht sind mindestens 2 Monate vor Schulbeginn von der sorgeberechtigten Person an die betreffende CIS zu richten. Die Kommission übermittelt diese Information samt ihrer Stellungnahme an die nationale schulmedizinische Kommission und an den Bildungsminister.

Überweisung eines Kindes mit Förderbedarf in eine Schule im Ausland

Wenn das Kind äußerst spezifische Schwierigkeiten aufweist und dementsprechend nicht in Luxemburg betreut werden kann, und falls ganz allgemein kein den Bedürfnissen des Kindes entsprechendes Angebot besteht, kann die CIS vorbehaltlich der vorherigen Zustimmung der Eltern den Besuch einer vom Bildungsminister anerkannten Spezialeinrichtung im Ausland empfehlen.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

29, rue Aldringen
L-1118 - Luxemburg
Großherzogtum Luxemburg
Tel: (+352) 247-85181 / 247-85178
Fax: (+352) 46 01 05
E-Mail: direction@ediff.lu

17A, route de Longwy
L-8080 - Bertrange
Großherzogtum Luxemburg
Tel: (+352) 26 44 62-60/61
Fax: (+352) 26 44 62-62
E-Mail: cmppn@men.etat.lu